WASHINGTON UTILITIES AND TRANSPORTATION COMMISSION

NOTICE OF PENALTIES INCURRED AND DUE FOR VIOLATIONS OF LAWS AND RULES

PENALTY ASSESSMENT: TV-240204 PENALTY AMOUNT: \$6,650

Thirlwall NW Holdings LLC d/b/a College Hunks Moving; College Hunks Hauling Junk 520 Maple St, Apt 103 Edmonds, WA 98020

The Washington Utilities and Transportation Commission (Commission) believes Thirlwall NW Holdings LLC, d/b/a College Hunks Moving, d/b/a College Hunks Hauling Junk (Thirlwall NW Holdings or Company) violated Washington Administrative Code (WAC) 480-15-530, Public Liability and Property Damage Insurance; WAC 480-15-555, Criminal Background Checks for Prospective Employees; and WAC 480-15-560, Vehicle and Driver Safety Requirements, which adopts Title 49 Code of Federal Regulations (49 C.F.R.) Part 391 – Qualifications of Drivers.

Revised Code of Washington (RCW) 81.04.405 allows penalties of \$100 for each violation. In the case of an ongoing violation, every day's continuance is considered a separate and distinct violation.

On March 22, 2024, Commission Motor Carrier Investigator Arber Demiri completed a routine safety investigation of Thirlwall NW Holdings and documented the following violations:

- Sixty-one violations of WAC 480-15-530(1) Failing to maintain the required public liability and property damage insurance prior to operating a commercial motor vehicle (CMV). Thirlwall NW Holdings operated a leased CMV on 61 occasions without the required public liability and property damage insurance between August 22, 2023 and February 22, 2024.
- Two violations of WAC 480-15-555(1) Failure to complete a criminal background check for every person the carrier intends to hire. The Company failed to acquire a criminal background check prior to rehiring drivers Connor McGarey and Spencer Woods.
- Seventy violations of 49 C.F.R. § 391.15(a) Operating a commercial motor vehicle while disqualified. The Company allowed driver Joseph Delamare to operate a CMV with an invalid driver's license on seventy occasions between August 22, 2023 and February 22, 2024.

The Commission considered the following factors in determining the appropriate penalties for these violations:

1. How serious or harmful the violations are to the public. The violations noted are serious and potentially harmful to the public. Household goods moving companies that:

(1) operate without required insurance, (2) fail to conduct criminal background checks on their employees prior to hire, and (3) use disqualified drivers put their customers, their customers' belongings, and the traveling public at risk. These violations present significant safety concerns.

- 2. Whether the violations were intentional. Considerations include:
 - Whether the Company ignored Commission staff's (Staff) previous technical assistance; and
 - Whether there is clear evidence through documentation or other means that shows the Company knew of and failed to correct the violations.

On November 2, 2021, the Commission received the Company's application for household goods moving authority. In the application, Jeffrey Thirlwall, owner of Thirlwall NW Holdings, acknowledged the Company's responsibility to understand and comply with applicable motor carrier safety laws and regulations.

Jeffrey Thirlwall completed Commission sponsored household goods training on November 22, 2021, and acknowledged receiving training pertaining to motor carrier safety regulations.

The Company knew or should have known about these requirements.

- 3. Whether the Company self-reported the violations. Thirlwall NW Holdings did not self-report these violations.
- 4. Whether the Company was cooperative and responsive. The Company was cooperative and responsive during the safety investigation.
- 5. Whether the Company promptly corrected the violations and remedied the impacts. Thirlwall NW Holdings corrected violations as they were discovered.
- 6. **The number of violations.** Staff identified 14 violation types with a total of 163 individual occurrences during the routine safety investigation of Thirlwall NW Holdings. Of those violations, Staff identified three violation types with 133 individual occurrences that warrant a penalty in accordance with the Commission's Enforcement Policy.
- 7. **The number of customers affected**. Thirlwall NW Holdings last reported traveling 17,300 miles for 2023. These safety violations present a public safety risk.
- 8. The likelihood of recurrence. The Company was cooperative throughout the safety investigation and was provided technical assistance with specific remedies to help the Company assess how well its safety management controls support safe operations and how to begin improving its safety performance. In light of these factors, Staff believes the likelihood of recurrence is low.

- 9. The Company's past performance regarding compliance, violations, and penalties. The Company has no history of penalties for safety violations.
- 10. **The Company's existing compliance program.** Jeffrey Thirlwall, owner, is responsible for the Company's safety compliance program.
- 11. **The size of the Company.** The Company employs seven drivers and operates two commercial motor vehicles. The Company reported \$680,014 in gross revenue in 2023.

The Commission's Enforcement Policy provides that some Commission requirements are so fundamental to safe operations that the Commission will issue mandatory penalties for each occurrence of a first-time violation.¹ The Commission generally will assess penalties by violation category, rather than per occurrence, for first-time violations of those critical regulations that do not meet the requirements for mandatory penalties. The Commission will assess penalties for any equipment violation meeting the Federal Motor Carrier Safety Administration's "out-of-service" criteria and also for repeat violations of critical regulations, including each occurrence of a repeat violation.

The Commission has considered these factors and determined that it should penalize Thirlwall NW Holdings \$6,650 (Penalty Assessment), calculated as follows:

- Sixty-one violations of WAC 480-15-530(1) Failing to maintain the required public liability and property damage insurance prior to operating a CMV. The Commission assesses a penalty of \$50 for each occurrence of this acute violation, for a total of \$3,050.
- Two violations of 49 WAC 480-15-555(1) Failure to complete a criminal background check for every person the carrier intends to hire. The Commission assesses a penalty of \$50 for each occurrence of this critical-type violation, for a total of \$100.
- Seventy violations of 49 C.F.R. § 391.15(a) Operating a commercial motor vehicle while disqualified. The Commission assesses a penalty of \$50 for each occurrence of this violation, for a total of \$3,500.

This information, if proven at a hearing and not rebutted or explained, is sufficient to support the Penalty Assessment.

Your penalty is due and payable now. If you believe the violations did not occur, you may deny committing the violations and contest the penalty through evidence presented at a hearing or in writing. Alternatively, if there is a reason for the violations that you believe should excuse you from the penalty, you may ask for mitigation (reduction) of the penalty through evidence presented at a hearing or in writing. The Commission will grant a request for hearing only if material issues of law or fact require consideration of evidence and resolution in a hearing. Any

¹ Docket A-120061 – Enforcement Policy of the Washington Utilities & Transportation Commission – Section V.

request to contest the violations or for mitigation of the penalty must include a written statement of the reasons supporting that request. Failure to provide such a statement will result in denial of the request. *See* RCW 81.04.405.

If you properly present your request for a hearing and the Commission grants that request, the Commission will review the evidence supporting your dispute of the violations or application for mitigation in a Brief Adjudicative Proceeding before an administrative law judge. The administrative law judge will consider the evidence and will notify you of their decision.

You must act within 15 days after receiving this notice to do one of the following:

- Pay the amount due.
- Contest the occurrence of the violations.
- Admit the violations but request mitigation of the penalty amount.

Please indicate your selection on the enclosed form and submit it electronically through the Commission's web portal at <u>https://efiling.utc.wa.gov/Form</u> within FIFTEEN (15) days after you receive this Penalty Assessment.² If you are unable to use the web portal, you may submit it via email to records@utc.wa.gov. If you are unable to submit the form electronically, you may send a paper copy to the Washington Utilities and Transportation Commission, PO Box 47250, Olympia, Washington 98504-7250.

If you wish to make a payment online, please use this link: Make a Payment Now (wa.gov).³

If you do not act within 15 days, the Commission may take additional enforcement action, including but not necessarily limited to suspending or revoking your certificate to provide regulated service, assessing additional penalties, or referring this matter to the Office of the Attorney General for collection.

DATED at Lacey, Washington, and effective April 18, 2024.

/s/ Michael Howard MICHAEL HOWARD Director, Administrative Law Division

² <u>https://efiling.utc.wa.gov/Form</u>.

³ <u>https://www.utc.wa.gov/documents-and-proceedings/online-payments/make-payment-now</u>

WASHINGTON UTILITIES AND TRANSPORTATION COMMISSION PENALTY ASSESSMENT TV-240204

PLEASE NOTE: You must complete and sign this document and send it to the Commission within 15 days after you receive the Penalty Assessment. Use additional paper if needed. I have read and understand RCW 9A.72.020 (printed below), which states that making false statements under oath is a class B felony. I am over the age of 18, am competent to testify to the matters set forth below, and I have personal knowledge of those matters. I hereby make, under oath, the following statements.

- [] 1. **Payment of penalty.** I admit that the violations occurred. [] Enclose \$6,650 in payment of the penalty.
 - OR [] Attest that I have paid the penalty in full through the Commission's payment portal.
- [] 2. Contest the violations. I believe that the alleged violations did not occur for the reasons I describe below (if you do not include reasons supporting your contest here, your request will be denied):

[] a) I ask for a hearing to present evidence on the information I provide above to an administrative law judge for a decision.

- OR [] b) I ask for a Commission decision based solely on the information I provide above.
- [] 3. Application for mitigation. I admit the violations, but I believe that the penalty should be reduced for the reasons set out below (if you do not include reasons supporting your application here, your request will be denied):
 - [] a) I ask for a hearing to present evidence on the information I provide above to an administrative law judge for a decision.
 - OR [] b) I ask for a Commission decision based solely on the information I provide above.

I declare under penalty of perjury under the laws of the state of Washington that the foregoing, including information I have presented on any attachments, is true and correct.

Dated: _	 [month/day/year], at	 [city,	state]

Name of Respondent (company) – please print

Signature of Applicant

RCW 9A.72.020 "Perjury in the first degree."

- (1) A person is guilty of perjury in the first degree if in any official proceeding he or she makes a materially false statement which he or she knows to be false under an oath required or authorized by law.
- (2) Knowledge of the materiality of the statement is not an element of this crime, and the actor's mistaken belief that his or her statement was not material is not a defense to a prosecution under this section.
- (3) Perjury in the first degree is a class B felony.