WASHINGTON UTILITIES AND TRANSPORTATION COMMISSION

NOTICE OF PENALTIES INCURRED AND DUE
FOR VIOLATIONS OF LAWS AND RULES

PENALTY ASSESSMENT NO: TE-061282
PENALTY AMOUNT: $4,100

CHARTER PASSENGER CARRIER:

Monroe Transportation LTD d/b/a Chinook Charter Service
- Post Office Box 13193

Mill Creek, Washington 98082

The commission believes that you have committed one or more violations of Washington
Administrative Codes (WAC) 480-40-070 and 480-40-075, which adopt by reference Title
49, Code of Federal Regulations (CFR) 391, 393 and 396.

As aresult, the commission hereby notifies you that it has assessed penalties against you in
the amount $4,100, as follows:

On May 30, 2006, Investigators Tom McVaugh and Alan Dickson began a
compliance review on Monroe Transportation LTD d/b/a Chinook Charter
Service (Chinook). The review ended on June 21, 2006, with an inspection of
all vehicles owned/operated by Chinook. At the conclusion of the review, -
Chinook received a satisfactory safety rating. However, Mr, McVaugh and Mr.
Dickson identified a total of 41 violations of CFR. The violations identified
during the review are as follows:

e One violation of WAC 480-40-070, which adopts by reference Title 49,

CFR 391.21(a), using a driver who has not completed and furnished an
_ employment application.

¢ Two violations of WAC 480-40-070, which adopts by reference Title
49, CFR 391.45(b)(1), using a driver that is not medically certified
during the preceding 24 months.

¢ One violation of WAC 480-40-075, which adopts by reference Title 49,
CFR 393.47, failing to equip a motor vehicle with brake lining
adequate to provide for safe and reliable stopping.

e One violation of WAC 480-40-075, which adopts by reference Title 49,
CFR 393.9, operating a motor vehicle with an inoperable high beam
head light.

e One violation of WAC 480-40-075, whlch adopts by reference Title 49,
CFR 393.209(e), operating a motor vehicle with loose steermg
connection.
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¢ One violation of WAC 480-40-075, which adopts by reference Title 49,
CFR 396.3A1BA, operating a motor vehicle with steer axle brake out
of adjustment.

e One violation of WAC 480-40-075, which adopts by reference Title 49,
CFR 393.51, operating a motor vehicle with an inoperable low air
warning device.

e One violation of WAC 480-40-075, which adopts by reference Title 49,
CFR 393.75(a), operating a motor vehicle with a flat tire (less than 50%
of maximum pressure marked on sidewall).

e One violation of WAC 480-40-075, which adopts by reference Title 49,
CFR 393.207(e), operating a motor vehicle with cracked or broken
torsion bar or torsion bar suspension.

s Two violations of WAC 480-40-075, which adopts by reference Title
49, CFR 393.62, failing to maintain push-out or escape windows in
operating condition. ,

e Two violations of WAC 480-40-075, which adopts by reference Title
49, CFR 396.3(a)(2), failing to inspect push-out windows, emergency
doors and emergency marking lights in buses at least every 90 days.

s Seventeen violations of WAC 480-40-075, which adopts by reference

- Title 49, CFR 396.3(c), failing to retain records of inspection and
maintenance for one year, or six months after leaving motor carrier’s
control.

o Two violations of WAC 480-40-075, which adopts by reference Title
49, CFR 396.5(b), failing to ensure that vehicle is free of oil and/or
grease leaks.

o Three violations of WAC 480-40-075, which adopts by reference Title
49, CFR 396.11(c), failing to correct safety related defects listed on
vehicle inspection reports. _

e Five violations of WAC 480-40-075, which adopts by reference Title
49, CFR 396.3(b)(3), failing to keep a record of inspection, repairs and
maintenance indicating their date and nature.

This information, if proved at a hearing and not rebutted or explained, is sufficient to support
the penalty assessment.

Your penalty is due and payable now. If you believe the violation did not occur, you may
request a hearing to contest the penalty assessment. If there is a reason for the violation that
~you think should excuse you from the penalty, you may ask for mitigation (reduction) of this

penalty. See RCW 81.04.405. '
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You have the right to present your request for review or mitigation at a hearing, but you are
not required to do so. If you do, the commission will review the evidence supporting your
request in an informal hearing, called a Brief Adjudicative Proceeding, before an

‘administrative law judge. The administrative law judge will consider your plea and notify
you of his or her decision.

You must act within 15 days after receiving this notice to do one of the following:

e Pay the amount due.
‘e Request a hearing to contest the occurrence of the violations.
e Request mitigation to contest the amount of the penalty.

Please indicate your selection on the enclosed form and send it to the Washington Utilities -
and Transportation Commission, Post Office Box 47250, Olympia, Washington 98504-7250,
within FIFTEEN (15} days after you receive this notice.

If you do not act within' 15 days, the commission may refer this matter to the Office of the
Attorney General for collection. The commission may then sue you to collect the penalty.

DATED at Olympia, Washington, and effective August 2., 2006,

[ v
C.ROBERT WALLIS
Administrative Law Judge




WASHINGTON UTILITIES AND TRANSPORTATION COMMISSION
PENALTY ASSESSMENT, Docket No. TE-061282

PLEASE NOTE: You must complete and sign this document, and send it to the Commission
within 15 days after you receive the penalty assessment. Use additional paper if needed.

I have read and understand RCW 9A.72.020 (printed below), which states that making false
statements under oath is a class B felony. I am over the age of 18, am competent to testify to
the matters set forth below and I have personal knowledge of those matters, I hereby make,
under oath, the following statements.

[ 1 1. Payment of penalty. I admit that the violation occurred and enclose $1,000 in
payment of the penalty.

[ 1 2. Request for a hearing. I believe that the alleged violation did not occur, based on the
following information, and request a hearing for a decision by an administrative law
judge:

[ 1 3. Application for mitigation. I admit the violation, but I believe that the penalty
should be reduced for the reason(s) set out below.
[ 1 a) Lask for a hearing for a decision by an administrative law judge
OR [ 1 b) Iwaive a hearing and ask for an administrative decision on the information
I present here.

I declare under penaity of perjury under the laws of the State of Washington that the
foregoing, including information I have presented on any attachments, is true and correct.

Dated: . , at

[month/day/year] [city, state]
Name of Respondent (company) — please print - Signature of Applicant
RCW 9A.72.020:

“Perjury in the first degree. (1) A person is guilty of perjury in the first degree if in any
official proceeding he makes a materially false statement which he knows to be false under
an oath required or authorized by law. (2) Knowledge of the materiality of the statement is
not an element of this crime, and the actor’s mistaken belief that his statement was not
material is not a defense to a prosecution under this section. (3) Perjury in the first degree is a
class B felony.”




