
 
 

WASHINGTON UTILITIES AND TRANSPORTATION COMMISSION 
 

NOTICE OF PENALTIES INCURRED AND DUE FOR VIOLATIONS 
OF LAWS RULES AND REGULATIONS 

 
            PENALTY ASSESSMENT NO: TE‐051339 
                                                         PENALTY AMOUNT: $200.00 

             
CHARTER AND EXCURSION BUS 
Monroe Transportation, LTD 
d/b/a Chinook Charter Service 
721 Avenue D Suite 207 
Snohomish, WA  98290 
  
The Commission believes that Monroe Transportation, LTD (Monroe) committed one or 
more violations of Washington State Law or Commission rule, specifically RCW 
8l.70.010 which requires transportation companies to provide safety of operations, and 
specifically WAC 480‐04‐075, which requires compliance with Title 49, Code of Federal 
Regulations (CFR), Part 396.11(c).  As a result, the Commission hereby notifies you that 
it has assessed penalties against Monroe in the amount of $200.00.  The basis for this 
penalty assessment is as follows: 
 
In April, 2003,  Motor Carrier Safety Staff performed a compliance review and found 
Monroe had a defective equipment ratio of 73%.  During May and June, 2005, Motor 
Carrier Safety Investigator, Alan Dickson, performed a second compliance review 
which showed that the defective equipment ratio had risen to 75%.  The out‐of‐service 
ratio had also risen from 9% in 2003 to 16.67% for 2005.   
 
Monroe did not repair defective windshield wipers as identified on driver’s daily 
vehicle inspection reports; one for May 30, 2005 and one for June 8, 2005.  The 
provisions of Title 49, (CFR), Part 396.11(c) are adopted and prescribed the Commission, 
in accordance with WAC 480‐40‐075.  Title 49, CRF, Part 396.11(c),  requires carriers to 
correct safety‐related defects listed on vehicle inspection reports.  Violations are subject 
to a penalty of $l00 per violation.   
 
Penalties are due and payable upon receipt of this penalty notice.  If for any reason you 
believe the violations described did not occur, you may request a hearing to contest the 
occurrence of the violations.  If you have an explanation as to why the violations 
occurred, or have other facts you believe the Commission should have considered, 
RCW 81.04.405 provides that you may make application for mitigation of this penalty.  
To do so, complete the enclosed mitigation form and return it to the Washington 
Utilities and Transportation Commission, Post Office Box 47250, Olympia, Washington 
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98504‐7250, within FIFTEEN (15) days of your receipt of this penalty notice.  You may, 
although you are not required to, present your request for mitigation at a hearing.  The 
Commission will consider your plea and notify you of its determination. 
 
If you would like a hearing to contest either the occurrence of the violations or the 
amount of the penalty, you may request one in your request for hearing or mitigation.  
If you request a hearing for either reason, please state why you believe a hearing is 
called for in your circumstances.   
 
Failure to request a hearing to contest the occurrence of the violations or the amount of 
the penalty, return the mitigation plea, or pay the amount due within 15 days will cause 
the Commission to refer this matter to the Office of the Attorney General for collection.  
Suit may then be brought against you and after trial, judgment may be entered against 
you. 
 
DATED at Olympia, Washington and effective this          day of September, 2005. 
 
 

 
MARK H. SIDRAN, Chairman 

 
 

 
PATRICK J. OSHIE, Commissioner 

 
 
 

PHILIP B. JONES, Commissioner



WASHINGTON UTILITIES AND TRANSPORTATION COMMISSION 
 

APPLICATION FOR MITIGATION OF PENALTIES 
 
I have read and understand RCW 9.72.030, which prescribes penalties for making false 
affidavits (printed below), and hereby make, under oath, application for mitigation of 
the penalties (as described on the attached form), for the following reasons: 
 
 
 

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
NOTE:  This form must be completed, signed and notarized, and received by the 
Commission within 15 days of your receipt of this form. 
 
I swear that the foregoing is a true and complete statement of the facts in this case. 
 
 
 

       ________________________________ 
       Signature of Applicant 

 
Sworn to and subscribed before me 
this _____day of _______________, 
20___ 

 
       _______________________________ 
       NOTARY PUBLIC in and for the  

                               State of Washington, residing in 
       _______________________________ 

 
 
RCW 9.72.030: 
ʺPerjury‐Second Degree:  Every person who, whether orally or in writing, and whether 
as a volunteer or in a proceeding or investigation authorized by law, shall knowingly 
swear falsely concerning any matter whatsoever shall be guilty of perjury in the second 
degree and shall be punished by imprisonment in the state penitentiary for not more 
than five years or by imprisonment in the county jail for not more than one year.ʺ 


	NOTICE OF PENALTIES INCURRED AND DUE FOR VIOLATIONS
	WASHINGTON UTILITIES AND TRANSPORTATION COMMISSION

