Service Date: April 23, 2025

WASHINGTON UTILITIES AND TRANSPORTATION COMMISSION

NOTICE OF PENALTIES INCURRED AND DUE FOR VIOLATIONS OF LAWS AND RULES

PENALTY ASSESSMENT: TV-250185 PENALTY AMOUNT: \$8,200

Heezy Haulers LLC 418 Bellevue Ave E, Apt 401 Seattle, WA 98102 contact@heezyhaulers.com

The Washington Utilities and Transportation Commission (Commission) believes Heezy Haulers LLC (Heezy Haulers or Company) violated Washington Administrative Code (WAC) 480-15-555, Criminal Background Checks for Prospective Employees; and WAC 480-15-560, Vehicle and Driver Safety Requirements, which adopts Title 49 Code of Federal Regulations (49 C.F.R.) Part 391 - Qualifications of Drivers, 49 C.F.R. Part 395 - Hours of Service of Drivers, and 49 C.F.R. Part 396 - Inspection, Repair, and Maintenance.

Revised Code of Washington (RCW) 81.04.405 allows penalties of \$100 for each violation. In the case of an ongoing violation, every day's continuance is considered a separate and distinct violation.

On March 20, 2025, Commission Motor Carrier Safety Investigator Tracy Cobile completed a routine safety investigation of Heezy Haulers and documented the following violations:

- Eight violations of WAC 480-15-555(1) Failure to complete a national criminal background check for every person the carrier intends to hire. The Company failed to acquire criminal background checks prior to hiring employees Abdul Ahmadi, Jack Anderson, Owen Anderson, Ta'Shan Hambrick, Josh Harris, Wesley Hottendorf, Michael Liddell, and Jayden Wesselink.
- Seventy violations of 49 C.F.R. § 391.45(a) Using a driver not medically examined and certified. Heezy Haulers allowed driver Mahir Dzelil to operate a motor vehicle without a valid medical certificate on 70 occasions between August 26, 2024, and March 11, 2025.
- One violation of 49 C.F.R. 391.51(a) Failing to maintain driver qualification file on each driver employed. The Company failed to maintain a driver qualification file for driver Mahir Dzelil.
- Thirty violations of 49 C.F.R. § 395.8(a)(1) Failing to require a driver to prepare a record of duty status using the appropriate method. The Company failed to require driver Mahir Dzelil to prepare a record of duty status on 30 occasions between January 1, 2024, and January 30, 2024.

- Two violations of 49 C.F.R. § 396.17(a) Using a commercial motor vehicle not periodically inspected. Heezy Haulers failed to annually inspect two of its commercial motor vehicles.
- Two violations of 49 C.F.R. § 396.3(b) Failing to keep minimum records of inspection and vehicle maintenance. The Company failed to maintain minimum records of inspection and vehicle maintenance for two of its commercial motor vehicles.

The Commission considered the following factors in determining the appropriate penalties for these violations:

- 1. How serious or harmful the violations are to the public. The violations noted are serious and potentially harmful to the public. Household goods moving companies that: (1) fail to conduct criminal background checks prior to hiring their employees, (2) use drivers who are not medically certified, (3) fail to maintain driver qualification files, (4) fail to require drivers to create a record of duty status, (5) use commercial motor vehicles not periodically inspected, and (6) fail to keep minimum records of inspection and vehicle maintenance put their customers, their customers' belongings, and the traveling public at risk. These violations present serious safety concerns.
- 2. Whether the violations were intentional. Considerations include:
 - Whether the Company ignored Commission staff's (Staff) previous technical assistance; and
 - Whether there is clear evidence through documentation or other means that shows the Company knew of and failed to correct the violations.

On November 2, 2023, the Commission received the Company's application for household goods moving authority. In the application, Sohel Bootwala, owner, acknowledged the Company's responsibility to understand and comply with applicable motor carrier safety laws and regulations

On November 23, 2023, Mahir Dzelil, owner, completed online household goods training and acknowledged receiving training pertaining to motor carrier safety regulations.

On November 27, 2023, Sohel Bootwala completed online household goods training and acknowledged receiving training pertaining to motor carrier safety regulations.

The Company knew or should have known about these requirements.

- 3. Whether the Company self-reported the violations. Heezy Haulers did not self-report these violations.
- 4. Whether the Company was cooperative and responsive. The Company was cooperative throughout the safety inspection.

- 5. Whether the Company promptly corrected the violations and remedied the impacts. Heezy Haulers has provided Staff with evidence of correction for some, but not all violations.
- 6. **The number of violations.** Staff identified 10 violation types with a total of 131 occurrences during the routine safety investigation of Heezy Haulers. Of those violations, Staff identified six violation types with 113 individual occurrences that warrant a penalty in accordance with the Commission's Enforcement Policy.
- 7. **The number of customers affected**. Heezy Haulers reported 6,354 miles on their investigation questionnaire for 2024. These safety violations present a public safety risk.
- 8. **The likelihood of recurrence.** The Company was cooperative throughout most of the safety investigation. Staff provided technical assistance with specific remedies the Company could use to assess how well its safety management plan operates and how to begin improving its safety performance. In light of these factors, Staff believes the likelihood of recurrence is low.
- 9. The Company's past performance regarding compliance, violations, and penalties. The Company has no history of penalties for safety violations.
- 10. **The Company's existing compliance program.** Sohel Bootwala and Mahir Dzelil are responsible for the Company's safety compliance program.
- 11. **The size of the Company.** The Company employs one driver and operates two commercial motor vehicles. The Company reported \$135,000 gross revenue in 2024.

The Commission's Enforcement Policy provides that some Commission requirements are so fundamental to safe operations that the Commission will issue mandatory penalties for each occurrence of a first-time violation. The Commission generally will assess penalties by violation category, rather than per occurrence, for first-time violations of those critical regulations that do not meet the requirements for mandatory penalties. The Commission will assess penalties for any equipment violation meeting the Federal Motor Carrier Safety Administration's "out-of-service" criteria and for repeat violations of critical regulations, including each occurrence of a repeat violation.

The Commission has considered these factors and determined that it should penalize Heezy Haulers \$8,200 (Penalty Assessment), calculated as follows:

• Eight violations of WAC 480-15-555(1) - Failure to complete a national criminal background check for every person the carrier intends to hire. The Commission assesses

¹ Docket A-120061 – Enforcement Policy of the Washington Utilities & Transportation Commission – Section V.

a penalty of \$100 for each occurrence of these first-time critical violations, for a total of \$800.

- Seventy violations of 49 C.F.R. § 391.45(a) Using a driver not medically examined and certified. The Commission assesses a penalty of \$100 for each occurrence of these first-time critical-type violations, for a total of \$7,000.
- One violation of 49 C.F.R. § 391.51(a) Failing to maintain driver qualification file on each driver employed. The Commission assesses a penalty of \$100 for this first-time critical-type violation.
- Thirty violations of 49 C.F.R. § 395.8(a)(1) Failing to require a driver to prepare a record of duty status using the appropriate method. The Commission assesses a \$100 "per category" penalty for these first-time critical violations.
- Two violations of 49 C.F.R. § 396.17(a) Using a commercial motor vehicle not periodically inspected. The Commission assesses a \$100 "per category" penalty for these first-time critical violations
- Two violations of 49 C.F.R. § 396.3(b) Failing to keep minimum records of inspection and vehicle maintenance. The Commission assesses a \$100 "per category" penalty for these first-time critical violations.

This information, if proven at a hearing and not rebutted or explained, is sufficient to support the Penalty Assessment.

Your penalty is due and payable now. If you believe the violation(s) did not occur, you may deny committing the violation(s) and contest the penalty through evidence presented at a hearing or in writing. Alternatively, if there is a reason for the violation(s) that you believe should excuse you from the penalty, you may ask for mitigation (reduction) of the penalty through evidence presented at a hearing or in writing. The Commission will grant a request for hearing only if material issues of law or fact require consideration of evidence and resolution in a hearing. Any request to contest the violation(s) or for mitigation of the penalty must include a written statement of the reasons supporting that request. Failure to provide such a statement will result in denial of the request. See RCW 81.04.405.

If you properly present your request for a hearing and the Commission grants that request, the Commission will review the evidence supporting your dispute of the violation(s) or application for mitigation in a Brief Adjudicative Proceeding before an administrative law judge. The administrative law judge will consider the evidence and will notify you of their decision.

You must act within 15 days after receiving this notice to do one of the following:

- Pay the amount due.
- Contest the occurrence of the violation.

• Admit the violation but request mitigation of the penalty amount.

Please indicate your selection on the enclosed form and submit it electronically through the Commission's web portal at https://efiling.utc.wa.gov/Form within FIFTEEN (15) days after you receive this Penalty Assessment. If you are unable to use the web portal, you may submit it via email to records@utc.wa.gov. If you are unable to submit the form electronically, you may send a paper copy to the Washington Utilities and Transportation Commission, PO Box 47250, Olympia, Washington 98504-7250.

If you wish to make a payment online, please use this link: Make a Payment Now (wa.gov).³

If you do not act within 15 days, the Commission may take additional enforcement action, including but not necessarily limited to suspending or revoking your certificate to provide regulated service, assessing additional penalties, or referring this matter to the Office of the Attorney General for collection.

DATED at Lacey, Washington, and effective April 23, 2025.

/s/ Connor Thompson
CONNOR THOMPSON
Acting Director, Administrative Law
Division

² <u>https://efiling.utc.wa.gov/Form</u>.

 $^{^{3}\ \}underline{\text{https://www.utc.wa.gov/documents-and-proceedings/online-payments/make-payment-now}}$

WASHINGTON UTILITIES AND TRANSPORTATION COMMISSION PENALTY ASSESSMENT TV-250185

PLEASE NOTE: You must complete and sign this document and send it to the Commission within 15 days after you receive the Penalty Assessment. Use additional paper if needed. I have read and understand RCW 9A.72.020 (printed below), which states that making false statements under oath is a class B felony. I am over the age of 18, competent to testify to the matters set forth below and I have personal knowledge of those matters. I hereby make, under oath, the following statements.

[] 1. OR	Payment of penalty. I admit that the violation(s) occurred. [] Enclose \$8,200 in payment of the penalty. [] Attest that I have paid the penalty in full through the Commission's payment portal.		
[] 2.	Contest the violation(s). I believe that the alleged violation(s) did not occur for the reasons I describe below (if you do not include reasons supporting your contest here, your request will be denied):		
	/	I ask for a hearing to present evid nistrative law judge for a decision.	lence on the information I provide above to
OR	[] b)	I ask for a Commission decision labove.	based solely on the information I provide
[] 3.	Application for mitigation. I admit the violations, but I believe that the penalty she reduced for the reasons set out below (if you do not include reasons supporting your application here, your request will be denied):		
	[] a)	I ask for a hearing to present evid an administrative law judge for a	dence on the information I provide above to decision.
OR	[] b)	I ask for a Commission decision labove.	based solely on the information I provide
	-	enalty of perjury under the laws of ation I have presented on any attack	the state of Washington that the foregoing, hments, is true and correct.
Dated: _		[month/day/year], at _	[city, state]
 Name o	f Respond	dent (company) – please print	Signature of Applicant

RCW 9A.72.020 "Perjury in the first degree."

- (1) A person is guilty of perjury in the first degree if in any official proceeding they make a materially false statement which they know to be false under an oath required or authorized by law.
- (2) Knowledge of the materiality of the statement is not an element of this crime, and the actor's mistaken belief that their statement was not material is not a defense to a prosecution under this section.
- (3) Perjury in the first degree is a class B felony.