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June 5, 2014

Washington Utilities and Transportation Commission
PO Box 47250
Olympia, WA 98504-7250 ~O

RE: Penalty Assessment: TV-140952

I received a penalty assessment for failing to file the annual report by May 1, 2014. I'd like to
ask the Commission for a reduction in the penalty assessed for the following reasons:

• We mailed our annual report on May 22, 2014.

• We included payment for the Penalties on Regulatory Fees as indicated on the Regulatory
Fee Calculation Schedule.

• We will file timely in the future and I believe this is the first time that it has been filed
delinquent.

The Controller for Corporate Moving Systems retired at the end of January 2014 and it has taken
me some time to review where he left off on preparing the financials records for the year-end and
to ensure we had the proper information to file the annual report. I'll ensure that all future filings
are done in a timely manner.

Thank you,

L~ .
~'~u ~~.

Tami Levinson
Controller
Email: tlevinson(c~moovers.com
Phone: (253) 395-5432



WASHINGTON UTILITIES AND TRANSPORTATION COMMISSION

PENALTY ASSESSMENT TV-140952

PLEASE NOTE: You must complete and sign this document, and send it to the Commission
within 15 days after you receive the penalty assessment. Use additional paper if needed.

I have read and understand RCW 9A.72.020 (printed below), which states that making false
statements under oath is a class B felony. I am over the age of 18, am competent to testify to the
matters set forth below and I have personal knowledge of those matters. I hereby make, undue
oath, the following statements.

1. Payment of penalty. I admit that the violations occurred. I have:

]Enclosed $

[ ]Submitted my payment of $
My confirmation number is

in payment of the penalty

online at www.utc.wa.gov;~.

[ ] 2. Request for a hearing. I believe that one or more of the alleged violations did not
occur, for the reasons I describe below, and I request a hearing based on those reasons
for a decision by an administrative law judge:

[ ✓] 3. Application for mitigation. I admit the violations, but I believe that the penalty should
be reduced for the reasons set out below:

[ ] a) I ask for a hearing to present evidence on the information I provide above to
an administrative law judge for a decision

OR [►/f b) I ask for a Commission decision based solely on the information I provide
above. ~$~,~ ~~'~~

I declare under penalty of perjury under the~laws of the State of Washington that the foregoing,
including information I have presented on any attachments, is true and correct.

Dated: !,el5 ~~ [month/day/year], at ~~~ Gtf?~ [city, state]

~2.Vi it-.Srrn ~ ~ 6C'~J ~~c. , ,%`_
Name of Respondent (company) —please print Signature of Applicant

RCW 9A.72.020:
"Perjury in the first degree. (1) A person is guilty of perjury in the first degree if in any ofFicial
proceeding he makes a materially false statement which he knows to be false under an oath
required or authorized by law. (2) Knowledge of the materiality of the statement is not an
element of this crime, a.nd the actor's mistaken belief that his statement was not material is not a
defense to a prosecution under this section. (3) Perjury in the first degree is a class B felony."



SER1/ICE DATE
JUN 0 4 2014

WASHINGTON UTILITIES AND TRANSPORTATION COMMISSION

NOTICE OF PENALTIES INCURRED AND DUE
FOR VIOLATIONS OF LAWS AND RULES

PENALTY ASSESSMENT: TV-140952
PENALTY AMOUNT: $1,000

Corporate Moving Systems, Inc.
21620 88th Place S
Kent, WA 9$031

According to Washington Utilities and Transportation Commission (Commission) records, you
have violated Washington Administrative Code (WAC) 480-15-480, which requires household
goods carrier companies to file their annual reports and pay regulatory fees each year by May 1.
You did not file an annual report or pay regulatory fees by May 1, 2014.

Revised Code of Washington (RCVS 81.04.080 authorizes the Commission to assess penalties of
$100 for violations of Commission rules. Each violation is a separate and distinct offense and, in
the case of a continuing violation, every day's continuance is a separate and distinct violation.
The Commission interprets noncompliance with WAC 480-15-480 beyond May 1 as a
continuing violation, and assesses penalties of $100 for each day a company fails to file its report
or pay its regulatory fees after that date.

As a result, the Commission has assessed penalties against you in the amount of $1,000 on the
following basis:

On February 28, 2014, the Commission mailed the 2013 annual report forms and
the 2014 regulatory fee packets to all household goods carrier companies
registered in Washington. The instructions page for the annual report form
instructed these companies to file annual reports and pay regulatory fees by May
1, 2014. The instructions page also stated that failure to file the annual report by
May 1 would result in penalties. The deadline for requesting an extension to file
your annual report was April 17. You did not request an extension.

As of May 15, 2014, Corporate Moving Systems, Inc. has not filed its 2013
annual report or paid its 2014 regulatory fee. May 15 is 10 business days from
May 1, resulting in a total penalty of $1,000..

Your penalty is due and payable now. If you believe the violation did not occur, you may request
a hearing to contest the penalty assessment. The Commission will grant that request only if
material issues of law or fact require consideration of evidence and resolution in a hearing. A
request for a hearing must include a written statement of the reasons supporting that request.
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Failure to provide such a statement will result in denial of the request. If there is a reason for the
violation that you think should excuse or reduce the penalty, you may ask for mitigation
(reduction) of this penalty through evidence presented at a fiearing or in writing. A request for
mitigation must include a written statement of the reasons supporting that request. Failure to
provide such a statement will result in denial of the request. See RCW81.04.405.

If you properly present your request for a hearing and the Commission grants that request, the
Commission will review the evidence supporting your dispute of the violation or application for
mitigation in a Brief Adjudicative Proceeding, before an administrative law judge. The
administrative law judge will consider the evidence and will notify you of his or her decision.

You must act within 15 days after receiving this notice to do one of the following:

Pay the amount due.
Request a hearing to contest the occurrence of the violations.
Request mitigation to contest the amount of the penalty.

Please indicate your selection on the enclosed form and send it to the Washington Utilities and
Transportation Commission, Post Office Box 47250, Olympia, Washington 98504-7250, within
FIFTEEN (15) days after you receive this notice.

If you do not act within 15 days, the Commission may refer this matter to the Office of the
Attorney General for collection, which may file suit in state court to collect the penalty. The
Commission may also initiate proceedings under WAC 480-15-450 to cancel your pernut to
operate as a household goods carrier in Washington.

DATED at Olympia, Washington, and effective June 4, 201'4.

DENNIS J
Administr~ve Law Judge


