WASHINGTON UTILITIES AND TRANSPORTATION COMMISSION PENALTY ASSESSMENT DG-144098

PLEASE NOTE: You must complete and sign this document, and send it to the Commission within 15 days after you receive the penalty assessment. Use additional paper if needed.

I have read and understand RCW 9A.72.020 (printed below), which states that making false statements under oath is a class B felony. I am over the age of 18, am competent to testify to the matters set forth below and I have personal knowledge of those matters. I hereby make, under oath, the following statements.

- [] 1. **Payment of penalty.** I admit that the violation occurred and enclose \$3,000.00 in payment of the penalty.
- [] 2. Request for a hearing. I believe that the alleged violation did not occur for the reasons I describe below, and I request a hearing based on those reasons for a decision by an administrative law judge:
- [] 3. Application for mitigation. I admit the violation, but I believe that the penalty of should be reduced for the reasons set out below:
 - Violation #1 and Violation #3 are the same incident. I do admit fault on #2 and #3

RECORDS, MANAGEMEND

- [] a) I ask for a hearing to present evidence on the information I provide above to an administrative law judge for a decision
- OR [X] b) I ask for a Commission decision based solely on the information I provide above.

I declare under penalty of perjury under the laws of the State of Washington that the foregoing, including information I have presented on any attachments, is true and correct.

Dated: 4-27-15 [Month/Day/Year], at Pasco (Ja [City, State]) <u>Blade Excavating</u> Name of Respondent (company) – please print Signature of Applicant

RCW 9A.72.020:

"Perjury in the first degree. (1) A person is guilty of perjury in the first degree if in any official proceeding he makes a materially false statement which he knows to be false under an oath required or authorized by law. (2) Knowledge of the materiality of the statement is not an element of this crime, and the actor's mistaken belief that his statement was not material is not a defense to a prosecution under this section. (3) Perjury in the first degree is a class B felony."

PENALTY ASSESSMENT DG-144098

hearing only if material issues of law or fact require consideration of evidence and resolution in a hearing. A request for mitigation, either in a hearing or through a written statement, must include a written explanation of the reasons supporting that request. Failure to provide such an explanation will result in denial of the request.

If you properly present your request for a hearing and the Commission grants that request, the Commission will review the evidence supporting your dispute of the violation or application for mitigation in a Brief Adjudicative Proceeding before an administrative law judge. The administrative law judge will consider the evidence and will notify you of his or her decision.

You must act within 15 days after receiving this notice to do one of the following:

- Pay the amount due;
- Request a hearing to contest the occurrence of the violation; or
- Request mitigation to contest the amount of the penalty.

Please indicate your selection on the enclosed form and send it to the Washington Utilities and Transportation Commission, Post Office Box 47250, Olympia, Washington 98504-7250, within FIFTEEN (15) days after you receive this notice.

If you do not act within 15 days, the Commission may refer this matter to the Office of the Attorney General for collection. The Commission may then sue you to collect the penalty.

DATED at Olympia, Washington, and effective April 13, 2015.

GREGORY J. KOPTA Director, Administrative Law Division



STATE OF WASHINGTON

UTILITIES AND TRANSPORTATION COMMISSION

1300 S. Evergreen Park Dr. S.W., P.O. Box 47250 • Olympia, Washington 98504-7250

(360) 664-1160 • www.utc.wa.gov

August 11, 2014

Blade Excavation 4008 Laredo Drive Pasco, WA 99301

UIS MANAGEMENT AM 8:

Dear Excavator:

RE: Investigation of Alleged Violations of Washington Dig Law

It has come to the attention of the Washington Utilities and Transportation Commission (commission) that Blade Excavation has violated Washington's dig law, RCW 19.122, by not requesting a utility locate prior to digging on two separate occasions.

In response to the first damage incident, the commission mailed Blade Excavation a technical assistance letter with important information about Washington's dig law. The letter emphasized becoming familiar with the law, the importance of following it closely, and the possibility of penalties being assessed for each violation.

Facility Damaged	Date of Damage	Date of Commission Letter
Cascade Natural Gas	Oct. 21, 2013	Jan. 23, 2014
Cascade Natural Gas	Dec. 30, 2013	· · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · ·

The commission takes the alleged violations of RCW 19.122 very serious and will be conducting an independent investigation. Ronda Shupert, Pipeline Safety Engineer, will be contacting you to investigate the damage event incidents. If you are found to be in violation, a penalty will be assessed. Your cooperation in this matter will be appreciated.

If you have any questions or concerns, please contact Lynda Holloway at (360) 664-1118 or lholloway@utc.wa.gov.

Sincerely,

David D. Lykken Pipeline Safety Director

Cc: Cascade Natural Gas

SERVICE DATE

APR 132015

WASHINGTON UTILITIES AND TRANSPORTATION COMMISSIO

NOTICE OF PENALTIES INCURRED AND DUE FOR VIOLATIONS OF LAWS AND RULES

PENALTY ASSESSMENT: DG-144098 PENALTY AMOUNT: \$3,000.00

RECEIVED

MAY 0 1 2015 Jeremy Kysar d/b/a Blade Excavation 4008 Laredo Drive Pasco, WA 99301

WASH. UT. & TP. COMM

The Washington Utilities and Transportation Commission (Commission) believes that you have violated Revised Code of Washington (RCW) 19.122.030(1)(a) by failing to request a dig ticket prior to performing an excavation. RCW 19.122.055(1)(a) states, in part, that any excavator who fails to notify a one-number locator service and causes damage to a hazardous liquid or gas facility is subject to a civil penalty of not more than ten thousand dollars for each violation.

Commission staff (Staff) conducted an investigation in which Staff reviewed damage reports submitted by Cascade Natural Gas Corporation (CNG). That investigation identified three natural gas damage events involving Jeremy Kysar, d/b/a Blade Excavation (Blade Excavation), in which buried utilities were not located prior to excavation. Accordingly, the Commission hereby notifies you that it is assessing a penalty against you in the amount of \$3,000 on the following grounds:

(First Violation)

On January 4, 2013, Blade Excavation, was digging a joint trench to install utilities for new construction at 1638 Lucca Lane, Richland, Washington, Prior to beginning excavation, Blade Excavation failed to request a dig ticket from a one-number locator service to have the underground utilities located.

On January 4, 2013, CNG sent Blade Excavation a certified letter with a safety brochure and a Washington Dig Law booklet.

(Second Violation)

On October 21, 2013, Blade Excavation performed an excavation for a curb/sidewalk at 427 Sundance Drive, Richland, Washington. Prior to beginning excavation, Blade Excavation failed to request a dig ticket from a one-number locator service to have the underground utilities located.

On October 21, 2013 CNG had an onsite meeting with Blade Excavation regarding the damages.

On January 2, 2014, CNG submitted a Damage Incident Reporting Tool (DIRT) report identifying Blade Excavation as the party responsible for damaging the company's natural gas service line at 427 Sundance Drive, Richland, Washington on October 21, 2013, without first obtaining a ticket number to have underground utilities located prior to excavation.

(Third Violation)

On December 30, 2013, Blade Excavation performed an excavation for a curb/sidewalk at 1638 Lucca Lane, Richland, Washington. Prior to beginning excavation, Blade Excavation failed to request a utility locate from a one-number locator service to have the underground utilities located.

On January 2, 2014, CNG sent Blade Excavation a certified letter with a safety brochure and a Washington Dig Law booklet.

On January 14, 2014, CNG submitted a DIRT report identifying Blade Excavation as the party responsible for damaging the CNG's natural gas service at 1638 Lucca Lane, Richland, on December 30, 2013, without first obtaining a ticket number to have underground utilities located prior to excavation.

On January 23, 2014, the Commission mailed an Alleged Violation of Washington Dig Law letter to Blade Excavation for all three of these events, informing the company of its obligation to have underground utilities located prior to excavation, as outlined in RCW 19.122.030. The letter emphasized the importance of becoming familiar with the law, and the possibility of penalties for each violation of the law.

Based on the results of Staff's investigation, the Commission finds that Jeremy Kysar, d/b/a Blade Excavation violated RCW 19.122.030(1)(a) three times by failing to request a dig tickets prior to performing an excavation. The Commission assesses a \$1,000 penalty for each of the three violations for a total of \$3,000. The facts set forth above, if not contested or if proved at a hearing and not rebutted or explained, are sufficient to support the penalty assessment.

Your penalty is due and payable now. If you believe the violations did not occur, you may request a hearing to contest the penalty assessment. The Commission will grant that request only if material issues of law or fact require consideration of evidence and resolution in a hearing. A request for a hearing must include a written statement of the reasons supporting that request. Failure to provide such a statement will result in denial of the request.

If you admit the violation but believe there is a reason for the violation that should excuse you from the penalty, you may ask for mitigation (reduction) of this penalty through evidence presented at a hearing or through a written statement. The Commission will grant a request for