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February 22, 2010 | WASH. UT & TP COMM
To Whom It May Concern:

Re Penalty Assessment TE-100267

We do not run Charters under CWA. It runs a schedule only.

I called Tom McVaugh at the UTC when we received the request to report in December.
I reminded Tom that the UTC has made the same error for the last several years and that
we respond in the same way each time, which is to call and remind that we don’t run
Charters, so can’t complete this form.

Tom must simply have forgotten to note in the file that we don’t run charters in CWA.

Since we communicated to the UTC that we were sent the form in error, I don’t think we
should be liable for any penalties.

Sincerely

Richard Johnson
President, CWA
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WASHINGTON UTILITIES AND TRANSPORTATION COMMISSION

NOTICE OF PENALTIES INCURRED AND DUE
FOR VIOLATIONS OF LAWS AND RULES

PENALTY ASSESSMENT: TE-100267
PENALTY AMOUNT: $100

CWA, INC.
1416 WHITEHORN STREET
FERNDALE, WASHINGTON 98248

The Washington Utilities and Transportation Commission (Commission) believes that you
have committed a violation of Washington Administrative Code (WAC) 480-30-071 which
requires charter and excursion carriers to file annual reports with the Commission by
December 31 each year. You are classified as such a company. Commission records show
that you did not make the filing by the required date of December 31, 2009. Revised Code of
Washington (RCW) 81.04.405 allows penalties of $100 for every such violation. Each and
every such violation shall be a separate and distinct offense and, in the case of a continuing
violation, every day’s continuance shall be and be deemed to be a separate and distinct
violation. -

As a result, the Commission hereby notifies you that it has assessed penalties against you in
the amount $100, as follows:

On November 3, 2009, the Commission mailed 2009 Annual Safety Report
forms and 2010 Regulatory Fee packets to charter and excursion carriers
registered in Washington State. A letter from Executive Director and Secretary
David W. Danner instructed companies to file annual safety reports and pay
regulatory fees by December 31, 2009. Further, the letter stated failure to file
the annual safety report by December 31 would result in a penalty and possible
cancellation of the company’s permit to operate in Washington. Those
companies wishing to request an extension to file the annual safety report were
asked to do so prior to December 31, providing a reason for the requested
extension. You did not request an extension.

On January 15, 2010, the Commission sent letters to those companies that had
not yet filed their reports. The letter, signed by David W. Danner, gave an
extension to companies to file their reports by January 29, 2010. In the letter,
Mr. Danner stated the Commission would not seek to penalize any company
with a report received postmarked by January 29, 2010.




PENALTY ASSESSMENT TE-100267 PAGE 2

As of February 17, 2010, CWA, Inc., failed to file the 2009 Annual Safety Report.

* This.information, if proved at a hearing and not rebutted or explamed is sufficient to support
the penalty assessment.

Your penalty is due and payable now. If you believe the violation did not occur, you may
request a hearing to contest the penalty assessment. If there is a reason for the violation that
you think should excuse you from the penalty, you may ask for mitigation (reduction) of this
_ penalty. See RCW 81.04.405.

You have the right to present your request for review or mitigation at a hearing, but you are
not required to do so. If you do, the Commission will review the evidence supporting your
request in an informal hearing, called a Brief Adjudicative Proceeding, before an
administrative law judge. The administrative law judge will consider your plea and notify
you of his or her decision. ’

You must act within 15 days after receiving this notice to do one of the following:

e Pay the amount due.
e Request a hearing to contest the occurrence of the violations.
e Request mitigation to contest the amount of the penalty.

Please indicate your selection on the enclosed form and send it to the Washington Utilities
and Transportation Commission, Post Office Box 47250, Olympla Washington 98504-7250,
within FIFTEEN (15) days after you receive this notice.

If you do not act within 15 days, the Commission may refer this matter to the Office of the
Attorney General for collection. The Commission may then sue you to collect the penalty.

DATED at Olympia, Washington, and effective February Q/, 2010.

42500

ANN E. RENDAHL
Administrative Law Judge




WASHINGTON UTILITIES AND TRANSPORTATION COMMISSION
PENALTY ASSESSMENT TE-100267

PLEASE NOTE: You must complete and sign this document, and send it to the
Commission within 15 days after you receive the penalty assessment. Use additional paper if
needed.

I have read and understand RCW 9A.72.020 (printed below), which states that making false

- statements under oath is a class B felony. I am over the age of 18, am competent to testify to
the matters set forth below and I have personal knowledge of those matters. I hereby make,
under oath, the following statements.

[ 11. Payment of penalty. I admit that the violation occurred and enclose $100 in
payment of the penalty.

[ ] 2. Request for a hearing. I believe that the alleged violation did not occur, based on
the following information, and request a hearing for a decision by an administrative
law judge:

S

J/}' 3. Application for mitigation. I admit the violation, but I believe that the penalty
should be reduced for the reason(s) set out below.
[ 1 a) Iaskfora hearing for a decision by an administrative law judge
OR /M/b) I waive a hearing and ask for an administrative decision on the information
B I present here:

I declare under penalty of perjury under the laws of the State of Washington that the
foregoing, including information I have presented on any attachments, is true and correct.

Dated: &/ ﬂ/ @) [month/day/year], at éfﬂa/@/fl 73 [city, state]
Kochuet Tebrson

Name of Respondent (company) — please print Signature of Applicant

RCW 9A.72.020:

“Perjury in the first degree. (1) A person is guilty of perjury in the first degree if in any
official proceeding he makes a materially false statement which he knows. to be false under
an oath required or authorized by law. (2) Knowledge of the materiality of the statement is
not an element of this crime, and the actor’s mistaken belief that his statement was not ‘
material is not a defense to a prosecution under this section. (3) Perjury in the first degree is a
class B felony.” :



