#### WASHINGTON UTILITIES AND TRANSPORTATION COMMISSION

# NOTICE OF PENALTIES INCURRED AND DUE FOR VIOLATIONS OF LAWS AND RULES

PENALTY ASSESSMENT NO: TV-070463 PENALTY AMOUNT: \$1,500

HOUSEHOLD GOODS CARRIER: Miracle Movers, Inc. P.O. Box 75565 Seattle, WA 98175

The commission believes that you have committed a violation of Revised Code of Washington (RCW) 81.80.070 by transporting household goods for compensation on the public highways of the state of Washington without the necessary permit required for such operations. RCW 81.80.070(4) allows penalties of \$1,500 for every such violation.

As a result, the commission hereby notifies you that it has assessed penalties against you in the amount \$1,500, as follows:

The commission has evidence that on March 1, 2006, Miracle Movers transported household goods from a residence in Sammamish to a residence on Mercer Island. Miracle Movers charged \$445.88 for performing the March 1, 2006, move. Miracle Movers has never held a permit from the commission and is therefore not authorized to transport household goods for compensation on the public highways of Washington.

This information, if proved at a hearing and not rebutted or explained, is sufficient to support the penalty assessment.

Your penalty is due and payable now. If you believe the violations did not occur, you may request a hearing to contest the penalty assessment. If there is a reason for the violations that you think should excuse you from the penalty, you may ask for mitigation (reduction) of this penalty. See RCW 81.04.405.

You have the right to present your request for review or mitigation at a hearing, but you are not required to do so. If you do, the commission will review the evidence supporting your request in a hearing before an administrative law judge. The administrative law judge will consider your plea and notify you of his or her decision.

## You must act within 15 days after receiving this notice to do one of the following:

- Pay the amount due.
- Request a hearing to contest the occurrence of the violations.
- Request mitigation to contest the amount of the penalty.

Please indicate your selection on the enclosed form and send it to the Washington Utilities and Transportation Commission, Post Office Box 47250, Olympia, Washington 98504-7250, within FIFTEEN (15) days after you receive this notice.

If you do not act within 15 days, the commission may refer this matter to the Office of the Attorney General for collection. The commission may then sue you to collect the penalty.

DATED at Olympia, Washington, and effective March 16, 2007.

\_\_\_\_\_

Ann E. Rendahl Administrative Law Judge

#### WASHINGTON UTILITIES AND TRANSPORTATION COMMISSION

#### PENALTY ASSESSMENT, Docket TV-070463

**PLEASE NOTE:** You must complete and sign this document, and send it to the Commission within 15 days after you receive the penalty assessment. Use additional paper if needed.

I have read and understand RCW 9A.72.020 (printed below), which states that making false statements under oath is a class B felony. I am over the age of 18, am competent to testify to the matters set forth below and I have personal knowledge of those matters. I hereby make, under oath, the following statements.

[ ] 1.	<b>Payment of penalty.</b> I admit that the violations occurred and enclose \$1,500 in payment of the penalty.
[ ] 2.	<b>Request for a hearing.</b> I believe that the alleged violations did not occur, based on the following information, and request a hearing for a decision by an administrative law judge:
[ ] 3.	<b>Application for mitigation.</b> I admit the violations, but I believe that the penalty should be reduced for the reason(s) set out below.
OR	<ul> <li>[ ] a) I ask for a hearing for a decision by an administrative law judge.</li> <li>[ ] b) I waive a hearing and ask for an administrative decision on the information I present here.</li> </ul>
	e under penalty of perjury under the laws of the State of Washington that the ag, including information I have presented on any attachments, is true and correct.
Dated: _ state]	[month/day/year], at[city,
	f Respondent (company) – please print  Signature of Applicant

### RCW 9A.72.020:

"Perjury in the first degree. (1) A person is guilty of perjury in the first degree if in any official proceeding he makes a materially false statement which he knows to be false under an oath required or authorized by law. (2) Knowledge of the materiality of the statement is not an element of this crime, and the actor's mistaken belief that his statement was not material is not a defense to a prosecution under this section. (3) Perjury in the first degree is a class B felony."