		

[bookmark: _GoBack] WASHINGTON UTILITIES AND TRANSPORTATION COMMISSION

NOTICE OF PENALTIES INCURRED AND DUE
FOR VIOLATIONS OF LAWS AND RULES


PENALTY ASSESSMENT: D-143815
PENALTY AMOUNT: $1,000


Advance Environmental, Inc. 
3620 49th Ave. SW
Olympia, WA 98512

[bookmark: OLE_LINK1][bookmark: OLE_LINK2]The Washington Utilities and Transportation Commission (Commission) believes that you have violated Revised Code of Washington (RCW) 19.122.030(1)(a) by failing to request a dig ticket prior to performing an excavation. RCW 19.122.070(1) states, in part, that violation of any provision of the chapter is subject to a civil penalty of not more than one thousand dollars for an initial violation and not more than five thousand dollars for each subsequent violation within a three-year period.

The Commission reviewed findings and recommendations made by the Washington State Dig Law Safety Committee (Safety Committee) and hereby notifies you that it is assessing a penalty against you in the amount of $1,000 on the following grounds:

On March 12, 2014, Advance Environmental, Inc. (Advance Environmental) performed an excavation as part of an oil tank removal for a private residence located in Lacey, Washington. Prior to beginning work, Advance Environmental failed to request a dig ticket from a one-number locator service. 

RCW 19.122.030(1)(a) requires that before commencing any excavation, an excavator must mark the boundary of the excavation area with white paint, then provide notice of the scheduled commencement of excavation to all facility operators through a one-number locator service.  

On July 16, 2014, the property owner filed a complaint with the Safety Committee. The complainant alleged that Advance Environmental damaged a sewer line while removing the oil tank and also failed to request a dig ticket prior to beginning work. 

On September 10, 2014, the Safety Committee considered the complaint.  Advance Environmental admitted that it did not request a dig ticket, but the company defended its actions on the grounds that it believed it was not required to request a dig ticket because it was excavating on private property.  The statute, however, contains no such exception.
 
The Safety Committee found that Advance Environmental violated RCW 19.122.030(1)(a), by failing to request a dig ticket prior to performing an excavation. The Safety Committee recommended that the Commission assess a $1,000 penalty for this violation, with a stipulation that the $1,000 be deferred if Advance Environmental agrees to “Dig Safe” Training for the owner and his staff within 90 days of the Commission’s review and confirmation of this decision. If Advance Environmental either fails to attend the training, or commits a further violation of RCW 19.122.030 within a 12-month period from the Commission’s confirmation date, then the $1,000 will be due and payable at that time. 

Pursuant to RCW 19.122.150(3), the Commission has considered the Safety Committee’s determination and adopts its recommendation. The Commission assesses a penalty of $1,000 but will waive that penalty on the conditions that (1) Advance Environmental’s owner and staff attend “Dig Safe” training, provided through the National Utility Contractors Association (NUCA), within 90 days of the date of this Penalty Assessment; and (2) Advance Environmental commits no further violations of RCW 19.122.030 within the next 12 months.

This information the Safety Committee provided to the Commission, if proved at a hearing and not rebutted or explained, is sufficient to support the penalty assessment.

Your penalty is due and payable now. If you believe the violations did not occur, you may request a hearing to contest the penalty assessment. The Commission will grant that request only if material issues of law or fact require consideration of evidence and resolution in a hearing. A request for a hearing must include a written statement of the reasons supporting that request. Failure to provide such a statement will result in denial of the request. If there is a reason for the violation that you think should excuse you from the penalty, you may ask for mitigation (reduction) of this penalty through evidence presented at a hearing or in writing. A request for mitigation must include a written statement of the reasons supporting that request. Failure to provide such a statement will result in denial of the request.

If you properly present your request for a hearing and the Commission grants that request, the Commission will review the evidence supporting your dispute of the violation or application for mitigation in a Brief Adjudicative Proceeding before an administrative law judge. The administrative law judge will consider the evidence and will notify you of his or her decision.



You must act within 15 days after receiving this notice to do one of the following:

· Pay the amount due;
· Notify the Commission that you accept the offer to waive the penalty on condition that Advance Environmental’s owner and staff attend the “Dig Safe” training provided through NUCA and commit no further violations of RCW 19.122.030 within the next 12 months;
· Request a hearing to contest the occurrence of the violation; or
· Request mitigation to contest the amount of the penalty.

Please indicate your selection on the enclosed form and send it to the Washington Utilities and Transportation Commission, Post Office Box 47250, Olympia, Washington 98504-7250, within FIFTEEN (15) days after you receive this notice.

If you do not act within 15 days, the Commission may refer this matter to the Office of the Attorney General for collection.  The Commission may then sue you to collect the penalty. 

DATED at Olympia, Washington, and effective December 9, 2014.




							GREGORY J. KOPTA
Director, Administrative Law Division
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WASHINGTON UTILITIES AND TRANSPORTATION COMMISSION
PENALTY ASSESSMENT D-143815

PLEASE NOTE: You must complete and sign this document, and send it to the Commission within 15 days after you receive the penalty assessment. Use additional paper if needed.

I have read and understand RCW 9A.72.020 (printed below), which states that making false statements under oath is a class B felony. I am over the age of 18, am competent to testify to the matters set forth below and I have personal knowledge of those matters. I hereby make, under oath, the following statements.

[   ]  1.	Payment of penalty. I admit that the violation occurred and enclose $1,000 in payment of the penalty.

[   ]  2.	Request for a hearing. I believe that the alleged violation did not occur for the reasons I describe below, and I request a hearing based on those reasons for a decision by an administrative law judge:




[   ]  3.	Application for mitigation. I admit the violation, but I believe that the penalty should be reduced for the reasons set out below:     




[   ]  a)	I ask for a hearing to present evidence on the information I provide above 			to an administrative law judge for a decision
     OR	[   ]  b)	I ask for a Commission decision based solely on the information I provide above.

[   ]  4.	Attend training. I admit that the violation occurred and accept the Commission’s offer to waive the penalty on condition that Advance Environmental’s owner and staff attend the “Dig Safe” training provided through NUCA, submit documentation of that attendance to the Commission within five (5) days of attending the training, and commit no further violations of RCW 19.122.030 within the next 12 months.

I declare under penalty of perjury under the laws of the State of Washington that the foregoing, including information I have presented on any attachments, is true and correct.

Dated: __________________ [month/day/year], at ________________________ [city, state]

_____________________________________		___________________________
Name of Respondent (company) – please print		Signature of Applicant
-----------------------------------

RCW 9A.72.020:

“Perjury in the first degree. (1) A person is guilty of perjury in the first degree if in any official proceeding he makes a materially false statement which he knows to be false under an oath required or authorized by law. (2) Knowledge of the materiality of the statement is not an element of this crime, and the actor’s mistaken belief that his statement was not material is not a defense to a prosecution under this section. (3) Perjury in the first degree is a class B felony.”  
