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June 11, 2014

Washington Utilities and Transportation Commission

Post Office Box 47250

Olympia, Washington 98504-7250

RE: Big River Telephone Penalty Assessment: UT-140871

To Whom It May Concern:

am writing in regards to the $600 penalty assessed to Big River Telephone for the late filing of our

annual report. We request an application for the mitigation of these penalties. We actually filed our

annual report on the due date of May 15̀ . On May 2"d we received a notice that we were missing the

income statement and that we inadvertently marked the regulatory fee calculation sheet as

"Confidential". We immediately made the necessary corrections and resubmitted the report the same

day, May 2"d. We received a second notice of incompletion on May 6th because we didn't provide a

redacted version of the income statement. We submitted the redacted income statement on May 9 ǹ

We currently have no revenues in Washington. We registered with the state in anticipation of providing

services, but our opportunity did not materialize. Nevertheless we are diligent in our efforts to adhere

to state laws and regulations. Unfortunately our unfamiliarity with the Washington annual report

process, coupled with an administrative oversight caused the aforementioned troubles with our 2013

annual report. We ask that the $600 penalty be waived as a one-time consideration. It is clear that the

actual report was filed on the May 15̀  deadline. With no revenues we had no fee to submit so our report

was a zero filing. While we did have to revise two portions of the report it was not due to any

misstatements or incorrect figures, but rather two formalities, therefore we don't think it is reasonable

to assess $600 in penalties. Because of this we respectfully ask that you please remove this penalty.

You may contact me regarding this matter at (573) 388-3720 or icampbell@bi~rivertelephone.com.

N

Regards, -- -~

~~

Joshua K. Campbell --~

Director of Financial Operations =~
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WASHINGTON UTILITIES AND TRANSPORTATION COMMISSION

PENALTY ASSESSMENT iJT-140871

PLEASE NOTE: You must complete and sign this document, and send it to the Commission
within 15 days after you receive the penalty assessment. Use additional paper if needed.

I have read and understand RCW 9A.72.020 (printed below), which states that making false
statements under oath is a class B felony. I am over the age of 18, am competent to testify to the
matters set forth below and I have personal knowledge of those matters. I hereby make, under -~-
oath, the following statements.

[ ] 1. Payment of penalty. I admit that the violations occurred. I have:

] Enclosed $

[ ]Submitted my payment of $
My confirmation number is _

in payment of the penalty

online at www.utc.wa.gov.

[ ] 2. Request for a hearing. I believe that one or more of the alleged violations did not
occur, for the'reasons I describe below, and I request a hearing based on those reasons
for a decision by an administrative law judge:

~J 3. Application for mitigation. I admit the violations, but I believe that the penalty should
be reduced for the reasons set out below:.

[ ] a) I ask for a hearing to present evidence on the information I provide above to
an administrative law judge for a decision

OR ~( b) I ask for a Commission decision based solely on the information I provide
above.

I declare under penalty of perjury under the laws of the State of Washington that the foregoing,
including information I have presented on any attachments, is true and correct.

Dated: (o ~// ~ S/ [month/day/year], at ~ G:M~.~ . /~~ [city, state]

ur' MC~'~r Ce .0

Name of Respondent (company —please print ignature of Applicant

RCW 9A.72.020:
"Perjury in the first degree. (1) A person is guilty of perjury in the first degree if in any official
proceeding he makes a materially false statement which he knows to be false under an oath
required or authorized by law. (2) Knowledge of the materiality of the statement is not an
element of this crime, and the actor's mistaken belief that his statement was not material is not a
defense to a prosecution under this section. (3) Perjury in the first degree is a class B felony."
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SERVICE DATE

MAY 3 0 2014

WASHINGTON UTILITIES AND TRANSPORTATION COMMISSION

NOTICE OF PENALTIES INCURRED AND DUE
FOR VIOLATIONS OF LAWS AND RULES
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Big River Telephone Company, LLC
24 S. Minnesota Ave.
Cape Girardeau, MO 63703

PENALTY ASSESSMENT: UT-140871
PENALTY AMOUNT: $600

According to Washington Utilities and Transportation Commission (Commission) records, you
have violated Washington Administrative Code (WAC) 480-120-382, which requires
telecommunications companies to file their annual reports and pay regulatory fees each year by
May 1. You did not file an annual report or pay regulatory fees by May 1, 2014.

Revised Code of Washington (RCVS 80.04.080 authorizes the Commission to assess penalties of
$100 for violations of Commission rules. Each violation is a separate and distinct offense and, in
the case of a continuing violation, every day's continuance is a separate and distinct violation.
Tie Commission interprets noncompliance with WAC 480-120-382 beyond May 1 as a
continuing violation, and assesses penalties of $100 for each day a company fails to file its report
or pay its regulatory fees after that date.

As a result, the Commission has assessed penalties against you in the amount of $600 on the
following basis:

On February 28, 2014, the Commission mailed the 2013 annual report forms and
the 2014 regulatory fee packets to all telecommunications companies registered in
Washington. T'he instructions page for the annual report form instructed these
companies to file annual reports and pay regulatory fees by May 1, 2014. The
instructions page also stated that failure to file the annual report by May 1 would
result in penalties. The deadline for requesting an extension to file your. annual
report was April 17. You did not request an extension.

On May 9, 2014, Big River Telephone Company, LLC filed its 2013 annual
report and paid its 2014 regulatory fee. May 9 is 6 business days from May 1,
resulting in a total penalty of $600.

Your penalty is due and payable now. If you believe the violation did not occur, you may request
a hearing to contest the penalty assessment. The Commission will grant that request only if
material issues of law or fact require consideration of evidence and resolution in a hearing. A
request for a hearing must include a written statement of the reasons supporting that request.



PENALTY ASSESSMENT UT-140871 PAGE 2

Failure to provide such a statement will result in denial of the request. If there is a reason for the

violation that you think should excuse or reduce the penalty, you may ask for mitigation
(reduction) of this penalty through evidence presented at a hearing or in writing. A request for
mitigation must include a written statement of the reasons supporting that request. Failure to
provide such a statement will result in denial of the request. See RCW80.04.405.

If you properly present your request for a hearing and the Commission grants that request, the
Commission will review the evidence supporting your dispute of the violation or application for
mitigation in a Brief Adjudicative Proceeding, before an administrative law judge. The
administrative law judge will consider the evidence and will notify you of his or hex decision.

You must act within 15 days after receiving this notice to do one of the following:

Pay the amount due.
Request a hearing to contest the occurrence of the violations.

Request mitigation to contest the amount of the penalty.

Please indicate your selection on the enclosed form and send it to the Washington Utilities and
Transportation Commission, Post Office Box 47250, Olympia, Washington 98504-7250, within
FIFTEEN (15) days after you receive this notice.

If you do not act within 15 days, the Commission may refer this matter to the Office of the
Attorney General for collection, which may file suit in state court to collect the penalty. The
Commission may also initiate proceedings under WAC 480-121-060 to revoke your authority to
provide telecommunications services in Washington.

DATED at Olympia, Washington, and effective May 30, 2014.

GREGORY J. KOPTA
Administrative Law Judge


