WASHINGTON UTILITIES AND TRANSPORTATION COMMISSION

NOTICE OF PENALTIES INCURRED AND DUE FOR VIOLATIONS
OF LAWS AND RULES

PENALTY ASSESSMENT: UT-090441
PENALTY AMOUNT: $18,000

NORTHSTAR TELECOM, INC.
445 HAMILTON AVENUE, SUITE 408
WHITE PLAINS, NY 10601

The Washington Utilities and Transportation Commission (Commission) believes that you
have committed violations of Commission rules; specifically Washington Administrative
Code (WAC) 480-120-166(6), which requires a telecommunications company to report the
results of its investigation of service-affecting informal complaints to Commission staff
within two business days from the date Commission staff passes the complaint to the
company; WAC 480-120-166(7) which requires a telecommunications company to report the
results of its investigation of nonservice-affecting informal complaints to Commission staff
within five business days from the date Commission staff passes the complaint to the
company; and WAC 480-120-166(8) which requires telecommunications companies, unless
another time is specified in the rule or unless Commission staff specifies a later date, to
provide complete responses to requests from Commission staff for additional information on
pending informal complaints within three business days. Note that each day the company
failed to respond is a separate and distinct violation.

In accordance with Revised Code of Washington (RCW) 80.04.405, the Commission hereby
notifies you that it has assessed penalties against you in the amount of $18,000.

The basis for the penalty assessment is as follows:

e In complaint 102704, staff recorded two violations of WAC 480-120-166(7).

In complaint 103151, staff recorded five violations of WAC 480-120-166(7).

In complaint 102975, staff recorded 11 violations of WAC 480-120-166(7), and eight
violations of WAC 480-120-166(8).

In complaint 103880, staff recorded 27 violations of WAC 480-120-166(8).

In complaint 104277, staff recorded 70 violations of WAC 480-120-166(8).

In complaint 104560, staff recorded 15 violations of WAC 480-120-166(7).

In complaint 105034, staff recorded 32 violations of WAC 480-120—166(7) and six
violations of WAC 480-120-166(8).

¢ In complaint 105209, staff recorded four violations of WAC 480 120-166(6).



PENALTY ASSESSMENT UT-090441 PAGE 2

This information, if proved at a hearing and not rebutted or explained, is sufficient to support
the penalty assessment.

Your penalty is due and payable now. If you believe the violations did not occur, you may
request a hearing to contest the peralty assessment. If there is a reason for the violations that
you think should excuse you from the penalty, you may ask for mitigation (reduction) of this
penalty. See RCW 81.04.405.

You have the right to present your request for review or mitigation at a hearing, but you are
not required to do so. If you do, the Commission will review the evidence supporting your
request in a hearing before an administrative law judge. The administrative law Judge will
consider your plea and notify you of his or her decision.

- You must act within 15 days after receiving this notice to do one of the following:

¢ Pay the amount due.
¢ Request a hearing to contest the occurrence of the violations.
® Request mitigation to contest the amount of the penalty.

Please indicate your selection on the enclosed form and send it to the Washington Utilities
and Transportation Commission, Post Office Box 47250, Olympia, Washington 98504-7250,
within FIFTEEN (15) days after you receive this notice.

If you do not act within 15 days, the Commission may refer this matter to the Office of the
Attorney General for collection. The Commission may then sue you to collect the penalty.

DATED at Olympia, Washington, and effective April 20, 2009.

A5

ANN E. RENDAHL
Administrative Law Judge
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PLEASE NOTE: You must complete and sign this document, and send it to the Commission
within 15 days after you receive the penalty assessment. Use additional paper if needed.

I have read and understand RCW 9A.72.020 (printed below), which states that making false
statements under oath is a class B felony. I am over the age of 18, am competent to testify to
the matters set forth below and I have personal knowledge of those matters. I hereby make,
under oath, the following statements.

. ayment of penalty. 1 aamit that the violation occurred and enclose s in
[]11. P f Ity. I admit that the violati d and enclose $18,000 i
payment of the penalty.

[ ] 2. Request for a hearing. I believe that the alleged violation did not occut, based on
~ the following information, and request a hearing for a decision by an administrative
law judge:

[ ] 3. Application for mitigation. I admit the violation, but I believe that the penalty
should be reduced for the reason(s) set out below:

[ 1 a) Iask for ahearing for a decision by an administrative law judge
OR [ ] b) Iwaive ahearing and ask for an administrative decision on the information
I present above,

I declare under penalty of perjury under the laws of the State of Washington that the
foregoing, including information I have presented on any attachments, is true and correct.

Dated: [month/day/year], at _ [city, state]
Name of Respondent (company) — please print Signature of Applicant
RCW 9A.72.020:

“Perjury in the first degree. (1) A person is guilty of perjury in the first degree if in any

_official proceeding he makes a materially false statement which he knows to be false under
an oath required or authorized by law. (2) Knowledge of the materiality of the statement is
not an element of this crime, and the actor’s mistaken belief that his statement was not
material is not a defense to a prosecution under this section. (3) Perjury in the first degree is a
class B felony.” '




