WASHINGTON UTILITIES AND TRANSPORTATION COMMISSION

PENALTY ASSESSMENT TV-150920

PLEASE NOTE: You must complete and sign this document, and send it to the Commission within 15 days after you receive the penalty assessment. Use additional paper if needed.

I have read and understand RCW 9A.72.020 (printed below), which states that making false statements under oath is a class B felony. I am over the age of 18, am competent to testify to the matters set forth below and I have personal knowledge of those matters. I hereby make, under oath, the following statements. RECEIVED

Payment of penalty. I admit that the violations occurred. I have: [] 1.

[] Enclosed \$______ in payment of the penalty

WASH, UT. & TP. COMM [] Submitted my payment of \$______ online at www.utc.wa.gov. My confirmation number is .

JUN 08 2015

AA

- Request for a hearing. I believe that one or more of the alleged violations did not [] 2. occur, for the reasons I describe below, and I request a hearing based on those reasons for a decision by an administrative law judge: မီ
- Application for mitigation. I admit the violations, but I believe that the penalty should [**U**3.] be reduced for the reasons set out below:

Please see attached 2-page document.

- [] a) I ask for a hearing to present evidence on the information I provide above to an administrative law judge for a decision
- [46) I ask for a Commission decision based solely on the information I provide above. (attached). OR

I declare under penalty of perjury under the laws of the State of Washington that the foregoing, including information I have presented on any attachments, is true and correct.

6:5.15 Dated: MOVHER LLC SABRINA JONES Signature of Applicant RCW 9A.72.020:

"Perjury in the first degree. (1) A person is guilty of perjury in the first degree if in any official proceeding he makes a materially false statement which he knows to be false under an oath required or authorized by law. (2) Knowledge of the materiality of the statement is not an element of this crime, and the actor's mistaken belief that his statement was not material is not a defense to a prosecution under this section. (3) Perjury in the first degree is a class B felony."

Date: June 5, 2015

To: Washington Utilities and Transportation Commission

From: Movher LLC Sabrina Jones, Owner

Re: Penalty Assessment TV-150920 Request for Mitigation 2015 JUN - 8 AM 8: 46

To the Commission Staff:

This letter serves as an Application for Mitigation to the notice I received from the Washington State UTC, dated May 29, 2015, which indicated that Movher LLC is responsible for paying a \$1,000 penalty for not submitting its annual report by the required date of May 1, 2015.

While I do admit to the violation of submitting my company's annual report late this year, it is my hope that the Commission will consider reducing the amount owed.

As the sole owner of an independent, non-van line affiliated moving company that I started from the ground up in 2010, I have always done my research and my best to ensure that I was following protocol. I attended my first UTC-required training course in the spring of 2010. I have continue to make it a priority to attend the training sessions each year, ensuring that either me or my staff members attend it when it is held in Cheney. I just had two staff members there last month. I call and email the Commission staff for questions related to Tariff 15-C, and have typically had a very positive reception from your people there.

I have filed my annual report prior to May 1 every year I have been required to do so (2011, 2012, 2013, 2014) – until this year. I remember receiving the annual report in the mail in late February and filing it away, telling myself that it was due May 31. So over Memorial Day weekend I thought I'd get a "head start" on it, which is when I realized that I had the date wrong. I couldn't believe it. I had simply remembered the wrong date and while I take full responsibility for that, I wonder if the Commission could possibly send out a reminder closer and prior to that May 1 due date, via email, to the companies who received the annual report in February? As the sole owner of this company, I am responsible for the financial, managerial and marketing aspects of my company. In the first four months of the year, I am dealing with insurance renewals, annual taxes, quarterly taxes, and so on. A quick reminder would have helped me realize that I had the date wrong and hopefully avoided this penalty.

I found it disheartening that while there was no friendly reminder sent out just prior to the May 1 due date, I did receive the same exact mailing from the UTC that I OWED a penalty in three different formats: email, regular mail, and certified mail. This made me feel that I had filed my annual report late on purpose, which couldn't be further from the truth.

I look to the UTC as an educated advisor I can count on for helping me in the business of household goods moving, not as an adversary. This, however, has left a bad taste in my mouth. I strongly believe that a quick reminder sent via email or even a postcard sent via snail mail would improve your relationship with household goods carriers immensely. As a similar example, I received a mailing from the Internal Revenue Service that I had submitted a bi-weekly tax payment late and they were going to charge me a fee for that. After I contacted the IRS and informed them that I had never submitted a late payment before and that my frequency of payments had just changed, they waived the penalty. My hope is that if the IRS can be understanding, so too can the Washington State UTC.

In summary, I sincerely apologize for submitting my annual report late and guarantee that it will not happen again (I have added it to my calendar as a recurring annual "to-do").

Thank you for your time and consideration.

Sincerely, Sabrina Jones Owner Movher LLC

509-822-8868 movher@gmail.com