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PENALTY ASSESSMENT: DG-250550
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UBIL: 603-125-321
John Day Phone: (425) 888-1596
Fury Site Works, Inc.
PO Box 2118

North Bend, WA 98045-2118
Emma@furysiteworks.com

YOU MUST RESPOND WITHIN 15 DAYS OF THIS NOTICE

The Washington Utilities and Transportation Commission (Commission) believes that Fury Site
Works, Inc. (Fury Site Works or Company) violated Revised Code of Washington (RCW)
19.122.055(1)(a) by failing to notify the one-number locate service and causing damage to an
underground gas facility.

RCW 19.122.055(1)(a) states, in part, that excavators who fail to notify a one-number locator
service and cause damage to an underground gas facility are subject to a civil penalty of not more
than $10,000 for each violation.

Commission staff (Staff) conducted an investigation that included reviewing damage reports,
investigation reports, the One Call Center database, and communications with the Company. The
documents reviewed identified a natural gas event that involved Fury Site Works damaging a
natural gas facility while excavating without a valid locate ticket.

The Commission reviewed findings and recommendations made by Staff and hereby notifies you
that it is assessing a $1,000 penalty (Penalty Assessment) against you on the following grounds:

1. Alleged Violation:
On March 31, 2025, Fury Site Works was excavating at 4220 163 Avenue Southeast,
Bellevue, Washington. While excavating, Fury Site Works workers struck and damaged an
underground Puget Sound Energy (PSE) natural gas facility. The Damage Information
Reporting Tool (DIRT) report submitted by PSE on May 12, 2025, indicated that Fury Site
Works was excavating without a valid request to locate underground utilities.

2. Analysis:
The alleged violation concerns RCW 19.122.055(1)(a), which states, in part, that an
excavator must contact the one-number locate center before beginning excavation. On June
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27,2025, PSE responded to Staff and provided numerous documents and photographs
related to the damage to the gas line. PSE provided the Gas First Responder (GFR) report,
which documented that Fury Site Works was digging a trench line for a new water main
install and had dug outside the locate area with a backhoe. The GFR report noted that the
Company damaged the steel wrap of a %” gas line. The ELM report provided by PSE
confirmed the information in the GFR report and included photographs of the damage. The
ELM also noted that the Company did not have a valid locate ticket for the address.

Staff communicated with Fury Site Works, and in an email dated July 10, 2025, the
Company noted that it was not attempting to be malicious, and the damage was due to a
clerical mistake. Fury Site Works identified an area containing white paint from two prior
locate tickets that were requested (#25091005 and #25091001). The locate tickets overlap
in the area of the address 4220 163rd Avenue Southeast, Bellevue, WA and the Company
provided attachments showing the polygons for the locate sites. Fury Site Works noted that
when it realized a locate had not been called in to extend the work north along 163rd
Avenue Southeast, a locate was then requested (#25120785).

Included in Fury Site Works email response, the Company noted that PSE’s locator was
late in locating ticket #25091001. Additionally, the positive response for ticket #25120785
indicated as unlocatable gas in the area, which was not communicated by PSE to Fury Site
Works. Staff informed Fury Site Works that if it believed PSE violated the Dig Law, it
could file a complaint with the Washington Dig Law Safety Committee.

Staff searched the Washington One Call System database and confirmed that locate tickets
#25091005 and #25091001 did not include the damage address at 4220 163" Avenue
Southeast. Staff also found that locate ticket #25120785 was called in on March 31, 2025,
which was the date of the damage.

The Commission considered the following factors in determining the appropriate penalty amount
for the violation:

1.

How serious or harmful the violation is to the public.

This incident could have been significantly more harmful to Fury Site Works workers,
utility technicians, nearby homeowners, and the public, and it could have resulted in severe
injury and/or loss of property.

Whether the violation is intentional.

The violation appears to be due to negligence rather than a lack of knowledge of
Washington State’s Dig Law. Over the past 12 months, Fury Site Works has submitted 354
requests to the One Call Center for locates. This demonstrates Fury Site Works’ knowledge
of requirements and its responsibility to contact the one-number locate service before
beginning excavation.

Whether the company self-reported the violation.
Fury Site Works did not self-report the violation. The Commission became aware of the
violation when PSE filed a DIRT report.
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4. The likelihood of recurrence.
The likelihood of recurrence depends on the Company’s actions going forward and its
willingness to notify the one-number locate service every time before beginning
excavation.

5. The Company’s previous Warning Letter.
On March 10, 2020, the Commission mailed an Alleged Violation of Washington Dig Law
letter to Fury Site Works. The letter included detailed information about Washington
State’s Underground Utility Damage Prevention Act, requirements for submitting utility
locate requests before excavating, and the possibility of penalties for each violation. The
Commission mailed the letter after receiving a report of damage caused by Fury Site Works
on September 6, 2019, that occurred because the Company failed to submit a request to
locate underground utilities before excavating.

The Commission has considered these factors and determined that it should penalize Fury Site
Works as follows:

e $1,000 penalty for one violation of RCW 19.122.055(1)(a) with an offer to suspend an
$800 portion of the penalty for one year, and then waive it, subject to the conditions that:

1) Company management and field crew responsible for excavation complete Dig Safe
Training provided through the National Utility Contractors Association (NUCA)
within 90 days of this Penalty Assessment;

2) The Company must submit documentation of training completion to the Commission;
and

3) The Company must not commit any further violations of RCW 19.122 within 12
months of the date of this Penalty Assessment.

These facts, if proven at a hearing and not rebutted or explained, are sufficient to support the
Penalty Assessment.

Your penalty is due and payable now. If you believe the violation did not occur, you may deny
committing the violation and contest the penalty through evidence presented at a hearing or in
writing. Or, if there is a reason for the violation that you believe should excuse you from the
penalty, you may ask for mitigation (reduction) of the penalty through evidence presented at a
hearing or in writing. The Commission will grant a request for a hearing only if material issues of
law or fact require consideration of evidence and resolution in a hearing. Any request to contest
the violation or for mitigation of the penalty must include a written statement of the reasons

supporting that request. Failure to provide such a statement will result in denial of the request. See
RCW 81.04.405.

If you properly present your request for a hearing and the Commission grants that request, the
Commission will review the evidence supporting your dispute of the violation or application for
mitigation in a Brief Adjudicative Proceeding before an administrative law judge. The
administrative law judge will consider the evidence and will notify you of their decision.
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You must act within 15 days after receiving this Penalty Assessment to do one of the
following:

o Pay the $1,000 penalty amount due; or
e Pay $200 and notify the Commission that you accept the offer to suspend an $800 portion
of the penalty amount subject to the following conditions:

o Company management and field crew responsible for excavation must complete
NUCA Dig Safe Training (https://utc-9183.quickbase.com/db/bpkt6évndh) within 90
days of service of this Penalty Assessment; and

o0 The Company must submit documentation of training completion to the
Commission; and

o The Company must not incur any additional violations of RCW 19.122 within 12
months of the date of this Penalty Assessment; or

¢ Request a hearing to contest the occurrence of the violations; or
e Request mitigation to reduce the amount of the penalty.

Please indicate your selection on the enclosed form and submit it electronically through the
Commission’s web portal at https:/efiling.utc.wa.gov/Form within FIFTEEN (15) days after you
receive this Penalty Assessment. If you are unable to use the web portal, you may submit it via
email to records@utc.wa.gov. If you are unable to submit the form electronically, you may send a
paper copy to the Washington Utilities and Transportation Commission, PO Box 47250, Olympia,
Washington 98504-7250.

If you wish to make your payment online, please use this link: Make a Payment Now (wa.gov).!

If you do not act within 15 days, the Commission may refer this matter to the Office of the
Attorney General for collection.

DATED at Lacey, Washington, and effective July 28, 2025.
[s/Connor Thompson

CONNOR THOMPSON
Director, Administrative Law Division

! https//www.utc.wa.gov/documents-and-proceedings/online-payments/make-payment-now.




PENALTY ASSESSMENT DG-250550 PAGE 5

WASHINGTON UTILITIES AND TRANSPORTATION COMMISSION
PENALTY ASSESSMENT DG-250550 Investigation # 9112

PLEASE NOTE: You must complete and sign this document and send it to the Commission
within 15 days after you receive the Penalty Assessment. Use additional paper if needed.

I have read and understand RCW 9A.72.020 (printed below), which states that making false
statements under oath is a class B felony. I am over the age of 18, competent to testify to the
matters set forth below and I have personal knowledge of those matters. I hereby make, under
oath, the following statements:

lzll. Payment of penalty. I admit that the violation occurred:

Enclose $1,000 in payment of the penalty.

OR | vAttest that I have paid the penalty in full through the Commission’s payment
portal.

I___I 2. Accept conditions. I admit that the violation occurred and enclose $200 toward the
payment of the penalty. I also accept the Commission’s offer to suspend, and
ultimately waive, the remaining $800 penalty amount subject to the following
conditions:

o Company management and field crew responsible for excavation must
complete Dig Safe training provided through NUCA within 90 days of service
of this Penalty Assessment; and

o The Company must submit documentation of training completion to the
Commission; and

o The Company must not commit any further violations of RCW 19.122 within
twelve (12) months of the date of this Notice.

D 3. Contest the violation. I believe that the alleged violation did not occur for the reasons
I describe below (if you do not include reasons supporting your contest here, your
request will be denied):

l:l a) Iask for a hearing to present evidence on the information I provide above to
an administrative law judge for a decision.
OR D b) Task for a Commission decision based solely on the information I provide
above.

|:| 4. Request mitigation. [ admit the violation, but I believe that the penalty should be
reduced for the reasons set out below (if you do not include reasons supporting your
application here, your request will be denied):

|:| a) lask for a hearing to present evidence on the information I provide above to
an administrative law judge for a decision.
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OR I:I b) Iask for a Commission decision based solely on the information I provide
above.

I declare under penalty of perjury under the laws of the state of Washington that the foregoing,
including information I have presented on any attachments, is true and correct.

Dated: 71 I 2% ) 202 % [Month/Day/Year], at_pJOt+h £He nd, WA [City, State]

furi e (ocks  tne. -Emma Stewnd MW

Name of Respondent (Company) — please print 0ffiec Signature of Applicant
WM'X v

RCW 9A.72.020 “Perjury in the first degree.”

(1) A person is guilty of perjury in the first degree if in any official proceeding he or she makes
a materially false statement which he or she knows to be false under an oath required or
authorized by law.

(2) Knowledge of the materiality of the statement is not an element of this crime, and the
actor's mistaken belief that his or her statement was not material is not a defense to a
prosecution under this section.

(3) Perjury in the first degree is a class B felony.



