STATE OF WASHINGTON

WASHINGTON UTILITIES AND TRANSPORTATION COMMISSION

1300 S. Evergreen Park Dr. S.W., P.O. Box 47250 ¢ Olympia, Washington 98504-7250
(360) 664-1160 © TTY (360) 586-8203

April 21, 2008

CUSA CSS, LLC
Post Office Box 460
Pocatello, Idaho 83204-0460

RE: Docket TE-080336
. Dear Carrier:

The Utilities and Transportation Commission (commission) has not received your penalty
assessment payment of $100. On March 6, 2008, you were issued a $100 penalty for failure to
file your 2007 annual safety report in a timely manner (copy enclosed).

If we do not receive your $100 payment by May 5, 2008, the commission will consider
additional sanctions. In addition, we will refer the matter to the Office of the Attorney General
for collection.

Furthermore, you must file your 2007 annual safety report by May 5, 2008, or additional

enforcement actions may be taken against your company. Enforcement action in this matter
may include further penalties, of up to $100 for each day the report is late, and cancellation of

your authority to provide charter and excursion transportation services in Washington.

Your payment and report must be postmarked no later than May 5, 2008.
For questions regarding this matter, please contact Sheri Hoyt, Compliance Specialist, Business

Practices Investigations Section. Ms. Hoyt can be reached at (360) 664-1 149 or by e-mail at
shoyt@utc.wa.gov.

Sincerely,

Gé-—d’ 4 Q/Q&‘.v—-— —

Carole J. Washburn
Executive Secretary

Enclosure




WASHINGTON UTILITIES AND TRANSPORTATION COMMISSION

NOTICE OF PENALTIES INCURRED AND DUE
FOR VIOLATIONS OF LAWS AND RULES .

PENALTY ASSESSMENT NO: TE-080336
' PENALTY AMOUNT: $100

CUSA CSS, LLC
- Post Office Box 460
Pocatello, Idaho 83204-0460

The Commission believes that you have committed a violation of Washington
Administrative Code (WAC) 480-30-071 which requires charter and excursion carriers to file
annual reports with the Commission by December 31 each year. You are classified as such a
company. Commission records show that you did not make the filing by the required date of
December 31, 2007, Revised Code of Washington (RCW) 81,04.405 allows penalties of
$100 for every such violation. Each and every such violation shall be a separate and distinct
offense and, in the case of & continuing violation, every day’s continuance shall be and be
- deemed to be a separate and distinct violation.

- As aresult, the Commission hereby notlﬁes you that it has assessed penalties against you in
~ the amount $100, as follows:

On November 19, 2007, the Commission mailed 2007 Annual Safety Report

- forms and 2008 Regulatory Fee packets to charter and excursion carriers
registered in Washington State. A letter from Executive Secretary Carole
Washburn instructed companies to file annual safety reports and pay
regulatory fees by December 31, 2007, Further, the letter stated failure to file
the annual safety report by December 31 would result in a penalty and possible
cancellation of the company’s permit to operate in Washington. Those
companies wxshmg to request an extension to file the annual safety report were
asked to do so prior to December 31, providing a reason for the requested
extension. You did not request an extension.

On January 19, 2008, the Commission sent letters to those companies that had
not yet filed their reports, The letter, signed-by-Carole Washburn, gave an
extension to companies to file their reports by January 31, 2008, In the leiter,
Ms. Washburn stated the Commission would not seek a fine from any
company with a report filed by January 31




PENALTY ASSESSMENT NO. TE-080336 Page 2

As of February 27, 2008, CUSA CSS, LLC failed to file the 2007 Annual
Safety Report.

This information, if proved at a hearing and not rebutted or explained, is sufficient to support
the penalty assessment,

Your penalty is due and payabfe now. If you believe the violation did not occur, you may
request a hearing to contest the penalty assessment, If there is a reason for the violation that
you think should excuse you from the penalty, you may ask for mitigation (reduction) of this
penalty. See RCW 81.04.405,

You have the right to present your request for review or mitigation at a hearing, but you are
not required to do so. If you do, the Commission will review the evidence supporting your

- request in an informal hearing, called a Brief Adjudicative Proceeding, before an
administrative law judge. The administrative law Judge will consider your plea and notify

. you of his or her decision.

You must act within 15 days after receiving this notice to do one of the following;

¢ Pay the amount due.
¢ Request a hearing to contest the occurrence of the violations.
¢ Request mitigation to contest the amount of the penalty.

Please indicate your selection on the enclosed form and send it to the Washington Utilities
and Transportation Commission, Post Office Box 47250, Olympia, Washmgton 98504-7250,
- within FIFTEEN (15) days after you receive this notice.

If you do not act within 15 days, the Commission may refer this matter to the Office of the |
Attorney General for collection. The Commission may then sue you to collect the penalty.

DATED at Oiympia, Washington, and effective March _(Q, 2008,

Ann E. Rendahl
Administrative Law Judge




WASHINGTON UTILITIES AND TRANSPORTATION COMMISSION |
"~ PENALTY ASSESSMENT No. TE-080336

PLEASE NOTE: You must complete and sign this document, and send it to the
Commission within 15 days after you receive the penalty assessment. Use additional paper if
needed.

I have read and un‘derstancl RCW 9A.72.020 (printed below), which states that making false
statements under oath is a class B felony. I am over the age of 18, am competent to testify to
the matters set forth below and I have personal knowledge of those matters, I hereby make,
under oath, the following statements.

[ 1 1. Payment of penalty. I admit that the violation occurred and enclose $100 in
: payment of the penalty, '

[ 1 2. Request for a hearing, I believe that the alleged violation did not occur, based on
the following information, and request a hearing for a decision by an administrative
law judge:

[ 1 3. Application for mitigation. I admit the violation, but I believe that the penalty
- should be reduced for the reason(s) set out below.
[ ] @ Iaskforahearing for a decision by an adminisirative law judge
OR [ ]b) Iwaivea hearmg and ask for an administrative decision on the information
I present here:

I declare under penalty of perjury under the laws of the State of Washmgton that the
foregoing, including information I have presented on any attachments, is true and correct.

Dated: _ [month/day/year], at ' [city, state]
~ Name of Respondent (company) - please print Signature of Applicant
RCW 9A.72.020:

“Perjury in the first degree. (1) A person is guilty of perjury in the first degree if in any
official proceeding he makes a materially false statement which he knows to be false under
an oath required or authorized by law. (2) Knowledge of the materiality of the statement is
not an element of this crime, and the actor’s mistaken belief that his statement was not
material is not a defense to a prosecution under this section. (3) Perjury in the first degree is a
class B felony,”




