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NOTICE OF PENALTIES INCURRED AND DUE
FOR VIOLATIONS OF LAWS AND RULES

oy

PENALTY ASSESSMENT: TC-180268

PENALTY AMOUNT: $14,500
(43}

ISLAND AIRPORTER LLC
139 Tarte Road
Friday Harbor, WA 98520

The Washington Utilities and Transportation Commission (Commission) believes that Island
Airporter LLC (Island Airporter or company) has committed violations of Washington
Administrative Code (WAC) 480-30-221 Vehicle and Driver Safety Requirements, which adopts
Title 49 Code of Federal Regulations (CFR) Part 387 — Minimum Levels of Financial
Responsibility.

Revised Code of Washington (RCW) 81.04.405 allows penalties of one hundred dollars for each
violation. In the case of an ongoing violation, every day’s continuance is considered a separate
and distinct violation.

On March 28, 2018, Commission Motor Carrier Investigator Sandra Yeomans completed a
routine safety investigation of Island Airporter and documented the following violations:

e One hundred forty-five violations of Title 49 CFR Part 387.31(a) — Operating a
passenger carrying vehicle without having in effect the required minimum levels of
financial responsibility. Island Airporter operated 145 days during the six months
preceding this safety investigation without the required minimum amount of liability
insurance.

The Commission considered the following factors in determining the appropriate penalties for
these violations:

1. How serious or harmful the violation is to the public. The violations noted are serious
and potentially harmful to the public. Passenger transportation companies that fail to
carry the required minimum amount of insurance place their passengers and the traveling
public at financial risk. This presents serious concerns.

2. Whether the violation is intentional. Considerations include:

e  Whether the company ignored Commission staff’s previous technical assistance;
and

! The company maintained $1,050,000 in Auto Liability coverage, however, the required minimum for a passenger
transportation carrier regulated by the commission is $1,500,000.



PENALTY ASSESSMENT TC-180268 PAGE 2

e Whether there is clear evidence through documentation or other means that shows
the company knew of and failed to correct the violation.

Island Airporter owner John Ness applied to the Commission for passenger transportation
authority in May 2003. In his application, Mr. Ness acknowledged his responsibility to
understand and comply with applicable state and federal safety regulations. Commission
staff conducted safety investigations and provided technical assistance to Island Airporter
in 2003, 2010, 2012, and 2017. The 2017 technical assistance included information on
insurance requirements. The violations noted in the current investigation are first-time
occurrences. Staff believes Island Airporter was familiar with these requirements.

3. Whether the company self-reported the violation. The company did not self-report
these violations.

4. Whether the company was cooperative and responsive. Island Airporter was
cooperative and responsive throughout the entire investigation.

5. Whether the company promptly corrected the violations and remedied the impacts.
Staff is not aware of specific corrections made with respect to these violations.

6. The number of violations. Staff identified three violation types with a total of 168
occurrences.

7. The number of customers affected. The company reported 61,003 miles traveled in
2017. A significant number of customers, as well as members of the traveling public,
were likely affected by these safety violations.

8. The likelihood of recurrence. Commission staff does not know if Island Airporter is
likely to repeat these safety violations.

9. The company’s past performance regarding compliance, violations, and penalties.
This is Island Airporter’s fifth safety investigation. The Commission penalized Island
Airporter in 2015 for failing to submit a timely annual report. The company has had no
other violations or penalties.

10. The company’s existing compliance program. John Ness, owner, is responsible for the
company’s safety and compliance program.

11. The size of the company. Island Airporter is a small company with one driver and one
commercial vehicle. The Company reported $73,937 in gross revenue for 2017.

The Commission’s Enforcement Policy provides that some Commission requirements are so
fundamental to safe operations that the Commission will issue mandatory penalties for each
occurrence of a first-time violation.? The Commission generally will assess penalties per type of
violation, rather than per occurrence, for first-time violations of those critical regulations that do

2 Docket A-120061 — Enforcement Policy of the Washington Utilities & Transportation Commission — Section V.
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not meet the requirements for mandatory penalties. The Commission will assess penalties for any
equipment violation meeting the Federal Motor Carrier Safety Administration’s “out-of-service”
criteria and also for repeat violations of critical regulations found in future compliance

investigations, including each occurrence of a repeat violation.

The Commission has considered these factors and determined that it should penalize Island
Airporter $14,500 for violations of WAC 480-30-221 — Vehicle and Driver Safety Requirements,
calculated as follows:

e One hundred forty-five violations of Title 49 CFR Part 387.31(a) — Operating a passenger
carrying vehicle without having in effect the required minimum levels of financial
responsibility. These are first-time occurrences of an acute safety violation, and the
Commission assesses a penalty of $100 for each occurrence, for a total of $14,500.

This information, if proven at a hearing and not rebutted or explained, is sufficient to support the
penalty assessment.

Your penalty is due and payable now. If you believe any or all of the violations did not occur,
you may deny committing the violation(s) and contest the penalty assessment through evidence
presented at a hearing or in writing. The Commission will grant a request for hearing only if
material issues of law or fact concerning the violation(s) require consideration of evidence and
resolution in a hearing. Any contest of the penalty assessment must include a written statement
of the reasons supporting that contest. Failure to provide such a statement will result in denial of
the contest.

If there is a reason for any or all of the violations that you believe should excuse you from the
penalty, you may ask for mitigation (reduction) of this penalty through evidence presented at a
hearing or in writing. The Commission will grant a request for hearing only if material issues of
law or fact require consideration of evidence and resolution in a hearing. Any request for
mitigation must include a written statement of the reasons supporting that request. Failure to
provide such a statement will result in denial of the request. See RCW 81.04.405.

If you properly present your request for a hearing and the Commission grants that request, the
Commission will review the evidence supporting your dispute of the violation(s) or application
for mitigation in a Brief Adjudicative Proceeding before an administrative law judge. The
administrative law judge will consider the evidence and will notify you of his or her decision.

You must act within 15 days after receiving this netice to do one of the following:
e Pay the amount due.
e Contest the occurrence of the violations.
e Request mitigation to contest the amount of the penalty.

Please indicate your selection on the enclosed form and submit it electronically through the
Commission’s web portal within FIFTEEN (15) days after you receive this notice. If you are
unable to use the web portal, you may submit it via email to records@utc.wa.gov. If you are
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unable to submit the form electronically, you may send a paper copy to the Washington Utilities
and Transportation Commission, Post Office Box 47250, Olympia, Washington 98504-7250.

If you do not act within 15 days, the Commission may take additional enforcement action,
including but not necessarily limited to suspending or revoking your certificate to provide
regulated service, assessing additional penalties, or referring this matter to the Office of the
Attorney General for collection.

DATED at Olympia, Washington, and effective April 27, 2018.

/s/ Rayne Pearson
RAYNE PEARSON
Director, Administrative Law Division
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WASHINGTON UTILITIES AND TRANSPORTATION COMMISSION
PENALTY ASSESSMENT TC-180268

PLEASE NOTE: You must complete and sign this document, and send it to the Commission
within 15 days after you receive the penalty assessment. Use additional paper if needed.

I have read and understand RCW 9A.72.020 (printed below), which states that making false
statements under oath is a class B felony. I am over the age of 18, am competent to testify to the

matters set forth below and I have personal knowledge of those matters. I hereby make, unden;
oath, the following statements. o b

[ ]11. Payment of penalty. I admit that the violations occurred and enclose $_ t =
in payment of the penalty. ' =

[ 1 2. Contest the violations. I believe that the alleged violations did not occur for the

reasons I describe below (if you do not include reasons supporting your contest
here, your request will be denied):

[ 1 a Iask forahearing to present evidence on the information I provide above to
an administrative law judge for a decision

OR [ ] b) TIask fora Commission decision based solely on the information I provide
above.

B 3. Application for mitigation. I admit the violations, but I believe that the penalty should
be reduced for the reasons set out below (if you do not include reasons supporting
your application here, your request will be denied): )
{ ) kssum ed 'F'@(@me . Assecie fde, ’Vﬁﬁ vpsurer who reflo ~t5 to éjﬂ fo with .
7,%fm £ - N O ﬂyw.‘()i‘wﬁ aan da ted coverage For me, as ] Fm."() mus PO )ié\f)‘

Z) P&?Vlt(H" tg iafBQ For Me,; OVer //( m mmo’)qyal P(Ts ;

B a) 1ask for a hearing to present evidence on the information I provide above to

an administrative law judge for a decision

OR [ ] b) Iask foraCommission decision based solely on the information I provide

above.

I declare under penalty of perjury under the laws of the State of Washington that the foregoing,
including information I have presented on any attachments, is true and correct.

Dated: 5 / :?‘ / Z2.0I 8 [month/day/year], at Fri()a\\g Ha( bor \ \AJA [city, state]

jc)\rw\ N ess

Name of Respondent (company) — please print Signatlf of Applicant
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RCW 9A.72.020:

“Perjury in the first degree. (1) A person is guilty of perjury in the first degree if in any official
proceeding he makes a materially false statement which he knows to be false under an oath
required or authorized by law. (2) Knowledge of the materiality of the statement is not an
element of this crime, and the actor’s mistaken belief that his statement was not material is not a
defense to a prosecution under this section. (3) Perjury in the first degree is a class B felony.”
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Dear W.U.T.C

For 15 years Island Airporter has provided service
between San Juan Island and SeaTac airport. Over 200
Miles roundtrip and a ferry ride each way, makes for
quite a daily journey. In the approximate million miles
travelled over the last 15 years there has never been an
accident. I am a single owner operator and I don't
know why the insurance policy was written for
$1050000 instead of $1500000, I suspect a clericle
error, but I do know the second it was brought to my
attention I had the policy changed. I had trusted
Ferguson and Associates to insure me and they let me
down, I even wrote on the insurance quote form, notes
section: to comply with W.U.T.C requirements. It's also
their business to know the state insurance
requirements. The fine I'm being asked to pay is about
half my yearly income after expenses. I beg you to
reduce this fine and promise this will not go unnoticed
by me again. Please don't let an unnoticed numerical
error put an end to this business.

Sincerely, John Ness dba

Island Airporter ﬂ
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| U.S. Postal Service” ' . -
CERTIFIED MAIL® RECEIPT _ over 70 hours in 8 consecutive .

utc
3/30/2018

Island Airporter LLC response to Part B violations:
#1 Primary 387.31 Insurance below minimum level

Action: When made aware by W.U.T.C, I immediately.contacted o
Insurer, Ferguson and Associates and had Insurance changed

to meet requirements. On my Insurance renewal questionaire

for 2018 I made a written comment, as usual, to "Comply with

all Washington U.T.C requirements, see attached copy. When
questioned why this happened,Ferguson and Associates was

not sure, number transposition most likely cause,

$1050000.00 instead of $1500000.00. I will be more diligent,

and less trusting by carefully verifying insurance level numbers

next renewal.

#2 Primary 390.19 Failure to file MCS-150 form each 24 months

Action: When made aware by W.U.T.C, I immediately went to
D.O.T website and updated

MCS-150 and submitted copy to W.U.T.C. I had thought I had
until August to do this, Note: My D.O.T numbers had not
expired, but I was counseled that I needed a current copy of
my MCS-150 for company records with this record being
renewed and on file every 24 months. I will make sure in the
future to have a current MCS-150 in my records and update
every 24 months.

i-';|u ‘Domestic Mail Only.
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schedule is effected by ferry delays. I drive 6 days a week
during my peak season. I will be changing this to 5 days a week
this season with no more 6 day a week operations. This will
certainly prevent me from ever going over over 70 hours in 8
consecutive days. My actual behind the wheel driving time is
between 4 and 4 1/2 hours with the rest of the time out of the
“vehicle on the ferry or at lunch. My new -5 day schedule begins
immediately.

Sincerel 31 /é[‘m

'v/, v £
Joln Meﬁj"

ReO-3FG-FH43 8
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OMB No. 2126-0013

(Check Only One).
D NEW APPLICATION BIENNIAL UPDATE OR CHANGES

[] oUT OF BUSINESS NOTIFICATION

D REAPPLICATION (AFTER REVOCATION OF NEW ENTRANT)

1. NAME OF MOTOR CARRIER

2. TRADE OR D.B.A. (DOING BUSINESS AS) NAME

ISLAND AIRPORTER LLC

3. PRINCIPAL ADDRESS 4.ciTY 5_ STATE/PROVINCE 6.ZIP CODE +4 [7. COLONIA (MEXICO ONLY)

138 TARTE ROAD FRIDAY HARBOR WASHINGTON 98250

8. MAILING ADDRESS 9.CITY 10. STATE/PROVINCE 11.ZIP CODE+ [12. COLONIA (MEXICO ONLY)
“139 TARTEROAD ~——- - ———— | FRIDAYHARBOR~ -~ —|WASHINGTON-———— ~——— — 98250 ———f——— ——— - =

13. PRINCIPAL BUSINESS PHONE NUMBER

14. PRINCIPAL CONTACT CELL PHONE NUMBER

15. PRINCIPAL BUSINESS FAX NUMBER

(360) 378-7438 (360) 378-7438
16. USDOT NO. 17. MC OR MX NO. 18.DUN & BRADSTREET NO. | 19. IRS/TAX ID NO.
2104388 EINg ssn# 538700753

20. INTERNET E-MAIL ADDRESS
ISLANDAIRPORTER@HOTMAIL.COM

61003

21. CARRIER MILEAGE (to nearest 10,000 miles for Last Calendar Year)

YEAR
2018

22. COMPANY OPERATION (Mark all that apply)

A. Interstate Camrier B. Intrastate Hazmat Carrier ©Intrastate Non-Hazmat Camrier D. Interstate Hazmat Shipper E. Intrastate Hazmat Shipper F. Vehicle Registrant Only

23, OPERATION CLASSIFICATION

{Circle All that Apply)

@ Authorized For-Hire D. Private Passengers (Business) G. U. S. Mail J. Local Govemment
B. Exempt For-Hire E. Private Passengers (Non-Business) H. Federal Govemment K. Indian Tribe
C. Private Property F. Migrant |. State Govemment L. Other
24. CARGO CLASSIFICATIONS (Circle All that Apply)
A. GENERAL F. LOGS, POLES, J. FRESH PRODUCE P. GRAIN, FEED, HAY V. COMMODITIES DRY BULK BB. CONSTRUCTION
FREIGHT BEAMS, LUMBER
5 HOUSEHDID G BUILDING K. LIQUIDSIGASES Q. GOAL/COKE W. REFRIGERATED FQOD CC. WATER WELL
GOODS . MATERIALS L INTERMODAL CONT. R MEAT X. BEVERAGES DD. OTHER
C. METAL; SHEETS; H. MOBILE HOMES @
COILS; ROLLS PASSENGERS S. GARBAGE, REFUSE. TRASH Y. PAPER PRODUCTS
MACHINERY,
D. MOTOR VEHICLES LARGE OBJECTS N. OIL FIELD EQUIPMENT T. US.MAIL z. Uty
E. DRIVE 0. LIVESTOCK U. CHEMICALS AA. FARM SUPPLIES

If Yes, enter your U.S. DOT Number.

cC s ADV11 B NB|C S K.DIV22A(Ammonia) B NB|C S U.DIV42 B NB|C S EE.HRCQ B NB
C S B.DIV1z B NB|C S LDV23A B NB|C S V.DIV43 B NB|GC S FF.CLASSS8 B NB
c s C.DV13 B NB|C S M.DV23B B NB{C S W.DIV51 B NB[{C S GG.CLASS8A B NB
cC s DDV14 B NB|C S N.DNV23C B NB|C S X.DIV52 B NB|C S HH.CcLASSE8B B NB
C S EDIV15 B NB|C S 0O.DIV23D B NB|C S Y.DIV62 B NB|C S . CLASS 9 B NB
c s F.DIVi6 B NB|C S P.Class3 B NB|C S ZDIV6.1A B NB|C S JJ.ELEVATEDTEMPMAT. B NB
c 8 G.DIV21 B NB|C S QClass3A B NB|C S AA.DIV6.1B B NB|C S KK INFECTIOUSWASTE B NB
C S H.DIV21LPG B NB|C S RClass3B B NB|C S BB.DIV6.1Poison B NB|C S LL MARINEPOLLUTANTS B NB
C S LDWV21(Methane)B NB| C S S.coMLIQ B NB/C S CC.DIV61SOLD B NB|C S MM HAZARDOUSSUB(RQ) B NB
cC s J.Div22 B NB|C S T.DV41 B NB|C S DD.CLASS7 B NB|C S NN.HAZARDOUSWASTE B NB
C s O00.0RM B NB
6. NUMBER OF VEHICLES THAT CAN BE OPERATED IN THE U.S.
Straight | Truck | Trailers | Hazmat |HazmatCargo| Motor Schoc] g W e Lnbisins
Trucks | Tractors - ia-;g o | TankTrallers | - Coach Number of vehicles carrying mumber of passengers (including the driver) below
S 78 995 [ 16+ | 16+ 13 915 | 18 | 915 16+
OWNED 1
TERM LEASED
TRIP LEASED
27. DRIVER INFORMATION INTERSTATE INTRASTATE TOTAL DRIVERS TOTAL CDL DRIVERS
Within 100-Mile Radius 1 1
Beyond 100-Mile Radius
28. IS YOUR U.S. DOT NUMBER REGISTRATION CURRENTLY REVOKED BY THE FEDERAL MOTOR CARRIER SAFETY ADMINISTRATION? Yes No X

29.

1. JOHN NESS, OWNER

PLEASE ENTER NAME(S) OF SOLE PROPRIETOR(S), OFFICERS OR PARTNERS AND TITLES (e.g. PRESIDENT, TREASURER, GENERAL PARTNER, LIMITED PARTNER)

2.
(Please print Name) (Please print Name)
30. CERTIFICATION STATEMENT (to be d by an autt d official)
L JOHN NESS = s certify that | am familiar with the Federal Motor Carrier Safety Regulations and/or Federal Hazardous Materials Regulations.
(Please print Name) Under penallies of perjury, | declare that the i i on this repart is, to the best of my knowledge and belief, true,




Date Submitted CSR

\iehicleg are serviced on the following regular basis: O 3,000 miles O Monthly O
Semi-annually O Other

i i j . NP e Wt
Who provides maintenance on your vehicles? Les Schwab , 3 'r{:‘} Lube, ’MLJ%}%

7

Are they DOT qualified? Effes ONo
If "No” explain.

Do your vehicles display promotional lettering or advertisement? ONo EYes
Do your vehicles have special equipment to transport the handicapped? EiNo OYes
Are daily or pre-trip inspections made? ElYes ONo
Does your state require annual inspections? OYes ﬁNo

If yes, please attach a copy of your last inspection record for all vehicles over 10 years of age.

We meet (check all applicable):

Federal > State ><  County City Other driver qualification and
vehicle inspection requirements outlined in the State Department of Transportation and/or the
Federal Motor Carrier Regulations.

NOTES:
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WASHINGTON UT TLITIES AND TRANSPORTATION COMMISSION

NOTICE OF PENALTIES INCURRED AND DUE SERVICE DATE
FOR VIOLATIONS OF LAWS AND RULES MAY 22 2015

PENALTY ASSESSMENT: TC-150977
PENALTY AMOUNT: $200

ISLAND AIRPORTER LLC
139 TARTE ROAD
FRIDAY HARBOR, WA 98250

" According to Washington Utilities and Transportation Commission (Commission) records, you
have violated Washington Administrative Code (WAC) 480-30-071, which requires auto
transportation companies to file your annual report and pay regulatory fees each year by May 1.
You did not file an annual report or pay regulatory fees by May 1, 2015.

Revised Code of Washmgton (RCW) 81.04. 080 authorizes the Commission to assess a penalty
of $100 for each violation of a Commission rule. In the case of a continuing violation, every
day’s continuance is a separate and distinct violation. The Commission interprets
noncompliance with WAC 480-30-071 beyond May 1 as a continuing violation, and assesses
penalties of $100 for each day a company fails to file its report or pay its regulatory fees after
that date.

As a result, the Commission has assessed penalties against you in the amount of $200 on the
following basis:

On February 27, 2015, the Commission mailed the 2014 annual report forms and
the 2015 regulatory fee packets to all auto transportation companies registered in
Washington. The instructions page for the annual report form instructed these
companies to file annual reports and pay regulatory fees by May 1, 2015. The
instructions page also stated that failure to file the annual report by May 1 would -
result in penalties. The deadline for requesting an extension to file your annual
report was April 15. You did not request an extension.

M On May 5, 2015, Island Airporter LLC filed its 2014 annual report and paid its
2015 regulatory fee. May 5 is 2 business days from Ma}y_l , resulting in a total
penalty of $200.

Your penalty is due and payable now. If you believe the violation did not occur, you may request
a hearing to contest the penalty assessment. The Commission will grant that request only if
material issues of law or fact require consideration of evidence and resolution in a hearing. A
request for a hearing must include a written statement of the reasons supporting that request.
Failure to provide such a statement will result in denial of the request.

If there is a reason for the violation that you think should excuse or reduce the penalty, you may
ask for mitigation (reduction) of this penalty through evidence presented at a heariug or in -
writing. The Commission will grant a request for a hearing only if material issues of law or fact



