
WASHINGTON UTILITIES AND TRANSPORTATION COMMISSION
PENALTY ASSESSMENT TE-131923

PLEASE NOTE: You must complete and sign this document, and send it to the
Commission within 15 days after you receive the penalty assessment. Use additional paper if

needed.

I have read and understand RCW 9A.72.020 (printed below), which states that making false

statements under oath is a class B felony. I am over the age of 18, am competent to testify to

the matters set forth below and I have personal knowledge of those matters. I hereby make,

under oath, the following statements.

[ ] 1. Payment of penalty. I admit that the violation occurred and enclose
$ in payment of the penalty.

[ ] 2. Request for a hearing. I believe that the alleged vialation did not occt~x, basemen

the following information, and request a hearing, which is a process that allows~an

affected person to present argument to an administrative law judge far;a decis by

an administrative law judge: ~~- ~

~-

[ ] 3. Application for mitigation. I admit the violation, but I believe that the penalty

should be reduced for the reasons) set out below,

[~(,] a) I ask for a hearing for a decision by an administrative law judge based on
the information presented above.

OR [ ] b) I waive a hearing and ask for an administrative decision on the information

I present directly above.

I declare under penalty of perjury under the laws of the State of Washington that the
foregoing, including information I have prese ted on any attachments, is true and correct.

Dated: [mont day/ ear], at ::~"~ [ci ,state]

Name of Resp ndent company) —please print ignature of App scan
--

1~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~~ ~~ ~.~~. 7` -------------------------------=---
RCW 9A.72.020:
"Perjury in the first degree. (1) A person is guilty of perjury in the first degree if in any

official proceeding he makes a materially false statement which he knows to be false under

an oath required or authorized by law. (2) Knowledge of the materiality of the statement is

not an element of this crime, and the actor's mistaken belief that his statement was not

material is not a defense to a prosecution under this section. (3) Perjury in the first degree is a

class B felony."
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If you do not act within 15 days, the Commission may refer this matter to the Office of the

Attorney General for collection. The Commission may then sue you to collect the penalty.

DATED at Olympia, Washington, and effective October 15, 2013.

GREGORY J. KOPTA
Director, Administrative Law Division
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• 29 violations of CFR Part 396.11(a) —Failing to require driver to prepare driver
vehicle inspection reports (DVIIZ) (Critical Violation). 2C Captains' drivers fail to
complete written DVIRs at the end of each day or each shift. For the month of August

2013, drivers drove on 29 occasions and should have completed a DVIR for each

drive. This CFR requirement is another regulation considered critical by the FMCSA.
These are also repeat violations. Commission staff provided technical assistance and

noted violations of this CFR during the company's 201^ 0 compliance review. 2C

Captains knew or should have known about this requirement.

• One violation of CFR Part 396.17(a) — Using a commercial vehicle not
periodically inspected. Commercial motor vehicle #450 had not been inspected since

June 2012. This is a repeat violation. Commission staff provided technical assistance

and noted violations of this CFR during the company's 2010 compliance review. 2C
Captains knew or should have known about this requirement.

This information, if proved at a hearing and not rebutted or explained, is sufficient to support

the penalty assessment.

Your penalty is due and payable now. If you believe the violations did not occur, you may

• = ~ request a hearing to contest the penalty assessment. If there is a reason for the violations that

you think should excuse you from the penalty, you may ask for mitigation (reduction) of this

penalty. See RCW 81.04.405.

You have the right to present your request for review or mitigation at a hearing, but you are

not required to do so. If you do, .the Commission will review the evidence supporting your

request in an informal hearing, called a Brief Adjudicative Proceeding, before an

administrative law judge. The administrative law judge will consider your plea and notify

you of his or her decision.

You must act within 15 days after you receive this notice to do one of the following:

• Pay the amount due.

• Request a hearing to contest the occurrence of the violations.

'~ ~ Request mitigation to contest the amount of the penalty.

Please indicate your selection on the enclosed form and send it to the Washington Utilities

and Transportation Commission, Post Office Box 47250, Olympia, Washington 98504-7250,

within FIFTEEN (15) days after you receive this notice.



WASHINGTON UTILITIES AND TRANSPORTATION COMMISSION

NOTICE OF PENALTIES INCURRED AND DUE
FOR VIOLATIONS OF LAWS AND RULES v~T "I ~ ~Q.1~

PENALTY ASSESSMENT': TE-
PENALTY AMO : $7,900

2C CAPTAINS, INC.
DBA LET'S TOUR SEATTLE
1416 SW WEBSTER STREET
SEATTLE, WA 98106

The Washington Utilities and Transportation Commission (Commission) believes that you
have committed one or more violations of Washington Administrative Code (WAC) 480-30-
221, Vehicle and driver safety requirements, which requires passenger transportation
companies to comply with Title 49, Code of Federal Regulations (CFR), including Part 391 -
Qualifications of drivers and Part 396 -Inspection, repair, and maintenance. Revised Code of
Washington (RCW) 81.04.405 allows penalties of one hundred dollars for every such
violation.

_...... ~.,

As a r~tiilt, e Commission h eby notifies you that it has assessed penalties against you in
the ~ino of $7,900; as fol s:

,~

While condo t g ca ompliance review at 2C Captain's, Inc. d/b/a Let's Tour Seattle's (2C
Captains) terminal from September 5 and 18, 2013, Commission Motor Carrier Inspector
Tom McVaugh documented the following violations:

• 47 violations of CFR Part 391.45(b)(1) — Using a driver not medically examined
anc~ certified during the preceding 24 months. Company driver Dick Falkenbury's

-~` medical certificate expired on Apri121, 2013, and was not renewed until September 6,
2013. Mr. Falkenbury drove on 47 occasions during that time period without medical
certification.

• Two violations of CFR Part 396.3(b) —Failing to keep minimum records of
inspection and vehicle maintenance (Critical Violation). 2C Captains fails to
maintain any written inspection, repair or maintenance records, including due dates
and nature of noted inspections or repairs for either of its buses. This CFR
requirement is considered a "critical" regulation by the Federal Motor carrier Safety
Administration (FMCSA). Patterns ofnon-compliance with critical regulations are
quantitatively linked to inadequate safety management controls and usually higher-
than-average .accident rates.l

' Appendix B to CFR Part 385—Explanation of safety rating process: httq://www.fmcsa.dot.aov/rules-
resulationsladministration/fmcsr/fmcsrru letext.aspx?contented=1556



Sunday 27 October 2013 ~fi'S I o ~ r ~j ~o~ttl~ ~

Gregory J Kopta - - Fv~.
Director, Administrative law Division
Washington Utilities &Transportation Commission
1300 S. Evergreen Park Dr. S.W., PO Box 47250 ~,
Olympia, WA 98504-7250 ~ ~

I opened three envelops from the UTC on Sunday 27 October and read the contents of two. These.:
envelops arrived at my home during my absence. ~

.~--

One envelope dated 06 October contains 8 pages of forms, which I am trying to understand, but feel the
need to respond to the other two as quickly as possible.

A second envelope, post mazked October 15 2013, contains a notice of penalties incurred and due in the
amount of $7,900.On the back of the second page is a form I have completed and am returning with this
letter requesting a hearing within 15 days of the "Service Date"

A third envelop, post marked October 15 2013, was sent via Certified Mail and signed for by my sister,
who was house setting during my absence. Its contents are identical to the contents of the second
envelope in that it also contains a "NOTICE OF PENALTIES INCURRED AND DUE FOR
VIOLATIONS OF LAW AND RULES".

As to the first point: Yes Dick Falkenbury did drive with a valid CDL from 21 April to 06
September. While renewing the Insurance on LTS coaches I asked him to go to the Work Clinic (1303
Military Road So.) because his last review by them was 10/11/2012. He told me that he had received a
letter from the Department of Motor Vehicles informing him that he could renew his CDL without a
renewal of his medical certificate if he was only driving intrastate. I asked him to make a copy of the
letter as I also was having difficulty understand recent changes in regulations while hying to get one of
my buses inspected. I was told that the State Patrol was doing the inspections now, which they were not.
I believe some mitigation might be appropriate on this issue.

As to the second point: We do keep records of all vehicle maintenance.
I presented Mr. Mc Vaugh with a folder that contained the vehicle maintenance log for both the E350
(14 passenger) and the E450 (22 passenger). He and his colleague did not accept it. The folder contains
a printed list of all bills for each bus for the year 2013, kept for tax purposes, printed directly from our
log book on the computer with the date that bill was paid for service by EK Coaches, Horizon Ford, and
Les Schwab. These bills are far more detailed than I can re-write to a form and show clearly that these
coaches were seen by a professional garage every month. These mechanics inspect the buses thoroughly
to let me know what they think should be done as they want me to pay for more service.

PO Box 46715 •Seattle WA 98146-0715
206.632.1447 •info@letstourseattle.com



As to the third point: Our two vehicles are inspected each time I give the keys to a driver. The

driver and I usually walk around the bus and I ask about any needed prevented maintenance,

especially brakes. We sweep it out and wipe down the seats and windows before the coach

leaves to pick up the first customer.

As to the forth point: the E450 was purchased from EK Coaches in 2012 and Inspected by

them in 2012. I had several issues with this recent purchase I took it back to EK Coaches several

times. Their inspection certificate is in the maintenance file and a certificate is glued onto the

door jam in the coach.

was told, and am still under the impression, that an inspection is good for 2 years.

This letter is attached to the PENALTY ASSESSMENT TE-131923.

Sincere ,,

~~f;~1
Charles E Russell

Owner of 2C Captains

DBA Let's Tour Seattle


