

10 N Post Street, Suite 200 Spokane, WA 99201

May 28, 2014

WUTC P O Box 47250 Olympia, WA 98504-7250

Re: Penalty Assessment: TN-14138

To Whom it May Concern:

I am requesting mitigation of the \$1,000 penalty assessed Career Path Services for late filing of our nonprofit special needs transportation report. We received the certified notice of penalty on May 27th. Unfortunately, we have no record of receiving the original documents.

This report is handled by our Safety Team as part of the overall safety program, but no one in any department in our office reports seeing the WUTC mailing. As a non profit corporation, we are required to file many annual reports with the State of Washington, and take this responsibility seriously. All staff know to pass on anything with a State of Washington return address. Unfortunately, the paperwork did not reach who it needed to.

I just looked at the WUTC website, and it appears we are now able to download and complete a report and submit it on line. Our 2013 report will be completed and submitted today, and we have already calendared submission of our 2014 report so we will not have an issue with non-compliance again.

I respectfully requested mitigation of the assessed penalty due to not receiving the forms, and the assurance that we will file electronically in the future so this will not happen again.

Thank you for your consideration.

Sincerely,

Marie Bjork-Haugen

CFO

mebjork@careerpathservices.org

509-323-1233

2019 JUN -2 AM 8: 32

MAY 23 2014

WASHINGTON UTILITIES AND TRANSPORTATION COMMISSION

NOTICE OF PENALTIES INCURRED AND DUE FOR VIOLATIONS OF LAWS AND RULES

PENALTY ASSESSMENT: TN-141038 PENALTY AMOUNT: \$1,000

Career Path Services Employment & Training 10 North Post Street, Suite 200 Spokane, WA 99201

According to Washington Utilities and Transportation Commission (Commission) records, you have violated Washington Administrative Code (WAC) 480-30-080, which requires nonprofit special needs transportation provider companies to file their annual report and pay regulatory fees each year by May 1. You did not file an annual report or pay regulatory fees by May 1, 2014.

Revised Code of Washington (RCW) 81.04.080 authorizes the Commission to assess penalties of \$100 for violations of Commission rules. Each violation is a separate and distinct offense and, in the case of a continuing violation, every day's continuance is a separate and distinct violation. The Commission interprets noncompliance with WAC 480-30-080 beyond May 1 as a continuing violation, and assesses penalties of \$100 for each day a company fails to file its report or pay its regulatory fees after that date.

As a result, the Commission has assessed penalties against you in the amount of \$1,000 on the following basis:

On February 28, 2014, the Commission mailed the 2013 annual report forms and the 2014 regulatory fee packets to all nonprofit special needs transportation provider companies registered in Washington. The instructions page for the annual report form instructed these companies to file annual reports and pay regulatory fees by May 1, 2014. The instructions page also stated that failure to file the annual report by May 1 would result in penalties. The deadline for requesting an extension to file your annual report was April 17. You did not request an extension.

As of May 15, 2014, Career Path Services Employment & Training has not filed its 2013 annual report or paid its 2014 regulatory fee. May 15 is 10 business days from May 1, resulting in a total penalty of \$1,000.

2014 JUN -2 ATT 0: JE

Your penalty is due and payable now. If you believe the violation did not occur, you may request a hearing to contest the penalty assessment. The Commission will grant that request only if

WASHINGTON UTILITIES AND TRANSPORTATION COMMISSION

PENALTY ASSESSMENT TN-141038

PLEASE NOTE: You must complete and sign this document, and send it to the Commission within 15 days after you receive the penalty assessment. Use additional paper if needed.

I have read and understand RCW 9A.72.020 (printed below), which states that making false statements under oath is a class B felony. I am over the age of 18, am competent to testify to the matters set forth below and I have personal knowledge of those matters. I hereby make, under oath, the following statements.

[] 1.	Payment of penalty. I admit that the violations occurred. I have:
	[] Enclosed \$ in payment of the penalty
	[] Submitted my payment of \$ online at www.utc.wa.gov. My confirmation number is
[] 2.	Request for a hearing. I believe that one or more of the alleged violations did not occur, for the reasons I describe below, and I request a hearing based on those reasons for a decision by an administrative law judge:
[\]_3.	Application for mitigation. I admit the violations, but I believe that the penalty should be reduced for the reasons set out below: **Delana see attacked letter**
	[] a) I ask for a hearing to present evidence on the information I provide above to an administrative law judge for a decision
OR	I ask for a Commission decision based solely on the information I provide above.
	e under penalty of perjury under the laws of the State of Washington that the foregoing,
includin	g information I have presented on any attachments, is true and correct.
Dated:	[city, state] [month/day/year], at

RCW 9A.72.020:

"Perjury in the first degree. (1) A person is guilty of perjury in the first degree if in any official proceeding he makes a materially false statement which he knows to be false under an oath required or authorized by law. (2) Knowledge of the materiality of the statement is not an element of this crime, and the actor's mistaken belief that his statement was not material is not a defense to a prosecution under this section. (3) Perjury in the first degree is a class B felony."