STATE OF WASHINGTON

WASHINGTON UTILITIES AND TRANSPORTATION COMMISSION

1300 S. Evergreen Park Dr. S.W,, P.O. Box 47250 * Olympia, Washington 98504-7250
(360) 664-1160 © TTY (360) 586-8203

September 19, 2008

Joan Hoffman, Controller
Star Moving & Storage, Inc.
Post Office Box 11068
Tacoma, Washington 98411

RE: Docket TV-081223
Dear Ms. Hoffman;

The Utilities and Transportation Commission (commission) has not received your penalty
assessment payment of $200. On July 9, 2008, the commission issued you a $200 penalty for
failure to file the 2007 annual report timely (copy enclosed).

If we do not receive your $200 penalty payment by October 2, 2008, the commission will
consider additional sanctions. In addition, we will refer the matter to the Washington State
Office of the Attorney General for collection.

You must also file your 2007 annual report and pay your 2008 regulatory fee by October 2,
2008, or we may file for additional enforcement action against your company. Enforcement
action in this matter may include further penalties, of up to $100 for each day you are late, and
cancellation of your authority to provide household goods moving services in Washington.

If we receive your payment and report postmarked no later than October 2, 2008, we will not
seck a fine or move to cancel your permit.

For questions regarding this matter, please contact Sheri Hoyt, Compliance Investigator. Ms.
Hoyt can be reached at (360) 664-1149 or by e-mail at shoyt(@utc.wa.gov.

Sincerely,

St iMoo

David W. Danner
Executive Director and Secretary

Enclosure
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_WASHINGTON UTILITIES AND TRANSPORTATION COMMISSION

NOTICE OF PENALTIES INCURRED AND DUE .
. FOR VIOLATIONS OF LAWS AND RULES

PENALTY ASSESSMENT: TV-081223

PENALTY AMOUNT: $200 .

Star Moving & Storage, Inc.
Post Office Box 11068
Tacoma, Washington 98411

~ The Washington Utilities and Transportation Commission (Commission) believes that you
have committed a violation of Washington Administrative Code-480-15-480 which requires
household goods carriers to file annual reports with the Washington Utilities and
Transportation Commission (Commission) by May 1 each year. You are classified as such a

company. Commission records show that you did not make the filing by the required date of

May 1, 2008. Revised Code of Washington (RCW) 81.04.405 allows penalties of $100 for

- every such violation. Each and every such violation shall be a separate and distinct offense .

_and, in the case of a continuing violation, every day’s contmuance shall be and be deemed to
be a separate and distinct violation.

. As aresult, the Commission hereby notifies you that it has assessed penalties against you in
the amount $200, as follows:

--On February 29, 2008, the commission mailed 2007 Annual Report forms and
2008 Regulatory Fee packets to household goods carriers registered with it. A
letter from Executive Secretary Carole Washburn instructed companies to file
annual reports and pay regulatory fees by May 1, 2008. Further, the letter stated
failure to file the annval report by May 1 could result in a penalty. Those
companies wishing to request an extension to file the annval report were asked to

. do so prior to May 1, providing a reason for the requested extension.

- On April 1, 2008, the commission mailed a notice to all household goods carriers
‘reminding them that 2007 annual reports.and 2008 reguiatory fees were due by
May 1, 2008.

On May 1, 2008, Star Moving & Storage, Inc., filed with the commission a
petition requesting an extension of time to file its 2007 annual report as required -
by WAC 480-15-480. According to Star Moving & Storage, Inc., it was unable to
prepare the report due to implementation of new accounting software, On May 15,
- 2008, the commission granted Star Moving & Storage, Inc.’s petition and allowed
~ the company additional time to file its 2007 annual report. Star Moving &
Storage, Inc., was given until July 1, 2008, to file the report. '




PENALTY ASSESSMENT TV-081223 ' Page 2

" A review of the commission’s Annual Report Tracking System on July 2, 2008,
revealed the company has not filed the report. .

Star Moving & Storage, Inc., also failed to file its 2006 annual reports timely and,
as a result, received a $100 penalty assessment in 2007, This penalty amount of
“$200 is for two consecutwe years of non-compliance. -

" This information, if proved at a hearing and not rebutted.or explamed is sufficient to support
the penalty assessment

Your penalty is due and payable now. If you believe the violation did not occur, you may
request a hearing to contest the penalty assessment. If there is a reason for the violation that
you think should excuse you from the penalty, you may ask for mitigation (reduction) of this
: pena]ty See RCW 81.04.405.

You have the right to present your request for review or mltlgation at a hearing, but you are
not requlred to do so. If you do, the Commission will review the evidence supporting your
request in an informal hearing, called a Brief Adjudicative Proceeding, before an
‘administrative law judge. The administrative law Judge will consider your plea and notify

- you of his or her decision.

~ You must act within 15 days after receiving this notice to do one of the following:

¢ Pay the amount due,
* -Request-a hearing to contest the occurrence of the violations,
*  Request mitigation to contest the amount of the penalty.

 Please indicate your selection on the enclssed form and send it to the Washington Utilities
~ and Transportation Commission, Post Office Box 47250, Olympia, Washington 98504-7250,
" within FIFTEEN (15) days after you receive this notice.

If you do not act within 15 days, the Commission may refer this matter to the Office of the
‘Attorney General for collection. The Commission may then sue you to collect the penalty.

DATED at Olympia, Washington, and effective July __":f_, .'2008. _

) ;&fj} Q——M |

ANN E. RENDAHL
Administrative Law Judge -




WASHINGTON UTILITIES AND TRANSPORTATION COMMISSION |
PENALTY ASSESSMENT TV-081223

PLEASE NOTE: You must complete and sign this document, and send it to the
Commission within 15 days after you receive the penalty assessment. Use additional paper if
needed. If you have questions regarding this penalty, please contact Sheri Hoyt,
Compliance Specialist, by phone at (360) 664-1149 or by e-mail at shoyt@utc.wa.gov. .

I have read and understand RCW 9A.72.020 (printed below), which states that making false
statements under oath is a class B felony. I am over the age of 18, am competent to testify to
the matters set forth below and I have personal knowledge of those matters, I hereby make,
under oath, the following statements.

[ ] 1. Payment of penalty. I admit th:cit the violation occurred éﬁd enclose $200in
payment of the penalty. :

[ 12 Requeét for a hearing. I believe that the alleged violation did not occur, based on
the following information, and request a hearing for a decision by an administrative
law judge:

[ ] 3. Apphcatlon for mitigation. I admit the violation, but 1 believe that the penalty
should be reduced for the reason(s) set out below.
[ ] a) Task for a hearing for a decision by an administrative law judge

_ OR I b) I waive a hearing and ask for an admlmstratwe decision on the mformatlon_ |

I present here:

. I declare under penalty of perjury under the l_ai;vs of the State of Washington that the
-foregoing, including information I have presented on any attachments, is true and correct.

- Dated: . [month/day/year], at . [city, state]
Name of Respondent (company) — please print Signature of Applicant
RCW 9A.72.020:

* “Perjury in the first degree. (1) A person is guilty of perjury in the first degree if in any

- official proceeding he makes a materially false statement which he knows to be false under -
.an oath required or authorized by law. (2) Knowledge of the materiality of the statement is
not an element of this crime, and the actor’s mistaken belief that his statement was not
material is not a defense to a prosecutlon under thlS section. (3) Per]ury in the first degree is a
class B felony.” :




