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[bookmark: _GoBack]WASHINGTON UTILITIES AND TRANSPORTATION COMMISSION

NOTICE OF PENALTIES INCURRED AND DUE
FOR VIOLATIONS OF LAWS AND RULES


PENALTY ASSESSMENT: D-151105
PENALTY AMOUNT: $1,000


Supergraphics, Inc.
2040 15th Ave. West
Seattle, WA 98119 

[bookmark: OLE_LINK1][bookmark: OLE_LINK2]The Washington Utilities and Transportation Commission (Commission) believes you have violated Revised Code of Washington (RCW) 19.122.040(2)(a) by failing to determine the precise location of underground facilities that have been marked. In addition, the Commission also believes you have violated RCW 19.122.030(6)(c) by performing an excavation after a dig ticket expired and violated RCW 19.122.053(1) by not reporting damage to the Commission. RCW 19.122.070(1) states, in part, that violation of any provision of the chapter is subject to a civil penalty of not more than one thousand dollars for an initial violation and not more than five thousand dollars for each subsequent violation within a three-year period.

The Commission reviewed findings and recommendations made by the Washington State Dig Law Safety Committee (Safety Committee) and hereby notifies you that it is assessing a penalty against you in the amount of $1,000 on the following grounds:

On February 10, 2015, Comcast Communications (Comcast) filed a complaint with the Safety Committee alleging that on June 18, 2013, Supergraphics, Inc., (Supergraphics) performed an excavation at 1235 NW Maple Street in Issaquah, WA, and damaged Comcast’s underground fiber optic line. On May 1, 2013, Supergraphics contacted the National Ticket Mangement SystemWashington One Call (One Call) to request utility locates before commencing excavation on the installation of a business sign. On May 6, 2013, Comcast properly marked the location of its underground utilities. Supergraphics did not begin excavation of the work site until June 18, 2013, which was 48 days after  the original utility locate request.  

RCW 19.122.040(2)(a) requires an excavator to determine the precise location of underground facilities that have been marked and use reasonable care to avoid damaging the faculties. Additionally, RCW 19.122.030(6)(c) states that facility operator’s markings of underground facilities are only valid for 45 days from the date the excavator called in the locate request to a one-number locator service. If the excavation occurs after that date, a new locate request must be submitted by the excavator. If damage occurs during an excavation, RCW 19.122.053(1) requires that the party who observes or causes the damage must report it to the Commission. 

On May 6, 2015, the Safety Committee reviewed the complaint and found that Supergraphics violated RCW 19.122.040(2) by excavating without determining the precise location of the underground facilities that had been previously marked. In addition, the Safety Committee found that Supergraphics violated 19.122.030(6)(c) by excavating on an expired dig ticket and violated RCW 19.122.053(1) by not reporting damage to the Commission. 

The Safety Committee recommended that the Commission assess a $1,000 penalty for these violations, and that Supergraphics owners and installation crews’ complete Dig Safe training through the National Utility Contractor’s Association (NUCA) within 90 days of the Commission’s review and confirmation of this decision. If Supergraphics commits further violations of RCW 19.122 within a 12-month period from the Commission’s confirmation date, then future penalty amounts could be increased up to $5,000.

Pursuant to RCW 19.122.150(3), the Commission has considered the Safety Committee’s determination and adopts its recommendation. The Commission believes this is a serious offense and warrants the maximum penalty, as the Safety Committee recommends. Therefore, the Commission assesses a penalty of $1,000 and attendance at Dig Safe training for the company owners or representatives, provided through NUCA, within 90 days of the date of this Penalty Assessment.  

This information the Safety Committee provided to the Commission, if proved at a hearing and not rebutted or explained, is sufficient to support the penalty assessment.

Your penalty is due and payable now. If you believe the violations did not occur, you may deny committing the violation and contest the penalty assessment through evidence presented at a hearing or in writing. The Commission will grant a request for hearing only if material issues of law or fact concerning the violation require consideration of evidence and resolution in a hearing. Any contest of the penalty assessment must include a written statement of the reasons supporting that contest. Failure to provide such a statement will result in denial of the contest. 

If there is a reason for the violation that you think should excuse you from the penalty, you may ask for mitigation (reduction) of this penalty through evidence presented at a hearing or in writing. The Commission will grant a request for hearing only if material issues of law or fact require consideration of evidence and resolution in a hearing. Any request for mitigation must include a written statement of the reasons supporting that request. Failure to provide such a statement will result in denial of the request.



If you properly present your request for a hearing and the Commission grants that request, the Commission will review the evidence supporting your dispute of the violation or application for mitigation in a Brief Adjudicative Proceeding before an administrative law judge. The administrative law judge will consider the evidence and will notify you of his or her decision.

You must act within 15 days after receiving this notice to do one of the following:

· Pay the amount due;
· Contest the occurrence of the violation; or
· Request mitigation to contest the amount of the penalty.

Please indicate your selection on the enclosed form and send it to the Washington Utilities and Transportation Commission, Post Office Box 47250, Olympia, Washington 98504-7250, within FIFTEEN (15) days after you receive this notice.

If you do not act within 15 days, the Commission may refer this matter to the Office of the Attorney General for collection.  The Commission may then sue you to collect the penalty. 

DATED at Olympia, Washington, and effective February 17, 2016.




							GREGORY J. KOPTA
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Director, Administrative Law Division
WASHINGTON UTILITIES AND TRANSPORTATION COMMISSION
PENALTY ASSESSMENT D-151105

PLEASE NOTE: You must complete and sign this document, and send it to the Commission within 15 days after you receive the penalty assessment.  Use additional paper if needed.

I have read and understand RCW 9A.72.020 (printed below), which states that making false statements under oath is a class B felony. I am over the age of 18, am competent to testify to the matters set forth below and I have personal knowledge of those matters. I hereby make, under oath, the following statements.

[   ]  1.	Payment of penalty. I admit that the violation occurred and enclose $1,000 in payment of the penalty.

[   ]  2.	Contest the violation. I believe that the alleged violation did not occur for the reasons I describe below:



[   ]  a)	I ask for a hearing to present evidence on the information I provide above to an administrative law judge for a decision
     OR	[   ]  b)	I ask for a Commission decision based solely on the information I provide above.

[   ]  3.	Application for mitigation. I admit the violation, but I believe that the penalty should be reduced for the reasons set out below:     



[   ]  a)	 I ask for a hearing to present evidence on the information I provide above to an administrative law judge for a decision
     OR	[   ]  b)	I ask for a Commission decision based solely on the information I provide above.

I declare under penalty of perjury under the laws of the State of Washington that the foregoing, including information I have presented on any attachments, is true and correct.

Dated: __________________ [month/day/year], at ________________________ [city, state]

_____________________________________		___________________________
Name of Respondent (company) – please print		Signature of Applicant
-----------------------------------

RCW 9A.72.020:

“Perjury in the first degree.  (1) A person is guilty of perjury in the first degree if in any official proceeding he makes a materially false statement which he knows to be false under an oath required or authorized by law.  (2) Knowledge of the materiality of the statement is not an element of this crime, and the actor’s mistaken belief that his statement was not material is not a defense to a prosecution under this section.  (3) Perjury in the first degree is a class B felony.”  
 



