STATE OF WASHINGTON
WASHINGTON UTILITIES AND TRANSPORTATION COMMISSION

1300 S. Evergreen Park Dr. 8.W., PO. Box 47250 » Olympia, Washington 98504-7250
(360) 664-1760 » TTY (360) 586-8203

January 26, 2010

Joel Mensonides, General Manager
Customized Tours & Charters, LLC
22001 Pacific Highway South, Suite 112
Des Moines, WA 98198

RE: Corrected Notice of Penalties — Penalty Assessment TE-091968
Dear Mr. Mensonides:

The Washington Utilities and Transportation Commission (Commission) issued a Notice of
Penalties Incurred and Due for Violations of Laws and Rules (penalty assessment) to
Customized Tours & Charters, LL.C (Customized Tours) on January 25, 2010. The penalty
assessment contained a typographical error related to the specific part of the Code of Federal
Regulations (CFR) cited.

The January 25 penalty assessment listed the following violation:

* Two violations of WAC 480-30-221, which adopts by reference Title 49, CFR Part
395.45(b)(1), using a driver not medically examined and certified during the
preceding 24 months. (Employee Cory Mix drove on two occasions with an expired
medical certificate.)

"The correct CFR Part for this violation is 391.45(b)(1). A copy of the corrected penalty
assessment is enclosed. Please respond within 15 days of receipt, as directed in the assessment.

If you have any questlons please contact Betty Young at 664-1202, or by e-ma:d at
byoung(@utc.wa.gov.

Sincerely,

As@ s

ANN E. RENDAHL
Administrative Law Judge

Enclosures



WASHINGTON UTILITIES AND TRANSPORTATION COMMISSION
NOTICE OF PENALTIES INCURRED AND DUE
FOR VIOLATIONS OF LAWS AND RULES

CORRECTED PENALTY ASSESSMENT: TE-091968
PENALTY AMOUNT: $200

CHARTER PARTY CARRIER OF PASSENGERS:
Customized Tours & Charters, LLC :
22001 Pacific Highway South, Suite 112

Des Moines, WA 98198

The Washington Utilities and Transportation Commission (Commission) believes that you have
committed one or more violations of Washington Administrative Code (WAC) 480-30-221,
Vehicle and driver safety requirements, which requires passenger charter carriers to comply with -
Title 49, Code of Federal Regulations (CFR), including Part 391, which governs qualification of
drivers. Revised Code of Washington (RCW) 81.04.405 allows penalties of up to one hundred
dollars for every such violation.

As a result, the Commission hereby notifies you that it has assessed penalties against you in the
amount of $200, as follows:

On December 16, 2009, Commission Motor Carrier investigator Tom McVaugh completed a
compliance review of Customized Tours and Charters, LLC (Customized Tours) and identified
the following violations: :

» Two violations of WAC 480-30-221, which adopts by reference Title 49, CFR Part
391.45(b)(1), using a driver not medically examined and certified during the
preceding 24 months. (Employee Cory Mix drove on two occasions with an expired
medical certificate.) '

‘This information, if proved at a hearing and not rebutted or explamed is sufficient to support the
penalty assessment.

Your penalty is due and payable now. If you believe the violations did not occur, you may
‘request a hearing to contest the penalty assessment. If there is a reason for the violations that you
think should excuse you from the penalty, you may ask for mitigation (reductmn) of this penalty

See RCW 81.04.405.

You have the right to present your request for review or mitigation at a hearing, but you are not
required to do so. If you do, the Commission will review the evidence supporting your request in
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an informal hearing, called a Brief Adjudicative Proceeding, before an administrative law judge.
The administrative law judge will consider your plea and notify you of his or her decision.

You must act within 15 days after receiving this notice to do one of the following:

-o  Pay the amount due.
» Request a hearing to contest the occurrence of the violations.
* Request mitigation to contest the amount of the penalty.

Please indicate your selection on the enclosed form and send it to the Washington Utilities and
Transportation Commission, Post Office Box 47250, Olympia, Washington 98504-7250, W1thm
FIFTEEN (15) days after you receive this notice.

If you do not act within 15 days, the Commission may refer this matter to the Office of the
Attorney General for collection. The Commission may then sue you to collect the penalty.

DATED at Olympia, Washington, and effective J anuary 26, 2010,

s @ Lol

ANN E. RENDAHL
Administrative Law Judge



WASHINGTON UTILITIES AND TRANSPORTATION COMMISSION

PENALTY ASSESSMENT TE-091968

PLEASE NOTE: You must complete and sign this document, and send it to the Commission
within 15 days after you receive the penalty assessment. Use additional paper if needed.

- I'have read and understand RCW 9A.72.020 (printed below), which states that making false
statements under oath is a class B felony. I am over the age of 18, am competent to testify to the
matters set forth below and I have personal knowledge of those matters. I hereby make, under
oath, the following statements.

[ ] 1. Payment of penalty. I admit that the violations occurred and enclose $200 in payment
of the penalty,

[ 1 2. Request for a hearing. I believe that the alleged violations did not occur, based on the
following information, and request a hearmg for a decision by an administrative law
judge:

~ [ ] 3. Application for mitigation. I admit the violation, but I believe that the penalty should
be reduced for the reason(s) set out below,
[ 1 a)Iask forahearing for a decision by an administrative law judge
OR [ 1 b)Iwaive a hearing and ask for an administrative decision on the information
I presen’{ here:

I declare under penalty of perjury under the laws of the State of Washington that the foregoing,
including information I have presented on any attachments, is true and correct. "

Dated: _ fmonth/day/year], at __ | [city, state]
Name of Respondent (company) — please print Signature of Applicant -
RCW 9A.72.020:

“Perjury in the first degree. (1) A person is gullty of perjury in the first degree if in any official
proceeding he makes a materially false statement which he knows to be false under an oath :
required or authorized by law. (2) Knowledge of the materiality of the statement is not an
element of this crime, and the actor’s mistaken belief that his statement was not material is not a
defense to a prosecution under this section. (3) Perjury in the first degree is a class B felony.”



