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WASHINGTON UTILITIES AND TRANSPORTATION COMMISSION 

 

NOTICE OF PENALTIES INCURRED AND DUE 

FOR VIOLATIONS OF LAWS AND RULES 

 

 

PENALTY ASSESSMENT: D-190596  

PENALTY AMOUNT: $5,000 

 Investigation # 7987 

 

Conner Lanphere                UBI:  602 620 195 

Cement Works Northwest, Inc.            Phone:  (253) 347-7440 

1126 SE 256th St 

Office 206 

Kent, WA 98030 

  

The Washington Utilities and Transportation Commission (Commission) believes that you have 

violated Revised Code of Washington (RCW) 19.122.030(2) by failing to request a dig ticket prior 

to excavating. RCW 19.122.070(1) states, in part, that violations of any provision of the chapter 

are subject to a civil penalty of not more than $1,000 for an initial violation and not more than 

$5,000 for each subsequent violation within a three-year period. 

 

The Commission reviewed findings and recommendations made by the Washington State Dig Law 

Safety Committee (Safety Committee) and hereby notifies you that it is assessing a penalty against 

you for $5,000 on the following grounds: 

On July 9, 2019, the Safety Committee heard the complaints for cases 19-011, 19-

012, 19-013, 19-014, and 19-015 against Cement Works Northwest, Inc., (Cement 

Works or Company) regarding five alleged violations of the Washington State dig 

law, RCW 19.122, that occurred on October 16, 2017, January 2, 2018, April 11, 

2018, and January 9, 2019. The complainant in this case was Puget Sound Energy 

(PSE). The Safety Committee determined that the Company committed the 

following violations: 

 Five violations of RCW 19.122.030(2) for failing to submit an underground 

utility locate request through a one-number call service prior to excavating 

on the above dates, including two violations that occurred on January 9, 

2019. 

 

The Safety Committee recommends that the Commission assess the following 

$5,000 penalty against Cement Works: 

 $5,000 penalty for five violations of RCW 19.122.030(2); and 

 The opportunity to suspend $4,000 of the penalty amount if Conner 

Lanphere and Bob Godwin of Cement Works complete National Utility 

Contractor Association (NUCA) Dig Safe Training within 6 months of the 
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date of this Notice, and the Company incurs no additional dig law violations 

within 12 months of the date of this Notice.  

 

Commission regulatory staff (Staff) reviewed the Safety Committee’s determination 

and agrees with its conclusions. Staff found that Cement Works violated RCW 

19.122.030(2) on five occasions. Staff based this decision on the following 

information provided by the Safety Committee: 

First Violation 

On October 16, 2017, a PSE damage prevention representative observed that the 

Company installed concrete forms with stakes while pouring a driveway located at 

10114 Messner Ave, Granite Falls, WA. Due to the absence of utility locate marks 

on the ground, the representative performed a dig ticket search  and determined 

thatno utility locate request had been made. Photographs submitted to the Safety 

Committee support the allegations, and Staff’s subsequent investigation concluded 

that Cement Works did not submit a request to locate underground utilities prior to 

excavating. 

 

Second Violation 

On January 2, 2018, a PSE damage prevention representative observed that the 

Company installed concrete forms with stakes while pouring a driveway located at 

14805 16th Ave W, Lynnwood, WA. Due to the absence of utility locate marks on 

the ground, the representative performed a dig ticket search and determined that no 

utility locate request had been made. Photographs submitted to the Safety 

Committee support the allegations, and Staff’s subsequent investigation concluded 

that Cement Works did not submit a request to locate underground utilities prior to 

excavating. 

 

Third Violation 

On April 11, 2018, a PSE damage prevention representative observed that the 

Company installed concrete forms with stakes while pouring a driveway located at 

2025 130th Pl SW, Everett, WA. Due to the absence of utility locate marks on the 

ground, the representative performed a dig ticket search and determined that no 

utility locate request had been made. Photographs submitted to the Safety 

Committee support the allegations, and Staff’s subsequent investigation concluded 

that Cement Works did not submit a request to locate underground utilities prior to 

excavating. 

 

Fourth Violation 

On January 9, 2019, a PSE damage prevention representative observed that the 

Company installed concrete forms with stakes while pouring a driveway located at 

Lot 16, 194th Pl SE, Bothell, WA. Due to the absence of utility locate marks on the 

ground, the representative performed a dig ticket search and determined that no 
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utility locate request had been made. Photographs submitted to the Safety 

Committee support the allegations, and Staff’s subsequent investigation concluded 

that Cement Works did not submit a request to locate underground utilities prior to 

excavating. 

 

Fifth Violation 

On January 9, 2019, a PSE damage prevention representative observed that the 

Company installed concrete forms with stakes while pouring a driveway located at 

Lot 17, 3724 194th Pl SE, Bothell, WA. Due to the absence of utility locate marks 

on the ground, the representative performed a dig ticket search and determined that 

no utility locate request had been made. Photographs submitted to the Safety 

Committee support the allegations, and Staff’s subsequent investigation concluded 

that Cement Works did not submit a request to locate underground utilities prior to 

excavating. 

 

Staff recommends the Commission accept the Safety Committee’s recommendation 

and assess a $5,000 penalty against the Company for five violations of RCW 

19.122.030(2) for failing to provide the required notice to a one-number locator 

service not less than two business days before excavating, as follows: 

 

 $1,000 penalty for the violation of RCW 19.122.030(2) that occurred on October 

16, 2017; and 

 $1,000 penalty for the violation of RCW 19.122.030(2) that occurred on January 2, 

2018; and 

 $1,000 penalty for the violation of RCW 19.122.030(2) that occurred on April 11, 

2018; and 

 $1,000 penalty for the first violation of RCW 19.122.030(2) that occurred on 

January 9, 2019; and 

 $1,000 penalty for the second violation of RCW 19.122.030(2) that occurred on 

January 9, 2019. 

 

Staff’s research indicates that the Company has a positive history of submitting utility 

locate requests, and the violations appear to be the result of the Company’s struggles with 

tracking and requesting locate requests for each of the many jobs it does daily rather than a 

lack of knowledge of the requirements of Washington’s dig law. After considering all of 

the circumstances, Staff concurs with the Safety Committee’s recommendation that the 

Commission should offer to suspend $4,000 of the total penalty for a period of one year 

subject to the following conditions: (1) Conner Lanphere and Bob Godwin of Cement 

Works attend Dig Safe training provided through the National Utility Contractors 

Association (NUCA) within 12 months of the date of this Notice; and (2) the Company 

commits no further violations of RCW 19.122 within 12 months from the date of this 

Notice. Due to the availability of training classes, Staff recommends the Commission allow 

12 months for the Company to complete Dig Safe training rather than the recommended 6 

months. 
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The Commission agrees with Staff’s recommendation and assesses a penalty of $5,000 

with an offer to suspend $4,000 of the total penalty amount subject to the conditions listed 

above. The Commission will waive the suspended penalty amount of $4,000 if the 

Company complies with both conditions. If the Company fails to comply with either of 

these conditions, the $4,000 suspended penalty amount will become immediately due and 

payable, in addition to any new penalties that the Commission may assess for additional 

violations. 

 

These facts, if not contested or if proved at a hearing and not rebutted or explained, are 

sufficient to support the penalty assessment. 

 

Your penalty is due and payable now. If you believe that any or all of the violations did not occur, 

you may deny committing the violation(s) and contest the penalty through evidence presented at a 

hearing or in writing. Alternatively, if there is a reason for any or all of the violations that you 

believe should excuse you from the penalty, you may ask for mitigation (reduction) of the penalty 

through evidence presented at a hearing or in writing. The Commission will grant a request for 

hearing only if material issues of law or fact require consideration of evidence and resolution in a 

hearing. Any request to contest the violations or for mitigation of the penalty must include a 

written statement of the reasons supporting that request. Failure to provide such a statement will 

result in denial of the request. See RCW 81.04.405. 

If you properly present your request for a hearing and the Commission grants that request, the 

Commission will review the evidence supporting your dispute of the violations or application for 

mitigation in a Brief Adjudicative Proceeding before an administrative law judge. The 

administrative law judge will consider the evidence and will notify you of his or her decision. 

 

You must act within 15 days after receiving this notice to do one of the following: 

 

 Pay the $5,000 amount due; 

 Pay $1,000 of the total penalty amount and notify the Commission that you accept the offer 

to suspend, and ultimately waive, the remaining $4,000 of the penalty amount subject to 

the following conditions: 

o Cement Works representatives Conner Lanphere and Bob Godwin attend Dig Safe 

training provided through NUCA within twelve (12) months of this Notice; and 

o submit documentation of that attendance to the Commission within five (5) 

days of attending the training; and  

o commit no further violations of RCW 19.122 within twelve (12) months of the date 

of this Notice; or 

 Request a hearing to contest the violation(s); or 

 Request mitigation to reduce the amount of the penalty. 

 

Please indicate your selection on the enclosed form and send it to the Washington Utilities and 

Transportation Commission, Post Office Box 47250, Olympia, Washington 98504-7250, within 

FIFTEEN (15) days after you receive this notice. 
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If you do not act within 15 days, the Commission may refer this matter to the Office of the 

Attorney General for collection. The Commission may then sue you to collect the penalty.  

 

DATED at Lacey, Washington, and effective July 22, 2019. 

 

 

 

/s/ Rayne Pearson 

       RAYNE PEARSON 

Director, Administrative Law Division



 

WASHINGTON UTILITIES AND TRANSPORTATION COMMISSION 

PENALTY ASSESSMENT D-190596, Investigation # 7987 
 

PLEASE NOTE: You must complete and sign this document, and send it to the Commission within 15 

days after you receive the penalty assessment. Use additional paper if needed. 

 

I have read and understand RCW 9A.72.020 (printed below), which states that making false statements 

under oath is a class B felony. I am over the age of 18, am competent to testify to the matters set forth 

below and I have personal knowledge of those matters. I hereby make, under oath, the following 

statements. 

 

[   ]  1. Payment of penalty. I admit that the violations occurred and enclose $5,000 in payment of 

the penalty. 

 

[   ]  2. Accept conditions. I admit that the violations occurred and enclose $1,000 toward the 

payment of the penalty. I also accept the Commission’s offer to suspend, and ultimately 

waive, the remaining $4,000 penalty amount subject to the following conditions: 

o Cement Works representatives Conner Lanphere and Bob Godwin attend Dig Safe 

training provided through NUCA within twelve (12) months of the date of this 

Notice; and 

o Submit documentation of that attendance to the Commission within five (5) 

days of attending the training; and 

o Commit no further violations of RCW 19.122 within twelve (12) months of the 

date of this Notice. 

 

[   ]  3. Contest the violation. I believe that the alleged violation(s) did not occur for the reasons I 

describe below: 

 

 

 

[   ]  a) I ask for a hearing to present evidence on the information I provide above to an 

administrative law judge for a decision. 

     OR [   ]  b) I ask for a Commission decision based solely on the information I provide above. 

 

[   ]  4. Request mitigation. I admit the violations, but I believe that the penalty should be reduced 

for the reasons set out below:  

 

 

 

 

[   ]  a) I ask for a hearing to present evidence on the information I provide above to an 

administrative law judge for a decision. 

     OR [   ]  b) I ask for a Commission decision based solely on the information I provide above. 

 

I declare under penalty of perjury under the laws of the State of Washington that the foregoing, 

including information I have presented on any attachments, is true and correct. 

 

Dated: __________________ [Month/Day/Year], at ______________________ [City, State] 

 

 

 _____________________________________  ___________________________ 

Name of Respondent (Company) – please print  Signature of Applicant 

 



 

 

RCW 9A.72.020: 

“Perjury in the first degree. (1) A person is guilty of perjury in the first degree if in any official 

proceeding he makes a materially false statement which he knows to be false under an oath required or 

authorized by law. (2) Knowledge of the materiality of the statement is not an element of this crime, 

and the actor’s mistaken belief that his statement was not material is not a defense to a prosecution 

under this section. (3) Perjury in the first degree is a class B felony.”   


