# SERVICE DATE

# JUN 282016

### WASHINGTON UTILITIES AND TRANSPORTATION COMMISSION

### NOTICE OF PENALTIES INCURRED AND DUE FOR VIOLATIONS OF LAWS AND RULES

## PENALTY ASSESSMENT: TV-160622 PENALTY AMOUNT: \$1000

2016 JUL -8

AM 9:

N

<u> HARACEME</u>

Thomas Earl Harris 8012 184<sup>th</sup> Ave E. Bonney Lake, WA 98391

According to Washington Utilities and Transportation Commission (Commission) records, you have violated Washington Administrative Code (WAC) 480-15-480, which requires household goods carriers companies to file their annual report and pay regulatory fees each year by May 1. May 1 was a Sunday, therefore you were required to file your annual report or pay regulatory fees by May 2, 2016. You did not file an annual report by May 2, 2016.

Revised Code of Washington (RCW) 81.04.405 authorizes the Commission to assess a penalty of \$100 for each violation of a Commission rule. In the case of a continuing violation, every day's continuance is a separate and distinct violation. The Commission interprets noncompliance with WAC 480-15-480 beyond May 2 as a continuing violation, and assesses penalties of \$100 for each day a company fails to file its report or pay its regulatory fees after that date.

As a result, the Commission has assessed penalties against you in the amount of \$1000 on the following basis:

On February 29, 2016, the Commission mailed the 2015 annual report forms and the 2016 regulatory fee packets to all household goods carriers companies registered in Washington. The instructions page for the annual report form instructed these companies to file annual reports and pay regulatory fees by May 2, 2016. The instructions page also stated that failure to file the annual report by May 2 would result in penalties. The deadline for requesting an extension to file your annual report was April 15. You did not request an extension.

As of May 16, 2016, Thomas Earl Harris had not filed a 2015 annual report or paid a 2016 regulatory fee. May 16 is ten business days from May 2, resulting in a total penalty of \$1,000. The Commission has yet to receive a complete and accurate annual report and additional penalties may accrue until you submit one.

Your penalty is due and payable now. If you believe the violation did not occur, you may request a hearing to contest the penalty assessment. The Commission will grant that request only if material issues of law or fact require consideration of evidence and resolution in a hearing. A request for a hearing must include a written statement of the reasons supporting that request. Failure to provide such a statement will result in denial of the request.

# WASHINGTON UTILITIES AND TRANSPORTATION COMMISSION

#### PENALTY ASSESSMENT TV-160622

PLEASE NOTE: You must complete and sign this document, and send it to the Commission within 15 days after you receive the penalty assessment. Use additional paper if needed.

I have read and understand RCW 9A.72.020 (printed below), which states that making false statements under oath is a class B felony. I am over the age of 18, am competent to testify to the matters set forth below and I have personal knowledge of those matters. I hereby make, under oath, the following statements.

[] 1. Payment of penalty. I admit that the violations occurred. I have:

[ ] Enclosed \$\_\_\_\_\_\_ in payment of the penalty

[ ] Submitted my payment of \$\_\_\_\_\_\_ online at www.utc.wa.gov. My confirmation number is .

- Request for a hearing. I believe that one or more of the alleged violations did not []2. occur, for the reasons I describe below, and I request a hearing based on those reasons for a decision by an administrative law judge:
- Application for mitigation. I admit the violations, but I believe that the penalty should []3. be reduced for the reasons set out below: ά
  - [] a) I ask for a hearing to present evidence on the information I provide above to an administrative law judge for a decision

OR

I ask for a Commission decision based solely on the information I provide [**x**] b) above.

I declare under penalty of perjury under the laws of the State of Washington that the foregoing, including information I have presented on any attachments, is true and correct.

Dated: 7-6-2016 [month/day/year], at BonneyLake. WA [city, state] Enels AFFordable moving Name of Respondent (company) - please print Signature of Applicant

2016

#### RCW 9A.72.020:

"Perjury in the first degree. (1) A person is guilty of perjury in the first degree if in any official proceeding he makes a materially false statement which he knows to be false under an oath required or authorized by law. (2) Knowledge of the materiality of the statement is not an element of this crime, and the actor's mistaken belief that his statement was not material is not a defense to a prosecution under this section. (3) Perjury in the first degree is a class B felony."

Whom it may concern Let me START my Request by SAYing I apoligize For The mishap on my behalf. I chonestly do not Recall getting your notice. I ama small company one Truck and myself. Being Preoccupied with the welfare and hereITH of ddeely parents have distracted me of hate. I am not making much income But would Like To Remain in service SO I humbly request as much consideration as possible to resolve This issue and move on. I just paid my insurance which was 4000. another Large payment along with Regular expenses would be a handship. So I am asking For as much Leniency as possible Thomas EARL HARR'S ENALS AFFORDAble moving #206-450-0756