Service Date: March 20, 2018

WASHINGTON UTILITIES AND TRANSPORTATION COMMISSION

NOTICE OF PENALTIES INCURRED AND DUE.
FOR VIOLATIONS OF LAWS AND RULES

PENALTY ASSESSMENT: TR-180175
PENALTY AMOUNT: $200

Columbia Basin Railroad Co., Inc.
1801 West 1% Street
Warden, WA 98857

The Washington Utilities and Transportation Commission (Commission) believes that Columbia
‘Bagin Railroad Co., Inc. (CBRR or Company) has committed violations of Washington
Administrative Code (WAC) 480-62-310 — Accident Reports, which requires railroad companies
to report certain events to the Washington State Emergency Operations Center (EOC) within 30
minutes of learning of the event’s occurrence. This includes any event connected to the operation
of the railroad company that results in:

(a) Release of any hazardous material (i.e., materials that are corrosive, flammable,
explosive, reactive with other materials, or toxic).

(b) Death of any person. _

(c) Injury to any person involved in a railroad-highway crossing accident that requires
medical treatment in addition to first aid.

(d) Property damage, amounting to fifty thousand dollars or more to property.

Revised Code of Washington (RCW) 81.04.405 allows penalties of one hundred dollars for each .
violation. In the case of an ongoing violation, every day’s continuance is considered a separate
and distinct violation. Accordingly, the Commission hereby notifies you that it is assessing a
penalty against you in the amount of $200 on the following grounds:

On February 26, 2018, a vehicle collided with a CBRR freight train at a railroad crossing
near Othello, Washington. The accident resulted in injuries to the vehicle’s driver
requiring hospital treatment. Commission Staff (Staff) learned of the event through a
media report and contacted CBRR for additional information. Tim Marshall, General
Manager of CBRR, acknowledged that the Company neglected to notify the EOC within
thirty minutes of learning of the event as required WAC 480-62-310. CBRR reported the
accident to the EOC on February 28, 2018, two days after it occurred.

This information, if proven at a hearing and not rebutted or explained, is sufficient to support the
penalty assessment.

Your penalty is due and payable now. If you believe the violation did not occur, you may deny
committing the violation and contest the penalty assessment through evidence presented at a
hearing or in writing. The Commission will grant a request for hearing only if material issues of
law or fact concerning the violation require consideration. of evidence and resolution in a
hearing. Any contest of the penalty assessment must include a written statement of the reasons
supporting that contest. Failure to provide such a statement will result in denial of the contest.
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If there is a reason for any the violation that you believe should excuse you from the penalty, you
may ask for mitigation (reduction) of this penalty through evidence presented at a hearing or in
writing. The Commission will grant a request for hearing only if material issues of law or fact
require consideration of evidence and resolution in a hearing. Any request for mitigation must
-include a written statement of the reasons supporting that request. Failure to provide such a
statement will result in denial of the request. See RCW 81.04.405.

If you properly present your request for a hearing and the Commission grants that request, the
Commission will review the evidence supporting your dispute of the violation or application for
mitigation in a Brief Adjudicative Proceeding before an administrative law judge. The
administrative law judge will consider the evidence and will notify you of his or her decision.

You must act within 15 days after receiving this notice to do one of the following:
e Pay the amount due. ‘ -
e Contest the occurrence of the violation.
e Request mitigation to contest the amount of the penalty.

Please indicate your selection on the enclosed form and submit it electronically through the
Commission’s web portal within FIFTEEN (15) days after you receive this notice. If you are
unable to use the web portal, you may submit it via email to records@utc.wa.gov. If you are
unable to submit the form electronically, you may send a paper copy to the Washington Utilities
and Transportation Commission, Post Office Box 47250, Olympia, Washington 98504-7250.

If you do not act within 15 days, the Commission may take additional enforcement action,
including but not necessarily limited to suspending or revoking your certificate to provide
regulated service, assessing additional penalties, or referring this matter to the Office of the
Attorney General for collection.

DATED at Olympia, Washington, and effective March 20, 2018.

/s/ Rayne Pearson
RAYNE PEARSON
Director, Administrative Law Division
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WASHINGTON UTILITIES AND TRANSPORTATION COMMISSION
PENALTY ASSESSMENT TR-180175

PLEASE NOTE: You must complete and sign this document, and send it to the Commission
within 15 days after you receive the penalty assessment. Use additional paper if needed.

I have read and understand RCW 9A.72.020 (printed below), which states that making false
statements under oath is a class B felony. I am over the age of 18, am competent to testify to the
matters set forth below and I have personal knowledge of those matters. I hereby make, under
oath, the following statements.

[ 1 1. Payment of penalty. [ admit that the violation occurred and enclose $200 in payment
of the penalty.

[ ]2. Contest the violation. I believe that the alleged violation did not occur for the reasons I
describe below (if you do not include reasons supporting your contest here, your
request will be denied):

[ ] a) Iask forahearing to present evidence on the information I provide above to
an administrative law judge for a decision

OR [ ] b) [Iask for a Commission decision based solely on the information I provide
above.

[ 1 3. Application for mitigation. I admit the violation, but I believe that the penalty should
be reduced for the reasons set out below (if you do not include reasons supporting
your application here, your request will be denied):

[ ] a) Iask forahearing to present evidence on the information I provide above to
an administrative law judge for a decision

OR [ ]b) Iaskfora Commission decision based solely on the information I provide
above.

I declare under penalty of perjury under the laws of the State of Washington that the foregoing,
including information I have presented on any attachments, is true and correct.

Dated: [month/day/year], at [city, state]

Name of Respondent (company) — please print Signature of Applicant
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RCW 9A.72.020:

“Perjury in the first degree. (1) A person is guilty of perjury in the first degree if in any official
proceeding he makes a materially false statement which he knows to be false under an oath
required or authorized by law. (2) Knowledge of the materiality of the statement is not an
element of this crime, and the actor’s mistaken belief that his statement was not material is not a
defense to a prosecution under this section. (3) Petjury in the first degree is a class B felony.”



