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Mr. Steven V. King — S
2600 Maitland Center Pkwy.  Washington Utilities & Transportation Comm. e an
Suite 300 1300 S. Evergreen Park Drive, S.W. % |
Maitland, FL 32751 Olympia, WA 98504-7250 - :
PO Dravwer 200 RE: Talk America Services, LLC i
Winter Park, FL WA Annual Report and Regulatory Fees-Penalty —
32790-0200 Payment Due Date: June 19, 2015 ~
Tel: 407-740-8575 @
Fax: 407-740-0613 Dear Mr. King:

www.tminc.com
Enclosed please find the WA Annual Report and Regulatory Fees-Penalty due
June 19, 2015, filed on behalf of Talk America Services, LLC. A check in the
amount of $300.00 is enclosed to cover the remittance fees due.

Questions regarding this filing should be directed to my attention at 407-740-
8575. Thank you for youy assistance in this matter.

Sincerely,

Alex Ferdandez
Compliance Reporting Specialist

cc: Samantha Young - Talk America Services, LLC
file:  Talk America Services, LLC - Reporting - Washington
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WASHINGTON UTILITIES AND TRANSPORTATION COMMISSION

NOTICE OF PENALTIES INCURRED AND DUE
FOR VIOLATIONS OF LAWS AND RULES SERV|CE DATE

JUN 04 2015
PENALTY ASSESSMENT: UT-150845

PENALTY AMOUNT: $300

TALK AMERICA SERVICES, LLC
4001 N. RODNEY PARHAM RD.
LITTLE ROCK, AR 72212

According to Washington Utilities and Transportation Commission (Commission) records, you
have violated Washington Administrative Code (WAC) 480-120-382, which requires
telecommunications companies to file your annual report and pay regulatory fees each year by
May 1. You did not file an annual report or pay regulatory fees by May 1, 2015,

Revised Code of Washington (RCW) 80.04.080 authorizes the Commission to assess a penalty
of $100 for each violation of a Commission rule. In the case of a continuing violation, every
day’s continuance is a separate and distinct violation. The Commission interprets
noncompliance with WAC 480-120-382 beyond May 1 as a continuing violation, and assesses
penalties of $100 for each day a company fails to file its report or pay its regulatory fees after
that date.

As aresult, the Commission has assessed penalties against you in.the amount of $300 on the
following basis:

On February 27, 2015, the Commission mailed the 2014 annual report forms and
the 2015 regulatory fee packets to all telecommunications companies registered in
Washington. The instructions page for the annual report form instructed these
companies to file annual reports and pay regulatory fees by May 1, 2015. The
instructions page also stated that failure to file the annual report by May 1 would
result in penalties. The deadline for requesting an extension to file your annual -
report was April 15. You did not request an extension.

On May 6, 2015, Talk America Services, LLC filed its 2014 annual report and
paid its 2015 regulatory fee. May 6 is 3 business days from May 1, resulting in a
total penalty of $300.

Your penalty is due and payable now. If you believe the violation did not oceur, you may request
a hearing to contest the penalty assessment. The Commission will grant that request only if

- material issues of law or fact require consideration of evidence and resolution in a hearing. A
request for a hearing must include a written statement of the reasons supporting that request.
Failure to provide such a statement will result in denial of the request.
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If there is a reason for the violation that you think should excuse or reduce the penalty, you may
ask for mitigation (reduction) of this penalty through evidence presented at a hearing or in
writing. The Commission will grant a request for a hearing only if material issues of law or fact
require consideration of evidence and resolution in a hearing. Any request for mitigation must
include a written statement of the reasons supporting that request. Failure to provide such a
statement will result in denial of the request. See RCW 80.04.405.

If you properly present your request for a hearing and the Commission grants that request, the
Comumission will review the evidence supporting your dispute of the violation or application for
mitigation in a Brief Adjudicative Proceeding, before an administrative law judge. The
administrative law judge will consider the evidence and will notify you of his or her decision.

You must act within 15 days after receiving this notice to do one of the following:

e Pay the amount due.
* Request a hearing to contest the occurrence of the violations.
¢ Request mitigation to contest the amount of the penalty.

Please indicate your selection on the enclosed form and send it to the Washington Utilities and
Transportation Commission, Post Office Box 47250, Olympia, Washington 98504-7250, within
FIFTEEN (15) days after you receive this notice.

If you do not act within 15 days, the Commission may refer this matter to the Office of the
Attorney General for collection, which may file suit in state court to collect the penalty. The
Commission may also initiate proceedings under WAC 480-121-060 to revoke your authority to
provide telecommunications services in Washington.

DATED at Olympia, Washington, and effective June 4, 2015.
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GREGORY J. KOPTA
Administrative Law Judge




WASHINGTON UTILITIES AND TRANSPORTATION COMMISSION
PENALTY ASSESSMENT UT-150845

PLEASE NOTE: You must complete and sign this document, and send it to the Commission
within 15 days after you receive the penalty assessment. Use additional paper if needed.

I have read and understand RCW 9A.72.020 (printed below), which states that making false
statements under oath is a class B felony. I am over the age of 18, am competent to testify to the
matters set forth below and I have personal knowledge of those matters. I hereby make, under
oath, the following statements.

[x] 1. Payment of penalty. I admit that the violations occurred. I have:

[ ] Enclosed $ 300.00 in payment of the penalty

[ 1 Submitted my payment of $ online at www.utc.wa.gov.
My confirmation number is

[ ] 2. Request for a hearing. I believe that one or more of the alleged violations did not
occur, for the reasons I describe below, and I request a hearing based on those reasons
for a decision by an administrative law judge:

[ 1 3. Application for mitigation. I admit the violations, but I believe that the penalty should
be reduced for the reasons set out below:

[ ] @) Iaskforahearing to present evidence on the information I provide above to
an administrative law judge for a decision
OR [ ] b) TIaskforaCommission decision based solely on the information I provide
above. ‘ ‘

I declare under penalty of perjury under the laws of the State of Washington that the foregoing,
including information I have presented on any attachments, 1s true and correct.

Dated: 6/15/15 [month/day/year], at Maitlan,G; Florida [citynstate)
Talk America_ Services, LLC O )/ \/\’v
Name of Respondent (company) — please print Signature of Applicant
e TECHNOLOGIES MANAGEMENT INC.
RCW 9A.72.020: AS ATTORNEY-IN-FACT

i BY SHARON THOMAS, CONSULTANT
“Perjury in the first degree. (1) A person is guilty of perjury in the first degree if in any official
proceeding he makes a materially false statement which he knows to be false under an oath
required or authorized by law. (2) Knowledge of the materiality of the statement is not an
element of this crime, and the actor’s mistaken belief that his statement was not material is not a

defense to a prosecution under this section. (3) Perjury in the first degree is a class B felony.”



