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Recommendation 
 
Issue an order granting exemption from rules and extending the deadline to file annual reports 
and pay regulatory fees to the commission by 90 days to August 1, 2020, and extending the 
deadline for auto transportation companies by 120 days to September 1, 2020.  
 
 
Background 
 
On February 29, 2020, Governor Inslee issued Proclamation 20-05, which declared a state of 
emergency in all counties in the state of Washington due to the worldwide outbreak of COVID-19. 
On March 23, 2020, the Governor issued Proclamation 20-25, “Stay Home – Stay Healthy,” which 
prohibits all people in the state of Washington from leaving their home or place of residence 
except to conduct or participate in (1) essential activities, and/or (2) employment in providing 
essential business services. 
 
In response to the COVID-19 outbreak, transportation companies have experienced a significant 
decrease in ridership and household goods moves, which further declined following the 
Governor’s Proclamation restricting travel. 
 
WAC 480-07-110(1) provides that the commission, on its own initiative, may grant an 
exemption from, or modify the application of, any of its rules in individual circumstances if the 
exemption or modification is consistent with the public interest, the purposes underlying 
regulation, and applicable statutes. 
 
In light of these adverse, unforeseen circumstances, commission staff (staff) are recommending 
the commission approve, for transportation companies, an exemption from rules,1 and extending 
the annual report filing and regulatory fee payment deadline for 90 days for transportation 
industries, and for 120 days for auto transportation companies. 
 
 
Staff believes granting an industry-wide exemption from rules is consistent with the public 
                                                           
1 For commercial ferries, WAC 480-51-100; auto transportation, WAC 480-30-076; charter and excursion, 
WAC 480-30-071; non-profit buses, WAC 480-30-080; and household goods carriers, WAC 480-15-480. 
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interest. The recommended extension will allow regulated transportation companies to file 
annual reports and pay regulatory fees by August 1, 2020, and by September 1, 2020, for auto 
transportation companies, providing some temporary regulatory and financial relief. 
 
Conclusion 
 
Issue an order granting exemption from rules and extending the deadline to file annual reports 
and pay regulatory fees to the commission by 90 days to August 1, 2020, and extending the 
deadline for auto transportation companies by 120 days to September 1, 2020. 
 
 


