STATE OF WASHINGTON
WASHINGTON UTILITIES AND TRANSPORTATION COMMISSION

1300 S. Evergreen Park Dr. S.W.,, P.O, Box 47250 * Olympia, Washington 98504-7250
(360) 664-1160 * TTY (360} 586-8203

October 27, 2006

Arthur Wilkowski

Points Recycling and Refuse, LLC
PMB 1542

145 Tyee Drive

Point Roberts, Washington 98281-9602

RE: Penalty Assessment TG-061052
Dear Mr. Wilkowski:

A review of Washington Utilities and Transportation Commission (commission) records
indicates that you have not remitted payment for the enclosed Notice of Penalties dated July 5,
2006, you have not filed your 2005 Annual Report and you have not paid your 2006 Regulatory
Fees.

On July 25, 2006, the commission received your petition for mitigation of the $100 penalty. You
waived a hearing. On September 18, 2006, the commission denied your mitigation request and
directed you to remit the penalty payment along with the required annual report. Commission
records indicate you have not yet done so.

If we do not receive your annual report and regulatory fee and penalty payments by November 6,
2006, the commission will consider additional sanctions. In addition, we will refer the matter to
the Office of the Attorney General for collection.

For questions regarding this matter, please contact Sheri Hoyt, Compliance Specialist, Business
Practices Investigations Section. Ms. Hoyt can be reached at (360) 664-1149, or by e-mail at
shoyt@wutc.wa.gov.

Sincerely,

(7 it O Mol

Carole J. Washburn
Executive Secretary

Enclosure




WASHINGTON UTILITIES AND TRANSPORTATION COMMISSION

NOTICE OF PENALTIES INCURRED AND DUE
FOR VIOLATIONS OF LAWS AND RULES

PENALTY ASSESSMENT NO: TG-061052
PENALTY AMOUNT: $100 -

TO: EACH OF THE 20 SOLID WASTE
COMPANIES LISTED IN ATTACHED APPENDIX A

The commission believes that you have committed one violation of Washingion Administrative
Code 480-70-071 which requires solid waste companies to file annual reports with the
commission by May 1 each year, You are classified as such a company. Commission records
show that you did not make the filing by the required date of May 1, 2006. (See Appendix A for
individual carrier’s report status as of June 19, 2006.) Revised Code of Washington (RCW)
81.04.405 allows penalties of $100 for every such violation.

As a result, the commission hereby notifies you that it has assessed penalties against you in the
amount $100, as follows:

On March 8, 2006, the commission mailed 2005 Annwal Report formg and 2006
Regulatory Fet packets to you and other solid waste companies certificated in
Washington State. A letter from Executive Secretary Carole Washburn instructed
each company to file its annual report and pay its regulatory fees by May 1, 2006.
The letter stated that failure to file your annual report by May | would resultina
penalty and possible revocation of your registration to operate in Washington.
Companies needing more time to file the annual report were permitted to request
an extension before May 1, and to explain why the extension was needed, You did
not request an extension of time and did not file your annual report before the
deadline. .

This information, if proved at a hearing and not rebutted or explained, is sufficient to support the
penalty assessment.

Your penalty is duc and payable now. If you believe the violation did not occur, you may request .
a hearing fo contest the penalty assessment. If there is a reason for the violation that you think
should excuse you from the penalty, you may ask for mitigation (reduction) of this penalty. Sec
RCW 81.04.405. .
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You have the right to present your request for review or mitigation at a hearing, but you are not
required to do so. If you do, the commission will review the evidence supporting your request in
an informal hearing, called a Brief Adjudicative Proceeding, before an administrative law judge.
The administrative law judge will consider your plea and notify you of his or her decision.

You must act within 15 days after recelving this notice to do one of the following:

« Pay the amount due.
¢ Request a hearing to contest the occurrence of the violations.
o Request mitigation to contest the amount of the penalty.

- Please indicate your sclection on the enclosed form and send it to the Washington Utilities and

Transportation Commission, Post Office Box 47250, Olympia, Washington 985047250, within
FIFTEEN (15) days after you receive this notice.

If you do not act within 15 days, the commission may refer this matter to the Office of the
Attorney General for collection. The commission may then sue you to collect the penalty.

DATED at Olympia, Washington, and effective June 3_0, 2006.

N

DENN!% MOSS
Adminifrative Law Judge




WASHINGTON UTILITIES AND TRANSPORTATION COMMISSION
PENALTY ASSESSMENT, Docket No. TG-061052

PLEASE NOTE: You must complete and sign this document, and send it to the Commission
* within 15 days after you receive the penalty assessment. Use additional paper if needed.

I have read and understand RCW 9A.72.020 (printed below), which states that making false
statements under oath is a class B felony. | am over the age of 18, am competent to testify {o the
matters set forth below and I have personal knowledge of those matters. I hereby make, under
oath, the following statements.

[ ] 1. Payment of penalty. [ admit that the violation occurred and enclose $100 in payment
of the penalty.

[ 12 Reguest for a hearving. I believe that the alleged violation did not occur, based on the
following information, and request a hearing for a decision by an administrative law
judge:

[ 1 3. Application for mitigation. I admit the violation, but I believe that the penalty should
be reduced for the reason(s) set out below. '
[ 1 a) Iask fora hearing for a decision by an administrative law judge
OR [ 1 b) I waive a hearing and ask for an administrative decision on the information [
present here.

I declare under penalty of perjury under the laws of the State of Washington that the foregoing,
including information I have presented on any attachments, is true and correct.

Dated; [month/day/year], at [eity, state]
Name of Respondent (company) — please print Signature of Applicant
RCW 9A.,72.020:

“Perjury in the first degree. (1) A person is guilty of perjury in the first degree if in any official
proceeding he makes a materially false statement which he knows to be false under an oath
required or authorized by law. (2) Knowledge of the materiality of the statement is not an
element of this crime, and the actor’s mistaken belief that his statement was not material is not a
defense to a prosecution under this section. (3) Perjury in the first degree is a class B felony.”




APPENDIX A

e " Received. O If yes,
o __ Comjpaity Name Vesor No | Date Received
1. | Bed Rock, Inc. , Yes May 10, 2006
2. Blaine-Bay Refuse, Inc. , Yes May 2, 2006
3. Consolidated Disposal Services, Inc. Yes May 3, 2006
4, DB Hauling, LLC - No
5. Emerald Services, Inc. No
6. Fiorito Enterprises, Inc. & Rabanco Companies Yes May 3, 2006
7. | Hearn, William D. No o '
8. LTI, Inc. ] Yes May 30, 2006
9. | Ludtke-Pacific Trucking, Inc.  Yes May 2, 2006
10. | Peninsula Sanitation Service, Inc. Yes May 2, 2006
11. | Petland Cemetery, Inc, Yes May 16, 2006
12, | Points Recycling and Refuse, LLC No
13. | Pontius, Robert Vern No o
14. | Rabanco LTD Yes May 3, 2006
15. | Robert L. Nichols Yes May 3, 2006
16. | Skamania County Sanitary Service, Inc. No ,
17. { Stericycle of Washington, Inc. , Yes May §, 2006
18. | Trashbusiers of Washington State, LLC Yes May 2, 2006
19, | Waste Paper Services, Inic. Yes May 3, 2006
20. Yes June 2, 2006

West Waste & Recyeling, Inc.




