DG-230687

Service Date: September 13, 2023

WASHINGTON UTILITIES AND TRANSPORTATION COMMISSION

NOTICE OF PENALTIES INCURRED AND DUE Received
FOR VIOLATIONS OF LAWS AND RULES Records Management
Sep 20, 2023

PENALTY ASSESSMENT: DG-230687
PENALTY AMOUNT: $1,000
Investigation # 8726

EMAIL SERVICE

UBI: 602-682-799
Erik Wickman : Phone: (206) 786-6359
Wickman Construction, LLC
P.O. Box 578

Kirkland, WA 98033
Erik@W ickmanconstruction.llc

YOU MUST RESPOND WITHIN 15 DAYS OF THIS NOTICE

The Washington Utilities and Transportation Commission (Commission) believes that Wickman
Construction, LLC (Wickman Construction or Company) violated Revised Code of Washington
(RCW) 19.122.055(1)(a) by failing to notify the one-number locate service and caused damage to
an underground gas facility.

RCW 19.122.055(1)(a) states, in part, that excavators who fail to notify a one-number locator
service and cause damage to an underground gas facility are subject to a civil penalty of not more
than $10,000 for each violation.

Commission staff (Staff) conducted an investigation that included reviewing damage reports,
investigation reports, a review of the One Call Center database, and communications with the
Company. The documents reviewed identified a natural gas event that involved Wickman
Construction damaging a natural gas facility while excavating without a valid locate ticket.

The Commission reviewed findings and recommendations made by Commission staff and hereby
notifies you that it is assessing a $1,000 penalty (Penalty Assessment) against you on the following
grounds:

1. Alleged Violation:
On April 11, 2023, Wickman Construction was excavating at 11605 NE 155 St.,
Kirkland, Washington. While excavating, Wickman Construction workers struck and
damaged an underground Puget Sound Energy (PSE) natural gas facility. The Damage
Information Reporting Tool (DIRT) report submitted by PSE on May 21, 2023, indicated
that Wickman Construction was excavating without a valid request to locate underground
utilities.
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2 Analysis:
The alleged violation concerns RCW 19.122.055(1)(a), which states, in part, that an
excavator must contact the one-number locate center not less than two business days before
beginning excavation. On April 11, 2023, Wickman Construction was excavating for
concrete work when it damaged a PSE natural gas line. The Gas First Response report from
PSE reports that Wickman Construction was digging on an expired locate ticket. The report
from ELM states there were locate marks on the ground, but not where the excavation
occurred. ELM summarized it believed the gas service line was installed after the ticket
expired and would have been marked if Wickman Construction had called for a refresh on
its expired ticket. Staff received an email response from Wickman Construction stating it
had called for locates previously and that the gas line it hit was too shallow. Staff reviewed ._25- 2z
the One Call Center database and found Wickman Construction had a ticket #22328801 for
this location but was only valid in 2022. Staff found another ticket for Wickman
Construction at this location #23132021, but it was called in on the day the damage
occurred. Wickman did not have a valid locate ticket on the day it was excavating and
caused the damage. 4-l-729

The Commission considered the following factors in determining the appropriate penalty amount
for the violation:

Iy How serious or harmful the violation is to the public.
These incidents could have been significantly more harmful to Company workers, utility
technicians, nearby homeowners, and the public, and could have resulted in severe injury
and/or loss of property.

2. Whether the violation is intentional.
The violation appears to be due to negligence rather than a lack of knowledge of
Washington state’s dig law. Over the past 12 months, Wickman Construction has submitted
143 requests to the One Call Center for locates. This demonstrates the Company’s
knowledge of its requirements and responsibility to contact the one-number locate service
before beginning excavation.

3. Whether the company self-reported the violation.
Wickman Construction did not self-report the violation. The Commission became aware of
the violation when PSE filed a DIRT report.

4. The likelihood of recurrence.
Wickman Construction’s likelihood of recurrence depends on the Company’s actions going
forward and its willingness to notify the one-number locate service every time before
beginning excavation.

- The Company’s previous violations and penalties.
On March 21, 2019 and March 10, 2020, the Commission mailed Alleged Violation of
Washington Dig Law letters to Wickman Construction. The letters included detailed
information about Washington state’s underground utility damage prevention act,
requirements for submitting utility locate requests before excavating, and the possibility of
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penalties for each violation. The Commission mailed the letters after receiving a report of
damage caused by Wickman Construction on November 12, 2018, and September 23,
2019, and found the Company failed to submit requests to locate underground utilities
before excavating.

The Commission has considered these factors and determined that it should penalize Wickman
Construction as follows:

e $1,000 penalty for one violation of RCW 19.122.055(1)(a) with an offer to suspend an
$800 portion of the penalty for one year, and then waive it, subject to the conditions that:
1) Company supervisors and field crew responsible for excavation complete Dig Safe
Training provided through the National Utility Contractors Association (NUCA)
within 90 days of this Penalty Assessment;
2) The Company must submit documentation of that attendance to the Commission; and
3) The Company must not commit any further violations of RCW 19.122 within 12
months of the date of this Penalty Assessment.

These facts, if proven at a hearing and not rebutted or explained, are sufficient to support the
Penalty Assessment.

Your penalty is due and payable now. If you believe the violation did not occur, you may deny
committing the violation and contest the penalty through evidence presented at a hearing or in
writing. Or, if there is a reason for the violation that you believe should excuse you from the
penalty, you may ask for mitigation (reduction) of the penalty through evidence presented at a
hearing or in writing. The Commission will grant a request for a hearing only if material issues of
law or fact require consideration of evidence and resolution in a hearing. Any request to contest
the violation or for mitigation of the penalty must include a written statement of the reasons
supporting that request. Failure to provide such a statement will result in denial of the request. See
RCW 81.04.405.

If you properly present your request for a hearing and the Commission grants that request, the
Commission will review the evidence supporting your dispute of the violation or application for
mitigation in a Brief Adjudicative Proceeding before an administrative law judge. The
administrative law judge will consider the evidence and will notify you of their decision.

You must act within 15 davs after receiving this Penalty Assessment to do one of the
following:

e Pay the $1,000 penalty amount due; or
e Pay $200 and notify the Commission that you accept the offer to suspend an $800 portion
of the penalty amount subject to the following conditions:

o Wickman Construction management and the field crew responsible for
excavation must complete NUCA Dig Safe Training (https://utc-
9183.quickbase.com/db/bpkt6évndh) within 90 days of service of this Penalty
Assessment; and

o The Company must submit documentation of that attendance to the
Commission; and
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o Wickman Construction must not incur any additional violations of RCW 19.122
within 12 months of the date of this Penalty Assessment; or
e Request a hearing to contest the occurrence of the violations; or
e Request mitigation to reduce the amount of the penalty.

Please indicate your selection on the enclosed form and submit it electronically through the
Commission’s web portal at https:/efiling.utc.wa.gov/Form within FIFTEEN (15) days after you
receive this Penalty Assessment. If you are unable to use the web portal, you may submit it via
email to records@utc.wa.gov. If you are unable to submit the form electronically, you may send a
paper copy to the Washington Utilities and Transportation Commission, PO Box 47250, Olympia,
Washington 98504-7250.

[f you wish to make your payment online, please use this link: Make a Payment Now (wa.gov).'

If you do not act within 15 days, the Commission may refer this matter to the Office of the
Attorney General for collection.

DATED at Lacey, Washington, and effective September 13, 2023.

/s/Michael Howard
MICHAEL HOWARD
Acting Director, Administrative Law Division

! https://www.utc.wa.gov/documents-and-proceedings/online-payments/make-payment-now.
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WASHINGTON UTILITIES AND TRANSPORTATION COMMISSION
PENALTY ASSESSMENT DG-230687 Investigation # 8726

PLEASE NOTE: You must complete and sign this document and send it to the Commission
within 15 days after you receive the penalty assessment. Use additional paper if needed.

[ have read and understand RCW 9A.72.020 (printed below), which states that making false
statements under oath is a class B felony. | am over the age of 18, am competent to testify to the
matters set forth below and I have personal knowledge of those matters. I hereby make, under
oath, the following statements:

D 1. ment of penalty. | admit that the violation occurred:
Enclose $1,000 in payment of the penalty.
OR Attest that [ have paid the penalty in full through the Commission’s payment
portal.

D 2. Accept conditions. [ admit that the violation occurred and enclose $200 toward the
payment of the penalty. I also accept the Commission’s offer to suspend, and
ultimately waive, the remaining $800 penalty amount subject to the following
conditions:

o Company management must attend Dig Safe training provided through NUCA
within 90 days of service of this Penalty Assessment; and

o The Company must submit documentation of that attendance to the
Commission; and

o The Company must not commit any further violations of RCW 19.122 within
twelve (12) months of the date of this Notice.

|:| 3. Contest the violation. I believe that the alleged violation did not occur for the reasons
[ describe below (if you do not include reasons supporting your contest here, your
request will be denied):

D a) lask for a hearing to present evidence on the information I provide above to
an administrative law judge for a decision.
OR l___l b) 1ask for a Commission decision based solely on the information I provide
above.

4. Request mitigation. I admit the violation, but I believe that the penalty should be
reduced for the reasons set out below (if you do not include reasons supporting your
application here, your request will be denied):

See atdached seperate. Page:,

D a) 1l ask for a hearing to present evidence on the information I provide above to
an administrative law judge for a decision.
OR b) I ask for a Commission decision based solely on the 1nformat10n [ provide
above.
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[ declare under penalty of perjury under the laws of the State of Washington that the foregoing,
including information I have presented on any attachments, is true and correct.

Dated: 1- 20-23 [Month/Day/Y ear]. at kwklma{, JA  [City, State]

Wikman Conshruchon, LLC g@, U_Q

Name of Respondent (Company) — please print Signature of Applicant

RCW 9A.72.020 “Perjury in the first degree.”

(1) A person is guilty of perjury in the first degree if in any official proceeding he or she makes
a materially false statement which he or she knows to be false under an oath required or
authorized by law.

(2) Knowledge of the materiality of the statement is not an element of this crime, and the
actor's mistaken belief that his or her statement was not material is not a defense to a
prosecution under this section.

(3) Perjury in the first degree is a class B felony.



To Whom it May Concern,

Wickman Construction, LLC has a great track record for keeping our locate tickets updated. We would
hope that we could get a reduced fine due to this. We have paid for all the damages. We responded to
the incident immediately, to help reduce any loss. We had initially excavated all the trenches for these
utilities and were performing final grade work when the incident occurred. Please understand that since
2006 we have only had 2 other occurrences, which were due to incorrect marks and that in no way to we
want to have, or to be involved in, any such situations.

Thank you for understanding.





