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Washington Utilities and Transportation Commission
P.O. Box 47250
Olympia, Washington 98504-7250

To Whom It May Concern,
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Quality Telephone, Inc. received a notice on August 6™, 2012 from the Washington
Utilities and Transportation Commission assessing a penalty in the amount of $1,050 fofP
untimely filings of annual reports dated August 1%, 2012,

We were given 15 days to respond to the notice. We would like to request that the
penalty be mitigated. Currently Quality Telephone, Inc. has no customers in the State of
Washington and is planning on having our license surrendered prior to the end of this
year. Our last customer line was disconnected in October of 2011.

Over the past four years Quality Telephone, Inc. has had no obligation to pay after
completing the Regulatory Fee Calculation Schedule due to a very small customer base in
the Washington market. This being said a $1,050 fine on a zero dollar obligation seems a
bit unjust.

Respectfully Submitted,

fauner) Find

Jeremy Reed

Regulatory Analyst

Quality Telephone, Inc.
0:(241) 884-1725

F: (972) 546-9991
regulatory(@qtelephone.com

P.O. Box 130659 ¢ Dallas, TX 75313 * 214-884-1750 * 877-329-0031 fax * 888-884-0750
gtelregulatory@gqtelephone.com
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SERVICE DATE

AUG - T 2012
WASHINGTON UTILITIES AND TRANSPORTATION COMMISSION

NOTICE OF PENALTIES INCURRED AND DUE
FOR VIOLATIONS OF LAWS AND RULES

PENALTY ASSESSMENT: UT-121003
PENALTY AMOUNT: $1,050

Quality Telephone, Inc.
600 N. Pearl St., Suite S104
Dallas, TX 75201

According to the Commission’s records, you have committed a violation of Commission rule:
Washington Administrative Code (WAC) 480-120-382, which requires competitively classified
telecommunications companies to file annual reports with the Commission by May 1 each year
and pay regulatory fees annually on that date. You are classified as a telecommunication
company. Commission records show that you did not file an annual report or pay annual
regulatory fees by May 1, 2012.

Revised Code of Washington (RCW) 81.04.405 authorizes the Commission to assess. penal@s of
$100 for violations of Commission rules. Each and every such violation shall be a}seyarate qid
distinct offense and, in the case of a continuing violation, every day’s continuance: spali be #ad
be deemed to be a separate and distinct violation. The Commission interprets nonwmpllanee-

with WAC 480-120-382 as continuing violations, giving rise to penalties of $100 fof eat
company fails to make each requisite filing after the date on which it was due. -

As a result, the Commission hereby notifies you that it has assessed penalties agalnst you 1n&e
amount $1,050 on the following basis:

On February 29, 2012, the Commission mailed 2011 Annual Report forms and
2012 Regulatory Fee packets to all telecommunication companies registered in
Washington state. A letter from the commission’s Executive Secretary David W.
Danner, instructed these companies to file annual reports and pay regulatory fees
by May 1, 2012. The letter stated failure to file the annual report by May 1 would
result in a penalty and possible cancellation of the company’s permit to operate in
Washington. Those companies wishing to request an extension to file the annual
report were asked to do so prior to April 24, providing a reason for the requested
extension. You did not request an extension.

Quality Telephone, Inc. filed its annual report on May 21, 2012, which is 14

business days past the deadline of May 1. The penalty was mitigated from $100
per day to $25 per day for a total of $350. Quality Telephone, Inc. also received
penalties for failing to file annual reports by the deadline in 2008 and 2009. The
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prior penalties increase the 2011 penalty by an additional $50 per day for a total
of $700.

Your penalty is due and payable now. If you believe the violation did not occur, you may request
a hearing to contest the penalty assessment. If there is a reason for the violation that you think
should excuse you from the penalty, you may ask for mitigation (reduction) of this penalty. See
RCW 81.04.405.

You have the right to present your request for review or further mitigation at a hearing, but you
are not required to do so. If you do, the Commission will review the evidence supporting your
request in an informal hearing, called a Brief Adjudicative Proceeding, before an administrative
law judge. The administrative law judge will consider your plea and notify you of his or her
decision.

You must act within 15 days after receiving this notice to do one of the following:

e Pay the amount due.
e Request a hearing to contest the occurrence of the violations.
* Request mitigation to contest the amount of the penalty.

Please indicate your selection on the enclosed form and send it to the Washington Utilities and
Transportation Commission, Post Office Box 47250, Olympia, Washington 98504-7250, within -
FIFTEEN (15) days after you receive this notice.

If you do not act within 15 days, the Commission may refer this matter to the Office of the
Attorney General for collection. The Commission will then sue you to collect the penalty.

DATED at Olympia, Washington, and effective August 1, 2012.

PR

GREGORY J. KOPTA
Administrative Law Judge




WASHINGTON UTILITIES AND TRANSPORTATION COMMISSION
PENALTY ASSESSMENT UT-121003

PLEASE NOTE: You must complete and sign this document, and send it to the Commission
within 15 days after you receive the penalty assessment. Use additional paper if needed.

I have read and understand RCW 9A.72.020 (printed below), which states that making false
statements under oath is a class B felony. I am over the age of 18, am competent to testify to the

matters set forth below and I have personal knowledge of those matters. I hereby make, under
oath, the following statements.

[ 11 Payment of penalty. I admit that the violations occurred. I have:

[ ]Enclosed $1,050 in payment of the penalty

[ ] Submitted my payment of $1, 050 online at www.utc.wa.gov. My confirmation
number is

[ 1 2. Request for a hearing. I believe that one or more of the alleged violations did not
occur, based on the following information, and request a hearing, which is a process
that allows an affected person to present argument to an administrative law judge fol
decision by an administrative law judge: ;

P<T 3. Application for mitigation. I admit the violations, but I believe that the penalty sh
be reduced for the reason(s) set out below.

NO OBLYGATIMN Dug TN THE LAST FouR Fxno YEARS

00 Ewd 0l 9ny i

P> a) Iask for a hearing for a decision by an administrative law judge based on the
information presented above. '
OR [ ] b) Iwaive ahearing and ask for an administrative decision on the information I
present directly above.

[ declare under penalty of perjury under the laws of the State of Washington that the foregoing,
including information I have presented on any attachments, is true and correct.

Dated: 03 l 0b l 2014 [month/day/year], a _DAQ.AS T X [city, state]
Terc

Name of Respondent (company) — please print gnatur pplicant

RCW 9A.72.020:

“Perjury in the first degree. (1) A person is guilty of perjury in the first degree 1f in any official
proceeding he makes a materially false statement which he knows to be false under an oath
required or authorized by law. (2) Knowledge of the materiality of the statement is not an
element of this crime, and the actor’s mistaken belief that his statement was not material is not a
defense to a prosecution under this section. (3) Perjury in the first degree is a class B felony.”



