March 1, 2010
Mike Kelly
VIP Party Bus, LLC
2623-B Euclid Avenue
Wenatchee, Washington  98801
RE:  Penalty Assessment TE-100195
Dear Mr. Kelly:
A review of Washington Utilities and Transportation Commission (commission) records indicates that you have not remitted payment for the enclosed Notice of Penalties dated February 5, 2010.
If we do not receive your $100 payment by March 8, 2010, the commission will consider additional sanctions. In addition, we will refer the matter to the Office of the Attorney General for collection.

For questions regarding this matter, please contact Betty Young, Compliance Investigator. Ms. Young can be reached at (360) 664-1202, or by e-mail at byoung@utc.wa.gov.

Sincerely,

David W. Danner

Executive Director and Secretary

Enclosure
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NOTICE OF PENALTIES INCURRED AND DUE
FOR VIOLATIONS OF LAWS AND RULES

PENALTY ASSESSMENT: TE-100195
PENALTY AMOUNT: $100

VIP PARTY BUS, LLC
2623-B EUCLID AVE
'WENATCHEE, WA 98801

The Washington Utilities and Transportation Commission (Commission) belicves that you have
committed one or more violations of Washington Administrative Code (WAC) 480-30-221,
Vehicle and driver safety requirements, which requires passenger charter carriers to comply with
Title 49, Code of Federal Regulations (CER), including Part 391, which governs qualification of
drivers. Revised Code of Washington (RCW) 81.04.405 allows penalties of up to one hundred
dollars for every such violation.

As a result, the Commission hereby notifies you that it has assessed penalties against you in the
amount of $100, s follows

On January 22 and 23, 2010, Commission Motor Carrier Investigator Rick Smith completed a
new cntrant compliance review of VIP Party Bus, LLC and identified the following violation:

*  One violation of WAC 480-30-221, which adopts by reference Title 49, CFR Part
391.45(a), using a driver not medically examined and certified.

‘This information, if proved at a hearing and not rebutted or explained, is sufficient to support the
penalty assessment.

Your penalty is due and payable now. If you believe the violations did not occur, you may
request a hearing to contest the penalty assessment, If there is a reason for the violations that you
think should excuse you from the penalty, you may ask for mitigation (reduction) of this penalty.
See RCW 81.04.405.

‘You have the right to present your request for review or mitigation at a hearing, but you are not
required to do so. If you do, the Commission will review the evidence supporting your request in
an informal hearing, called a Brief Adjudicative Proceeding, before an administrative law judge.
‘The administrative law judge will consider your plea and notify you of his or her decision.




[image: image2.png]PENALTY ASSESSMENT TE-100195 PAGE2

You must aet within 15 days after recciving this notice to do onc of the following:

« Pay the amount duc.
« Requesta hearing to contest the occurrence of the violations.
* Request mitigation to contest the amount of the penalty.

Please indicate your selection on the enclosed form and send it to the Washington Utilities and
Transportation Commission, Post Office Box 47250, Olympia, Washington 98504-7250, within
FIFTEEN (15) days after you receive this notice.

If you do not act within 15 days, the Commission may refer this matter to the Office of the
Attorney General for collection. The Commission may then sue you to collect the penalty.

DATED at Olympia, Washington, and effective February 5, 2010,

A2l Loty

ANN E. RENDAHL
Administrative Law Judge
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PENALTY ASSESSMENT TE-100195

PLEASE NOTE: You must complete and sign this document, and send it o the Commission
within 15 days efter you reccive the penalty assessment. Use additional paper if needed.

T have read and understand RCW 9A.72.020 (printed below), which states that making false
statements under oath is a class B felony. ] am over the age of 18, am competent to testify to the
matters set forth below and 1 have personal knowledge of those matters. I hercby make, under
oath, the following statements.

[ 1 1. Payment of penalty. T admit that the violations occurred and enclose $100 in payment
of the penalty.

[ 12 Requestfor a hearing. I believe that the alleged violations did not oceur, based on the
following information, and request a hearing for a decision by an administrative law
judge:

[ 13. Application for mitigation. T admit the violation, but I believe that the penalty should
be reduced for the reason(s) st out below.
[ ] ) !ask for a hearing for a decision by an administrative law judge
OR [ ] b)Iwaivea hearing and ask for an administrative decision on the information
Ipresent here:

Ideclare under penalty of perjury under the laws of the State of Washington that the foregoing,
including information I have presented on any attachments, is true and correct,

Dated: [month/day/ycar], at [eity, state]

Name of Respondent (company) — please print Signature of Applicant

RCW 9A.72.020:
“Perjury in the first degree. (1) A person is guilty of perjury in the first degree ifin any official
proceeding he makes a materially false statement which he knows to be false under an oath
required or authorized by law. (2) Knowledge of the materiality of the statement is not an
element of this crime, and the actor’s mistaken belicf that his statement was not material is not
defense o a prosecution under this section. (3) Perjury in the first degree s a class B felony.”











