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The Washington Utilities and Transportation Commission (Commission) believes that Puget 

Sound Energy (PSE or Company) has violated the Revised Code of Washington (RCW) 

19.122.030(3)(1)(a) by failing to provide the excavator with reasonably accurate information by 

marking the location of your underground facilities after receiving notice from the excavator to a 

one-number locator service. RCW 19.122.070(1) states, in part, that violations of any provision of 

the chapter are subject to a civil penalty of not more than $1,000 for an initial violation and not 

more than $5,000 for each subsequent violation within a three-year period.  

 

The Commission reviewed findings and recommendations made by the Washington State Dig Law 

Safety Committee (Safety Committee) and hereby notifies you that it is assessing a $5,000 penalty 

against you on the following grounds: 

 

On June 17, 2021, Safety Committee heard case 21-014 against PSE and determined the 

Company violated RCW 19.122.030(3)(1)(a) by failing to provide the excavator with 

reasonably accurate information by marking its location. The Safety Committee 

recommended that the Commission impose a $5,000 penalty.  

Commission staff (Staff) agrees with the Safety Committee’s findings of probable violation 

and the penalty recommendation. Staff based this decision on the following information 

and investigation.  

Staff conducted an investigation that included reviewing damage reports, investigation 

reports, and emails submitted by PSE, ELM Services, and SEFNCO Communications 

(SEFNCO). These documents identified a natural gas event that involved SEFNCO 

damaging an unlocated natural gas line.  

On June 30, 2020, SEFNCO was excavating at the intersection of Pioneer Way and 

Meridian Ave, Puyallup, Washington. While digging they struck a PSE 4-inch main, which 

caused 47 customers to lose service. The incident required an emergency response and was 
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Federally reportable. The locate marks on the ground read “No PSE electric and No PSE 

gas.”  PSE’s locator failed to identify PSE’s underground facilities.   

 

The Damage Information Reporting Tool  report submitted by PSE on August 8, 2020, 

indicates there was a valid locate ticket, but the locator failed to accurately mark PSE’s 

underground gas line. Staff’s investigation of this damage incident determined that 

SEFNCO had a valid dig ticket for the excavation, and the damage incident was a result of 

PSE’s failure to accurately locate its underground gas lines.   

 

While PSE’s damage prevention program and membership in 811 meets federal pipeline 

safety regulatory requirements, PSE did not fulfill its obligation to locate its facilities per 

RCW 19.122. PSE has accepted responsibility for the failed locate and explained to the 

Safety Committee that it has implemented an audit program and taken steps to improve its 

locate services training. 

 

The Commission has taken the following previous enforcement actions against PSE for dig 

law violations:  

  

• On June 24, 2021, the Commission issued a penalty of $5,000 against PSE 

for one violation of RCW 19.122.030(3)(a) in docket D-210358. The 

investigation determined that PSE failed to provide reasonably accurate 

underground gas facility markings. 

 

• On March 10, 2021, the Commission issued a $5,000 penalty against PSE 

for one violation of RCW 19.122.030(3)(a) in docket D-200813. The 

investigation determined PSE failed to provide reasonably accurate 

underground gas facility markings.  

  

• On July 15, 2019, the Commission issued a warning letter to PSE regarding 

a violation of RCW 19.122.030(3)(a) that occurred on September 11, 

2018. The investigation of that case determined there was sufficient 

evidence to pursue a penalty for the violation if the excavator had included 

that area within the area covered by the ticket.    

  

• On January 18, 2017, the Commission issued a penalty of $2000 against 

PSE for two violations of RCW 19.122.030(3)(a) in docket D-161231. The 

first violation was cited for failure to properly locate and mark an 

underground gas line. The second violation was cited for failure to provide 

reasonably accurate underground gas facility markings.  
 

 

The Commission agrees with Staff’s recommendation and assesses a penalty of $5,000.  

 

These facts, if not contested or if proved at a hearing and not rebutted or explained, are sufficient 

to support the penalty assessment. 
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Your penalty is due and payable now. If you believe the violation did not occur, you may deny 

committing the violation and contest the penalty through evidence presented at a hearing or in 

writing. Or, if there is a reason for the violation that you believe should excuse you from the 

penalty, you may ask for mitigation (reduction) of the penalty through evidence presented at a 

hearing or in writing. The Commission will grant a request for hearing only if material issues of 

law or fact require consideration of evidence and resolution in a hearing. Any request to contest 

the violation or for mitigation of the penalty must include a written statement of the reasons 

supporting that request. Failure to provide such a statement will result in denial of the request. See 

RCW 81.04.405. 

If you properly present your request for a hearing and the Commission grants that request, the 

Commission will review the evidence supporting your dispute of the violation or application for 

mitigation in a Brief Adjudicative Proceeding before an administrative law judge. The 

administrative law judge will consider the evidence and will notify you of their decision. 

 

You must act within 15 days after receiving this notice to do one of the following: 

• Pay the $5,000 penalty amount due  

• Request a hearing to contest the occurrence of the violation; or 

• Request mitigation to reduce the amount of the penalty. 

 

Please indicate your selection on the enclosed form and send it to the Washington Utilities and 

Transportation Commission, P.O. Box 47250, Olympia, Washington 98504-7250, within 

FIFTEEN (15) days after you receive this notice. 

 

If you do not act within 15 days, the Commission may refer this matter to the Office of the 

Attorney General for collection. The Commission may then sue you to collect the penalty.  

 

DATED at Lacey, Washington, and effective September 13, 2021. 

 

/s/Rayne Pearson 

       RAYNE PEARSON 

Director, Administrative Law Division



 

WASHINGTON UTILITIES AND TRANSPORTATION COMMISSION 

PENALTY ASSESSMENT D-210500, Investigation #8228 

PLEASE NOTE: You must complete and sign this document and send it to the Commission within 

15 days after you receive the penalty assessment. Use additional paper if needed. 

I have read and understand RCW 9A.72.020 (printed below), which states that making false 

statements under oath is a class B felony. I am over the age of 18, am competent to testify to the 

matters set forth below and I have personal knowledge of those matters. I hereby make, under oath, the 

following statements: 

[  ]  1. Payment of penalty. I admit that the violation occurred and enclose $5,000 in payment of 

the penalty.  

[  ]  2. Contest the violation. I believe that the alleged violation did not occur for the reasons I 

describe below (if you do not include reasons supporting your contest here, your 

request will be denied): 

 

 

 

 

 [  ]  a) I ask for a hearing to present evidence on the information I provide above to an 

administrative law judge for a decision. 

     OR [  ]  b) I ask for a Commission decision based solely on the information I provided above. 

 

[  ]  3. Request mitigation. I admit the violation, but I believe that the penalty should be reduced 

for the reasons set out below (if you do not include reasons supporting your application 

here, your request will be denied): 

 

 

 

 

[  ]  a) I ask for a hearing to present evidence on the information I provide above to an 

administrative law judge for a decision. 

     OR [  ]  b) I ask for a Commission decision based solely on the information I provided above. 

I declare under penalty of perjury under the laws of the State of Washington that the foregoing, 

including information I have presented on any attachments, is true and correct. 

 

 

Dated: __________________ [Month/Day/Year], at ______________________ [City, State] 

 

 _____________________________________  ___________________________ 

Name of Respondent (Company) – please print  Signature of Applicant 

 

 

RCW 9A.72.020: 

“Perjury in the first degree. (1) A person is guilty of perjury in the first degree if in any official 

proceeding he makes a materially false statement which he knows to be false under an oath required or 

authorized by law. (2) Knowledge of the materiality of the statement is not an element of this crime, 

and the actor’s mistaken belief that his statement was not material is not a defense to a prosecution 

under this section. (3) Perjury in the first degree is a class B felony.” 


