SERVICE DATE
JUL 17 2012

WASHINGTON UTILITIES AND TRANSPORTATION COMMISSION

NOTICE OF PENALTIES INCURRED AND DUE 6)

LU
FOR VIOLATIONS OF LAWS AND RULES k- R

et Q PENALTY ASSESSMENT: TR-120876
& o S N | PENALTY AMOUNT: $1,900
BATILE w YACOLT, & CHELATCHIE
PRAIRI ROAD ASSOCIATION
PO @1‘271
BATILE GROUND, WA 98604 -

According to the Commission’s records, you have committed a violation of Commission rule:
Washington Administrative Code (WAC) 480-62-300, which requires railroad companies tg file. .
annual reports with the Commission by May 1 each year and pay regulatory fees @mu@lly% tha‘t

date. You are classified as a railroad company. Commission records show that yoq—é anot@e an :
annual report or pay annual regulatory fees by May 1, 2012. 5_3

Revised Code of Washington (RCW) 81.04.405 authorizes the Commission to a e
$100 for violations of Commission rules. Each and every such violation shall be a° s@parate afd 02
distinct offense and, in the case of a continuing violation, every day’s continuance-shall be md T
be deemed to be a separate and distinct violation. The Commission interprets noncompliancgs
with WAC 480-62-300 as continuing violations, giving rise to penalties of $100 for each day a
company fails to make each requisite filing after the date on which it was due.

As a result, the Commission hereby notifies you that it has assessed penalties against you in the
amount of $1,900 on the following basis:

On February 29, 2012, the Commission mailed 2011 Annual Report forms and
2012 Regulatory Fee packets to all railroad companies registered in Washington
state. A letter from the commission’s Executive Secretary David W. Danner,
instructed these companies to file annual reports and pay regulatory fees by May
I, 2012. The letter stated failure to file the annual report by May 1 would result in
a penalty and possible cancellation of the company’s permit to operate in
Washington. Those companies wishing to request an extension to file the annual
report were asked to do so prior to April 24, providing a reason for the requested
extension. You did not request an extension.

Battle Ground, Yacolt, & Chelatchie Prairie Railroad Association filed its annual
report on May 29, 2012, which is 19 business days past the deadline of May 1.
The penalty is $100 per day for a total of $1,900.

Your penalty is due and payable now. If you believe the violation did not occur, you may request
a hearing to contest the penalty assessment. If there is a reason for the violation that you think
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WASHINGTON UTILITIES AND TRANSPORTATION COMMISSION
PENALTY ASSESSMENT TR-120876

PLEASE NOTE: You must complete and sign this document, and send it to the Commission
within 15 days after you receive the penalty assessment. Use additional paper if needed.

[ have read and understand RCW 9A.72.020 (printed below), which states that making false

statements under oath is a class B felony. I am over the age of 18, am competent to testify to_the -3
matters set forth below and I have personal knowledge of those matters. I hereby make, un =
oath, the following statements.

[ ] 1. Payment of penalty. I admit that the violations occurred. I have:

[ ]Enclosed $1,900 in payment of the penalty

[ ] Submitted my payment of $1,900 online at www.utc.wa.gov. My conﬁfmatiori
number is

[ 1 2. Request for a hearing. I believe that one or more of the alleged violations did not
occur, based on the following information, and request a hearing, which is a process
that allows an affected person to present argument to an administrative law judge for a
decision by an administrative law judge:

[)(] 3. Application for mitigation. I admit the violations, but I believe that the penalty should .
be reduced for the reason(s) set out below. l)JJYL W (,’W o4 'U»uga mwﬁo&m

Aupg hacomed. Laos Ltluwnee ﬁm%mw%
Ao evdd %‘L i é:z:’ 2)Ihe 7, ﬂ*}‘i’l‘gj‘;f {‘g:}?mm @ﬂ\.d 'M"fz‘g i:ﬁ
QWW u,k,&d/ i ) tide Yy x,w/{l& ,Mé-u—c/ uu;bun \S/dt‘l-{,faj(@)/u 0z fn,a,
% bny (/9 (f"j i a) I ask for'a heanng for a decision by an administrative law judge based on the rg %’Y g‘»

o

information presented above.
OR [ ] b) Iwaive ahearing and ask for an administrative decision on the information I
present directly above.

“J&m

[ declare under penalty of perjury under the laws of the State of Washington that the foregomg,
including information I have presented on any attachments, is true and correct.

,'L’)’

)

Dated: Q“ g L. 2012 . [month/day/year], at ﬁdﬁe /i‘)wwwﬁ WA [city, state] (n & 2
i 4 sk Ol e Ricrol Tmenes Yl dung 552 55T
Name of Respondent ompany) please print Signature of Applicant 5 < §§& N3
> .
Psbofuen L g th pcu?»wna,((m&ah{’m&a noedl e Pty 00 Je) 3 @Lg
RCW 9A.72.020: §§ﬁ$;
“Perjury in the first degree. (1) A person is guilty of perjury in the first degree if in any official R~ <

o

proceeding he makes a materially false statement which he knows to be false under an oath
required or authorized by law. (2) Knowledge of the materiality of the statement is not an
element of this crime, and the actor’s mistaken belief that his statement was not material is not a
defense to a prosecution under this section. (3) Perjury in the first degree is a class B felony.”
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