
WASHINGTON UTILITIES AND TRANSPORTATION COMMISSION

PENALTY ASSESSMENT TC-150981

PLEASE NOTE: You must complete and sign this document, and send it to the Commission
within 15 days after you receive the penalty assessment. Use additional paper if needed.__

I have read and understand RCW 9A.72.020 (printed below), which states that making false
statements under oath is a class B felony. I am over the age of 18, am competent to testify to the
matters set forth below and I have personal knowledge of those matters. I hereby make, under
oath, the following statements.

[ ] 1. Payment of penalty. I admit that the violations occurred. I have:

Enclosed $ in payment of the penalty

[ ]Submitted my payment of $ online at vwvw.utc.wa.gov.
My confirmation number is

[ ] 2. Request for a bearing. I believe that one or more of the alleged violations did not
occur, for the reasons I describe below, and I request a hearing based on those reasons
for a decision by an administrative law judge:

~.,.. ,~,
,:~ C-~

[ ] 3. Application for mitigation. I admit the violations, but I believe that the pe tty mould ~_
be reduced for the reasons set out below: ~ ° ~£
~,t t ow ~~~-~ , b~,~,~ s. ~~,.~ o,~• w~ C c~ 1 ~.k~r ~~ lit, 6 r~~3 ~ 5 ̀°t w
v~o-t ~ + ~ ~ ~ . wltia~. 1, recce-; u-~a ~ ~w~a-~ I ~4 ,`,- ~ ~ ~. ~ ~.-k- ,~ v
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(~ a) I ask for a hearing to present evidence on the information I provi abc~ to ' ̀̀ ?

an administrative law judge for a decision (~(; (; ~c; ~ f ~.w.., I ~,r,,,,~;5 (j~, etc. ~I~~n~_
OR ] b) I ask for a Commission decision based solely on the informatio~I provide

above.

I declare under penalty of perjury under the laws of the State of Washington that the foregoing,
including information I have presented on any attachments, is true and correct.

Dated: ~ ~ J [month/day/year], at I~ L ~ S ~ i ► Zx ~ ~ [city, state]

Name of Respondent (company) —please print Sign e of Applicant

RCW 9A.72.020:
"Perjury in the first degree. (1) A person is guilty of perjury in the first degree if in any official
proceeding he makes a materially false statement which he knows to be false under an oath
required or authorized by law. (2) Knowledge of the materiality of the statement is not an
element of this crime, and the actor's mistaken belief that his statement was not material is not a
defense to a prosecution under this section. (3) Perjury in the first degree is a class B felony."



WASHINGTON UTILITIES AND TRANSPORTATION COMMISSION

NOTICE OF PENALTIES INCURRED AND DUE ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~' ~ ~~ ~ ~

FOR VIOLATIONS OF LAWS AND RULES MQY 2 2 2p15

PENALTY ASSESSMENT: TG150981

PENALTY AMOiJNT: $1,000

STARS &STRIPES SHUTTLE SERVICE, LLC

11740 SGT ALEXANDER KENADAY ST

EL PASO, TX 79908

According to Washington Utilities and Transportation Commission (Commission) records, you

have violated Washington Administrative Code (WAC) 480-30-071, which requires auto

transportation companies to file your annual report and pay regulatory fees each year by May 1.

You did not file an annual report or pay regulatory fees by May 1, 2015.

Revised Code of Washington (RCVS 81.04.080 authorizes the Commission to assess a penalty

of $100 for each violation of a Commission rule. In the case of a continuing violation, every

day's continuance is a separate and distinct violation. The Commission interprets

noncompliance with WAC 480-30-071 beyond May 1 as a continuing violation, and assesses

penalties of $100 for each day a company fails to file its report or pay its regulatory fees after

that date.

As a result, the Commission has assessed penalties against you in the amount of $1,000 on the

following basis:

On February 27, 2015, the Commission mailed the 2014 annual report forms and

the 2015 regulatory fee packets to all auto transportation companies registered in

Washington. The instructions page for the annual report form instructed these

companies to file annual reports and pay regulatory fees by May 1, 2015. The

instructions page also stated that failure to file the annual report by May 1 would

result in penalties. The deadline for requesting an extension to file your annual

report was April 15. You did not request an extension.

As of May 15, 2015, Stars &Stripes Shuttle Service, LLC has not filed its 2014

annual report or paid its 2015 regulatory fee. May 15 is 10 business days from

May 1, resulting in a total penalty of $1,000.

Your penalty is due and payable now. If you believe the violation did not occur, you may request

a hearing to contest the penalty assessment. The Commission will grant that request only if

material issues of law or fact require consideration of evidence and resolution in a hearing. A

request for a hearing must include a written statement of the reasons supporting that request.

Failure to provide such a statement will result in denial of the request.
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If there is a reason for the violation that you think should excuse or reduce the penalty, you may
ask for mitigation (reduction) of this penalty through evidence presented at a hearing or in
writing. The Commission will grant a request for a hearing only if material issues of law or fact
require consideration of evidence and resolution in a hearing. Any request for mitigation must
include a written statement of the reasons supporting that request. Failure to provide such a
statement will result in denial of the request. See RCW 81.04.405.

If you properly present your request for a hearing and the Commission grants that request, the
Commission will review the evidence supporting your dispute of the violation or application for
mitigation in a Brief Adjudicative Proceeding, before an administrative law judge. The
administrative law judge will consider the evidence and will notify you of his or her decision.

You must act within 15 days after receiving this notice to do one of the following:

• Pay the amount due.
• Request a hearing to contest the occurrence of the violations.
• Request mitigation to contest the amount of the penalty.

Please indicate your selection on the enclosed form and send it to the Washington Utilities and
Transportation Commission, Post Office Box 47250, Olympia, Washington 98504-7250, within
FIFTEEN (15) days after you receive this notice.

If you do not act within 15 days, the Commission may refer this matter to the Office of the
Attorney General for collection, which may file suit in state court to collect the penalty. The
Commission may also initiate proceedings under WAC 480-30-171 to revoke your authority to
provide auto transportation services in Washington.

DATED at Olympia, Washington, and effective May 22, 2015.

GREGORY J. KOPTA
Administrative Law Judge


