Service Date: September 9, 2024

WASHINGTON UTILITIES AND TRANSPORTATION COMMISSION

NOTICE OF PENALTIES INCURRED AND DUE FOR VIOLATIONS OF LAWS AND RULES

PENALTY ASSESSMENT: TV-240620 PENALTY AMOUNT: \$15,600

Airus Movers LLC 13404 New Castle Commons Drive, Unit 515 New Castle, WA 98059

The Washington Utilities and Transportation Commission (Commission) believes Airus Movers LLC (Airus Movers or Company) violated Washington Administrative Code (WAC) 480-15-555, Criminal Background Checks for Prospective Employees; and WAC 480-15-560, Vehicle and Driver Safety Requirements, which adopts Title 49 Code of Federal Regulations (49 C.F.R.) Part 391 - Qualifications of Drivers, 49 C.F.R. Part 395 - Hours of Service of Drivers, and 49 C.F.R. Part 396 - Inspection, Repair, and Maintenance.

Revised Code of Washington (RCW) 81.04.405 allows penalties of \$100 for each violation. In the case of an ongoing violation, every day's continuance is considered a separate and distinct violation.

On August 12, 2024, Commission Motor Carrier Safety Investigator Leonard McLaughlin completed a routine safety investigation of Airus Movers and documented the following violations:

- Nine violations of WAC 480-15-555(1) Failure to complete a criminal background check for every person the carrier intends to hire. The Company failed to acquire criminal background checks prior to hiring employees Aida Bekova, Urustomov Edilbek, Nazarbek Koshbaev, Sultan Koshbaev, Ibrahim Kurmnbek, Kairat Osmonbaev, Batyrbek Shambilov, Medet Toleuov, and Nurbek Toshpulatov.
- One hundred forty-three violations of 49 C.F.R. § 391.45(a) Using a driver not medically examined and certified. Airus Movers allowed drivers Ruslan Dosniyazov, Nazarbek Koshbaev, and Medet Toleuov to operate a motor vehicle without a valid medical certificate on 143 occasions between January 3, 2024, and July 8, 2024.
- Four violations of 49 C.F.R. § 391.51(a) Failing to maintain driver qualification file on each driver employed. The Company failed to maintain a driver qualification file for drivers Ruslan Dosniyazov, Nazarbek Koshbaev, Sultan Koshbaev, and Medet Toleuov.
- Forty-two violations of 49 C.F.R. § 395.8(a)(1) Failing to require a driver to prepare a record of duty status using the appropriate method. The Company failed to require drivers Ruslan Dosniyazov, Nazarbek Koshbaev, Sultan Koshbaev, and Medet Toleuov to prepare a record of duty status on 42 occasions between February 1, 2024, and May 30, 2024.

- Two violations of 49 C.F.R. § 396.3(b) Failing to keep minimum records of inspection and vehicle maintenance. The Company failed to maintain minimum records of inspection and vehicle maintenance for its two commercial motor vehicles. ¹
- Two violations of 49 C.F.R. § 396.17(a) Using a commercial motor vehicle not periodically inspected. Airus Movers failed to annually inspect its commercial motor vehicles.

The Commission considered the following factors in determining the appropriate penalties for these violations:

1. How serious or harmful the violations are to the public. The violations noted are serious and potentially harmful to the public. Household goods moving companies that: (1) fail to conduct criminal background checks prior to hiring their employees, (2) use drivers who are not medically certified, (3) fail to maintain driver qualification files, (4) fail to require drivers to create a record of duty status, (5) fail to keep minimum records of inspection and vehicle maintenance, and (6) use commercial motor vehicles not periodically inspected put their customers, their customers' belongings, and the traveling public at risk. These violations present safety concerns.

2. Whether the violations were intentional. Considerations include:

- Whether the Company ignored Commission staff's (Staff) previous technical assistance; and
- Whether there is clear evidence through documentation or other means that shows the Company knew of and failed to correct the violations.

On August 10, 2022, the Commission received the Company's application for household goods moving authority. In the application, Ruslan Dosniyazov, owner of Airus Movers, acknowledged the Company's responsibility to understand and comply with applicable motor carrier safety laws and regulations.

On August 24, 2022, Ruslan Dosniyazov attended household goods training provided by Staff and acknowledged receiving training pertaining to motor carrier safety regulations.

The Company knew or should have known about these requirements.

- 3. Whether the Company self-reported the violations. Airus Movers did not self-report these violations.
- 4. Whether the Company was cooperative and responsive. The Company was cooperative with Staff during the investigation and expressed a desire to come into compliance with the regulations.

¹ Vehicle Identification Number (VIN) 1GDG5C1G87F904310 and 1GDG5C1G26F903782

- 5. Whether the Company promptly corrected the violations and remedied the impacts. Airus Movers has not provided staff with evidence of correction.
- 6. **The number of violations.** Staff identified nine violation types with a total of 210 occurrences during the routine safety investigation of Airus Movers. Of those violations, Staff identified six violation types with 202 individual occurrences that warrant a penalty in accordance with the Commission's Enforcement Policy.
- 7. **The number of customers affected**. Airus Movers last reported traveling 20,000 miles for 2023. These safety violations present a public safety risk.
- 8. **The likelihood of recurrence.** The Company was provided technical assistance with specific remedies to help the Company assess how well its safety management controls support safe operations and how to begin improving its safety performance. In light of these factors, Staff believes the likelihood of recurrence is low.
- 9. The Company's past performance regarding compliance, violations, and penalties. The Company has no history of penalties for safety violations.
- 10. **The Company's existing compliance program.** Ruslan Dosniyazov is responsible for the Company's safety compliance program.
- 11. **The size of the Company.** The Company employs seven drivers and operates two commercial motor vehicles. The Company reported \$361,547 gross revenue in 2023.

The Commission's Enforcement Policy provides that some Commission requirements are so fundamental to safe operations that the Commission will issue mandatory penalties for each occurrence of a first-time violation.² The Commission generally will assess penalties by violation category, rather than per occurrence, for first-time violations of those critical regulations that do not meet the requirements for mandatory penalties. The Commission will assess penalties for any equipment violation meeting the Federal Motor Carrier Safety Administration's "out-of-service" criteria and also for repeat violations of critical regulations, including each occurrence of a repeat violation.

The Commission has considered these factors and determined that it should penalize Airus Movers \$15,600 (Penalty Assessment), calculated as follows:

- Nine violations of WAC 480-15-555(1) Failure to complete a criminal background check for every person the carrier intends to hire. The Commission assesses a penalty of \$100 for each occurrence of these first-time critical violations, for a total of \$900.
- One hundred forty-three violations of 49 C.F.R. § 391.45(a) Using a driver not medically examined and certified. The Commission assesses a penalty of \$100 for each occurrence of these first-time critical violations, for a total of \$14,300.

² Docket A-120061 – Enforcement Policy of the Washington Utilities & Transportation Commission – Section V.

- Four violations of 49 C.F.R. § 391.51(a) Failing to maintain driver qualification file on each driver employed. The Commission assesses a \$100 "per category" penalty for these first-time critical violations, for a total of \$100.
- Forty-two violations of 49 C.F.R. § 395.8(a)(1) Failing to require a driver to prepare a record of duty status using the appropriate method. The Commission assesses a \$100 "per category" penalty for these first-time critical violations, for a total of \$100.
- Two violations of 49 C.F.R. § 396.3(b) Failing to keep minimum records of inspection and vehicle maintenance. The Commission assesses a \$100 "per category" penalty for these first-time critical violations, for a total of \$100.
- Two violations of 49 C.F.R. § 396.17(a) Using a commercial motor vehicle not periodically inspected. The Commission assesses a \$100 "per category" penalty for these first-time critical violations, for a total of \$100.

This information, if proven at a hearing and not rebutted or explained, is sufficient to support the Penalty Assessment.

Your penalty is due and payable now. If you believe the violations did not occur, you may deny committing the violations and contest the penalty through evidence presented at a hearing or in writing. Alternatively, if there is a reason for the violations that you believe should excuse you from the penalty, you may ask for mitigation (reduction) of the penalty through evidence presented at a hearing or in writing. The Commission will grant a request for hearing only if material issues of law or fact require consideration of evidence and resolution in a hearing. Any request to contest the violations or for mitigation of the penalty must include a written statement of the reasons supporting that request. Failure to provide such a statement will result in denial of the request. See RCW 81.04.405.

If you properly present your request for a hearing and the Commission grants that request, the Commission will review the evidence supporting your dispute of the violations or application for mitigation in a Brief Adjudicative Proceeding before an administrative law judge. The administrative law judge will consider the evidence and will notify you of their decision.

You must act within 15 days after receiving this notice to do one of the following:

- Pay the amount due.
- Contest the occurrence of the violation.
- Admit the violation but request mitigation of the penalty amount.

Please indicate your selection on the enclosed form and submit it electronically through the Commission's web portal at https://efiling.utc.wa.gov/Form within FIFTEEN (15) days after you receive this Penalty Assessment.³ If you are unable to use the web portal, you may submit it via email to records@utc.wa.gov. If you are unable to submit the form electronically, you may

-

³ https://efiling.utc.wa.gov/Form.

send a paper copy to the Washington Utilities and Transportation Commission, PO Box 47250, Olympia, Washington 98504-7250.

If you wish to make a payment online, please use this link: Make a Payment Now (wa.gov).4

If you do not act within 15 days, the Commission may take additional enforcement action, including but not necessarily limited to suspending or revoking your certificate to provide regulated service, assessing additional penalties, or referring this matter to the Office of the Attorney General for collection.

DATED at Lacey, Washington, and effective September 9, 2024.

/s/ James E. Brown II
JAMES E. BROWN II
Interim Director, Administrative Law
Division

_

⁴ https://www.utc.wa.gov/documents-and-proceedings/online-payments/make-payment-now

WASHINGTON UTILITIES AND TRANSPORTATION COMMISSION PENALTY ASSESSMENT TV-240620

PLEASE NOTE: You must complete and sign this document and send it to the Commission within 15 days after you receive the Penalty Assessment. Use additional paper if needed. I have read and understand RCW 9A.72.020 (printed below), which states that making false statements under oath is a class B felony. I am over the age of 18, competent to testify to the matters set forth below, and I have personal knowledge of those matters. I hereby make, under oath, the following statements.

[] 1. OR	Payment of penalty. I admit that the violations occurred. [] Enclose \$15,600 in payment of the penalty. [] Attest that I have paid the penalty in full through the Commission's payment			
	portal.	portal.		
[] 2.	Contest the violation(s). I believe that the alleged violations did not occur for the reasons I describe below (if you do not include reasons supporting your contest here, your request will be denied):			
	[] a)	I ask for a hearing to present evide	ence on the information I provide above to	
	an admi	inistrative law judge for a decision.	· ·	
OR	[] b)	I ask for a Commission decision b above.	ased solely on the information I provide	
[] 3.	Application for mitigation. I admit the violations, but I believe that the penalty she be reduced for the reasons set out below (if you do not include reasons supporting your application here, your request will be denied):		you do not include reasons supporting	
	[] a)	I ask for a hearing to present evide an administrative law judge for a	ence on the information I provide above to decision.	
OR	[] b)	I ask for a Commission decision b above.	ased solely on the information I provide	
I declar	e under pe	enalty of perjury under the laws of the	he state of Washington that the foregoing,	
includii	ng informa	ation I have presented on any attach	ments, is true and correct.	
Dated:		[month/day/year], at	[City, State]	
Name o	of Respond	dent (company) – please print	Signature of Applicant	

RCW 9A.72.020 "Perjury in the first degree."

- (1) A person is guilty of perjury in the first degree if in any official proceeding they make a materially false statement which they know to be false under an oath required or authorized by law.
- (2) Knowledge of the materiality of the statement is not an element of this crime, and the actor's mistaken belief that their statement was not material is not a defense to a prosecution under this section.
- (3) Perjury in the first degree is a class B felony.