WASHINGTON UTILITIES AND TRANSPORTATION COMMISSION
NOTICE OF PENALTIES INCURRED AND DUE
FOR VIOLATIONS OF LAWS AND RULES

PENALTY ASSESSMENT NO: TV-061396
PENALTY AMOUNT: $4,900
HOUSEHOLD GOODS CARRIER:

Cascade Moving & Storage, Inc.
430 Cloverdale Street
Seattle, Washington  98108-1252
The commission believes that you have committed one or more violations of Washington Administrative Code (WAC) 480-15, which governs the transportation of household goods.
As a result, the commission hereby notifies you that it has assessed penalties against you in the amount $4,900, as follows:
In July 2005, Business Practices Investigation Staff began a compliance audit of Cascade Moving & Storage, Inc. Staff identified a total of 49 violations of WAC 480-15. The violations identified during the audit are as follows:
· Thirty-four violations of WAC 480-15-650(3), for failure to require its customer sign its written estimate form subject to a penalty of $3,400.

· One violation of WAC 480-15-660, for failure to issue a supplemental estimate subject to a penalty of $100.

· Eight violations of WAC 480-15-690, for charging more than twenty-five percent above the written non-binding estimate, subject to a penalty of $800.

· One violation of Item 90 of Tariff 15-B, for failure to require a customer to choose the valuation coverage and note his or her choice on the bill of lading subject to a penalty of $100.

· One violation of Item 95, Tariff 15-B, for failure to require customers initial their estimate choice on the bill of lading, subject to a penalty of $100.

· One violation of Item 95, Tariff 15-B, for failure to require customers initial their payment choice on the bill of lading, subject to a penalty of $100.

· One violation of Tariff 15-B, for failure show the mileage for a mileage rated move on the bill of lading subject to a penalty of $100.

· One violation of Item 115, Tariff 15-B, for failure to charge its customer by weight and distance for a mileage-rated move, subject to a penalty of $100.

· One violation of Item 200, Tariff 15-B, mileage rates, for failure to charge mileage rates for a move that exceeded thirty-five miles, subject to a penalty of $100.
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This information, if proved at a hearing and not rebutted or explained, is sufficient to support the penalty assessment.

Your penalty is due and payable now. If you believe the violation did not occur, you may request a hearing to contest the penalty assessment. If there is a reason for the violation that you think should excuse you from the penalty, you may ask for mitigation (reduction) of this penalty. See RCW 81.04.405.
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You have the right to present your request for review or mitigation at a hearing, but you are not required to do so. If you do, the commission will review the evidence supporting your 
request in an informal hearing, called a Brief Adjudicative Proceeding, before an administrative law judge. The administrative law judge will consider your plea and notify you of his or her decision.

You must act within 15 days after receiving this notice to do one of the following:

· Pay the amount due.

· Request a hearing to contest the occurrence of the violations.

· Request mitigation to contest the amount of the penalty.

Please indicate your selection on the enclosed form and send it to the Washington Utilities and Transportation Commission, Post Office Box 47250, Olympia, Washington 98504-7250, within FIFTEEN (15) days after you receive this notice.

If you do not act within 15 days, the commission may refer this matter to the Office of the Attorney General for collection. The commission may then sue you to collect the penalty. 

DATED at Olympia, Washington, and effective September        
, 2006.







__________________________

Administrative Law Judge

WASHINGTON UTILITIES AND TRANSPORTATION COMMISSION

PENALTY ASSESSMENT, Docket No. TV-061396
PLEASE NOTE: You must complete and sign this document, and send it to the Commission within 15 days after you receive the penalty assessment. Use additional paper if needed.
I have read and understand RCW 9A.72.020 (printed below), which states that making false statements under oath is a class B felony. I am over the age of 18, am competent to testify to the matters set forth below and I have personal knowledge of those matters. I hereby make, under oath, the following statements.

[   ]  1.
Payment of penalty. I admit that the violations occurred and enclose payment in the amount of $4,900.
[   ]  2.
Request for a hearing. I believe that the alleged violation did not occur, based on the following information, and request a hearing for a decision by an administrative law judge:

[   ]  3.
Application for mitigation. I admit the violation, but I believe that the penalty should be reduced for the reason(s) set out below.    

[   ]
a)  I ask for a hearing for a decision by an administrative law judge

     OR
[   ]
b)  I waive a hearing and ask for an administrative decision on the information I present here.

I declare under penalty of perjury under the laws of the State of Washington that the foregoing, including information I have presented on any attachments, is true and correct.

Dated: __________________ , at _________________________

[month/day/year] 
[city, state]

 _____________________________________

___________________________
Name of Respondent (company) – please print

Signature of Applicant

-----------------------------------

RCW 9A.72.020:

“Perjury in the first degree. (1) A person is guilty of perjury in the first degree if in any official proceeding he makes a materially false statement which he knows to be false under an oath required or authorized by law. (2) Knowledge of the materiality of the statement is not an element of this crime, and the actor’s mistaken belief that his statement was not material is not a defense to a prosecution under this section. (3) Perjury in the first degree is a class B felony.”
