SERVICE DATE
APR 15 201

WASHINGTON UTILITIES AND TRANSPORTATION COMMISSION

NOTICE OF PENALTIES INCURRED AND DUE
FOR VIOLATIONS OF LAWS AND RULES

S PR

PENALTY ASSESSMENT: TV-110656
PENALTY AMOUNT: $500

MOVING AND STORAGE SOLUTIONS, INC. JEP
1365 STONEGATE WAY gCE\ .
FERNDALE, WA 98248 RE et

The commission believes that you have committed one or more violations of ﬂg‘ﬁrﬁgw\\l\
Administrative Code (WAC) 480-15-570, which requires household go@. S to

comply with parts of Title 49, Code of Federal Regulations (CFR), including Title 49, Code

of Federal Regulations (CFR), Part 382, which governs controlled substance and alcohol use
and testing. Revised Code of Washington (RCW) 81.04.530 allows penalties of up to five
hundred dollars for every such violation.

. As aresult, the commission hereby notifies you that it has assessed penalties against you 1n
the amount of $500, as follows :

On April 5 and 6, 2011, Motor Carrier Safety Inspector Ray Gardner conducted a compli.ance
review inspection on Moving & Storage Solutions. Mr. Gardner found:

e One violation of CFR Part 382.301(a), which requires companies to ensure each
driver receives a negative pre-employment controlled substance test result.
(Employee Chad Luna drove prior to having received a pre-employment
controlled substance test.)

This information, if proved at a hearing and not rebutted or explained, is sufficient to support
the penalty assessment. -

Your penalty is due and payable now. If you believe the violations did not occur, you may
request a hearing to contest the penalty assessment. If there is a reason for the violations that
you think should excuse you from the penalty, you may ask for m1t1gat10n (reduction) of this
penalty. See RCW 81.04.405.

You have the right to present your request for review or mitigation at a hearing, but you are
not required to do so. If you do, the commission will review the evidence supporting your
request in an informal hearing, called a Brief Adjudicative Proceeding, before an _
administrative law judge. The administrative law judge will consider your plea and notlfy

- you of his or her de01510n



WASHINGTON UTILITIES AND TRANSPORTATION COMMISSION
PENALTY ASSESSMENT TV-110656

PLEASE NOTE: You must coniplete and sign this document, and send it to the
Commission within 15 days after you receive the penalty assessment. Use additional paper if
needed. :

I have read and understand RCW 9A.72.020 (printed below), which states that making false
statements under oath is a class B felony. I am over the age of 18, am competent to testify to
the matters set forth below and I have personal knowledge of those matters. I hereby make,
under oath, the following statements.

[ ] 1. Payment of penalty. I admit that the violation occurred and enclose $500 in
payment of the penalty. :

[ 12. Request for a hearing, I believe that the alleged violation did not occur, based on
the following information, and request a hearing for a decision by an administrative
law judge: :

[x] 3. Application for mitigation. I admit the violation, but I believe that the penalty
should be reduced for the reason(s) set out below, 4. sdeched { orp

[ ] a) Iask fora hearing for a decision by an administrative law judge
OR [ ] b) Twaive a hearing and ask for an administrative decision on the information
I present directly above.

I declare under penalty of perjury under the laws of the State of Washington that the
foregoing, including information I have presented on any attachments, is true and correct.

Ferndecle i dh, 9E3L4E
Dated: 'L/ Q—a -/ / [month/day/year], at /945’ Sbn:;z—la fvn\ [city, state]

/7791/:7( éaf)(/é Qfo(wx, 5114/1’)/) ) : /%i’"ﬂ%/fn[_ @P—'

Name ofRespondent (Company) — please print Signature of Aﬁphcar{t

RCW 9A.72.020:

“Perjury in the first degree. (1) A person is guilty of perjury in the first degree if in any
official proceeding he makes a materially false statement which he knows to be false under
an oath required or authorized by law. (2) Knowledge of the materiality of the statement is

' not an element of this crime, and the actor’s mistaken belief that his statement was not
material is not a defense to a prosecution under this section. (3) Perjury in the first degree is a

class B felony.”



To whom it mat concern, 4/22/11

This is our response letter concerning our penalty
assessment # TV-110656.

We as a rapidly growing company were unaware that we
had to do a pre employment ourselves as all of our class a
driver’s are to be under our carrier as a driver and they
require a drug test. This is only the second class a driver
that we have hired and we have no issues with drug testing
prior to there hire date, we were simply not aware that this
needed to be done. In the future all C.D.L. drivers hired at
this company will be required to complete a pre
employment drug test. That being said we would like to
request that the penalty amount of $500 that follows this
violation be waived this one time. Thank you for your
assistance with this issue.

Thomas Leeper,
o ) £
Operations Manager
Moving and Storage Solutions
(360)676-5267



