WASHINGTON UTILITIES AND TRANSPORTATION COMMISSION

NOTICE OF PENALTIES INCURRED AND DUE
FOR VIOLATIONS OF LAWS AND RULES

PENALTY ASSESSMENT: DG-144092
PENALTY AMOUNT: $4,000

Watterson Excavating
718 Griffin Avenue
Enumclaw, WA 98022

The Washington Utilities and Transportation Commission (Commission) believes that you
have violated Revised Code of Washington (RCW) 19.122.030(1)(a) by failing to request a dig
ticket prior to performing an excavation. RCW 19.122.055(1)(a) states, in part, that any
excavator who fails to notify a one-number locator service and causes damage to a hazardous
liquid or gas facility is subject to a civil penalty of not more than ten thousand dollars for each
violation.

Commission staff (Staff) conducted an investigation in which it reviewed damage reports
submitted by Puget Sound Energy (PSE) and identified three natural gas damage events
involving Watterson Excavating, where buried utilities were not located prior to excavation.
Accordingly, the Commission hereby notifies you that it is assessing a penalty against you in
the amount of $4,000 on the following grounds:

(First Violation)

On January 16, 2013, Watterson Excavating, performed an excavation installing
a sewer at 18819 19th Avenue Court East, Spanaway, Washington. Prior to
beginning excavation, Watterson Excavating failed to request a dig ticket from a
one-number locator service to have the underground utilities located.

On February 28, 2013, PSE submitted a Damage Incident Reporting Tool
(DIRT) report identifying Watterson Excavating as the party responsible for
damaging PSE’s natural gas service line at 18819 19th Avenue Court East,
Spanaway, Washington on January 16, 2013, without first obtaining a ticket
number to have utilities located prior to excavation.

On July 30, 2013, the Commission mailed an Alleged Violation of Washington
Dig Law letter to Watterson Excavating, informing the company of its
obligation to have underground utilities located prior to excavation, as outlined
in RCW 19.122.130. The letter emphasized the importance of becoming familiar
with the law, and the possibility of penalties for each violation of the law.
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(Second Violation)

On August 19, 2013, Watterson Excavating, performed an excavation digging
for utilities at 5448 Lake Washington Boulevard, Bellevue, Washington. Prior to
beginning excavation, Watterson Excavating failed to request a dig ticket from a
one-number locator service to have the underground utilities located.

On October 2, 2013, PSE submitted a DIRT report identifying Watterson
Excavating as the party responsible for damaging PSE’s natural gas service line
at 5448 Lake Washington Boulevard, Bellevue, Washington, on August 19,
2013, without first obtaining a ticket number to have utilities located prior to
excavation.

On October 19, 2013, the Commission mailed an Alleged Violation of
Washington Dig Law letter to Watterson Excavating, informing the company of
its obligation to have underground utilities located prior to excavation, as
outlined in RCW 19.122.130. The letter emphasized the importance of
becoming familiar with the law, and the possibility of penalties for each
violation of the law

(Third Violation)

On December 30, 2013, Watterson Excavating performed an excavation digging
for utilities at 1902 Gallagher Court North West, Tumwater, Washington. Prior
to beginning excavation, Watterson Excavating failed to request a dig ticket
from a one-number locator service to have the underground utilities located.

On January 30, 2014, PSE submitted a DIRT report identifying Watterson
Excavating as the party responsible for damaging the company’s natural gas
service at 1902 Gallagher Court North West, Tumwater, Washington, on
December 30, 2013, without first obtaining a ticket number to have utilities
located prior to excavation.

Based on the results of Staff’s investigation, the Commission finds that Watterson
Excavating violated RCW 19.122.030(1)(a) three times by failing to request a dig
tickets prior to performing an excavation, and the Commission assesses a $1,000
penalty for the first two violations and $2,000 for the third violation. These facts, if not
contested or if proved at a hearing and not rebutted or explained, are sufficient to
support the penalty assessment.

Your penalty is due and payable now. If you believe the violations did not occur, you may
request a hearing to contest the penalty assessment. The Commission will grant that request
only if material issues of law or fact require consideration of evidence and resolution in a
hearing. A request for a hearing must include a written statement of the reasons supporting that
request. Failure to provide such a statement will result in denial of the request.
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If you admit the violation but believe there is a reason for the violation that should excuse you
from the penalty, you may ask for mitigation (reduction) of this penalty through evidence
presented at a hearing or through a written statement. The Commission will grant a request for
hearing only if material issues of law or fact require consideration of evidence and resolution
in a hearing. A request for mitigation, either in a hearing or through a written statement, must
include a written explanation of the reasons supporting that request. Failure to provide such an
explanation will result in denial of the request.

If you properly present your request for a hearing and the Commission grants that request, the
Commission will review the evidence supporting your dispute of the violation or application
for mitigation in a Brief Adjudicative Proceeding before an administrative law judge. The
administrative law judge will consider the evidence and will notify you of his or her decision.

You must act within 15 days after receiving this notice to do one of the following:

e Pay the amount due;
e Request a hearing to contest the occurrence of the violation; or
e Request mitigation to contest the amount of the penalty.

Please indicate your selection on the enclosed form and send it to the Washington Utilities and
Transportation Commission, Post Office Box 47250, Olympia, Washington 98504-7250,
within FIFTEEN (15) days after you receive this notice.

If you do not act within 15 days, the Commission may refer this matter to the Office of the
Attorney General for collection. The Commission may then sue you to collect the penalty.

DATED at Olympia, Washington, and effective February 26, 2015.

N

GREGORY J. KOPTA
Director, Administrative Law Division
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PLEASE NOTE: You must complete and sign this document, and send it to the
Commission within 15 days after you receive the penalty assessment. Use additional paper if
needed.

I have read and understand RCW 9A.72.020 (printed below), which states that making false
statements under oath is a class B felony. I am over the age of 18, am competent to testify to
the matters set forth below and I have personal knowledge of those matters. I hereby make,
under oath, the following statements.

[ ] 1. Payment of penalty. I admit that the violation occurred and enclose $4,000 in
payment of the penalty.

[ 12 Request for a hearing. I believe that the alleged violation did not occur for the
reasons 1 describe below, and I request a hearing based on those reasons for a
decision by an administrative law judge:

[ 13. Application for mitigation. I admit the violation, but I believe that the penalty
should be reduced for the reasons set out below:

[ ] a) I ask for a hearing to present evidence on the information I provide above
to an administrative law judge for a decision
OR [ ] b) Iask fora Commission decision based solely on the information I provide
above.

I declare under penalty of perjury under the laws of the State of Washington that the
foregoing, including information I have presented on any attachments, is true and correct.

Dated: [Month/Day/Year], at [City, State]
Name of Respondent (company) — please print Signature of Applicant
RCW 9A.72.020:

“Perjury in the first degree. (1) A person is guilty of petjury in the first degree if in any
official proceeding he makes a materially false statement which he knows to be false under
an oath required or authorized by law. (2) Knowledge of the materiality of the statement is
not an element of this crime, and the actor’s mistaken belief that his statement was not
material is not a defense to a prosecution under this section. (3) Perjury in the first degree is a
class B felony.”




