## JUN 0 2015 JUN U 1 2015

PENALTY ASSESSMENT UW-150784

WASH, UT. & TP. COMM

PLEASE NOTE: You must complete and sign this document, and send it to the Commission within 15 days after you receive the penalty assessment. The addition

I have read and understand RCW 9A.72.020 (printed below), which states that making false statements under oath is a class B felony. I am over the age of 18, am competent to testify to the matters set forth below and I have personal knowledge of those matters. I hereby make, under oath, the following statements.

[]1.	Payn	Payment of penalty. I admit that the violations occurred. I have:			
	[ ] Enclosed \$ in payment of the penalty				
	[ ] Submitted my payment of \$ online at www.utc.wa.gov.  My confirmation number is				
[ ] 2.	Request for a hearing. I believe that one or more of the alleged violations did not occur, for the reasons I describe below, and I request a hearing based on those reasons for a decision by an administrative law judge:				
jXj 3.		ation for mitigation. In ceed for the reasons set See attack	out below:	ations, but I believe that the penalty should	
OR		an administrative lav	w judge for a dec	ce on the information I provide above to cision sed solely on the information I provide	
				e State of Washington that the foregoing, ents, is true and correct.	
Dated: _	5/25	[month/c	day/year], at	EDMOND, WA [city, state]	
LOPA Name o	US Respond	ock 5 MUTUAL lent (company) – plea	SENEAT AS	Signature of Applicant	
	 А 72 020:			v v	

"Perjury in the first degree. (1) A person is guilty of perjury in the first degree if in any official proceeding he makes a materially false statement which he knows to be false under an oath required or authorized by law. (2) Knowledge of the materiality of the statement is not an element of this crime, and the actor's mistaken belief that his statement was not material is not a defense to a prosecution under this section. (3) Perjury in the first degree is a class B felony."



May 26, 2015

Washington State Utilities and Transportation Commission Post Office Box 47250 Olympia, WA 98504

Re: Penalty Assessment: UW-150784

To Whom It May Concern:

I received the penalty assessment for late filing of our annual report. I admit the violations, but I believe that the penalty should be reduced for the reasons set out below:

We are a small system with annual operating expenses under \$20,000. The five owners of the system are all property owners in the development of 28 water system users. We have invested a significant amount of money to make improvements and we volunteer our time to operate the system. We work hard to follow all rules and maintain compliance with both the UTC and the DOH.

I handle all of the reporting and take it seriously. It was my oversight, and the report has since been submitted. I have not been late on any past reporting.

In our case, I believe this \$1,000 fine is disproportionate to the size of our small system. It is about 5% of our total operating budget. If we were a large water system, this would be a very small percentage.

For these reasons, I respectfully request that you waive the penalty.

Sincerely,

**Copalis Rocks Mutual Benefit Association** 

C. Chevy Chase

Secretary/Treasurer