       WASHINGTON UTILITIES AND TRANSPORTATION COMMISSION
           NOTICE OF PENALTIES INCURRED AND DUE FOR VIOLATIONS
                                         OF LAWS AND REGULATIONS
                                                                    PENALTY ASSESSMENT NO: TV-060403
                                                                                        PENALTY AMOUNT: $100.00

HOUSEHOLD GOODS CARRIER:

Tunisia Quarels and Jermaine Lewis

d/b/a Movers 4 Less

9021 Hosmer Apt. #C

Tacoma, WA  98444

The commission believes that Tunisia Quarels and Jermaine Lewis (Lewis) committed one or more violations of Washington State laws or commission rules, specifically, WAC 480-15-570 (3)(a)(D) which requires all drivers to be medically examined and certified. The commission has adopted by reference the Title 49, Code of Federal Regulations, requiring drivers to have medical exams and have medical certificates placed each driver’s qualification file. As a result, the commission hereby notifies you that it has addressed penalties against Lewis in the amount of $l00.00.  The basis for this penalty assessment is as follows:

In December 2003, Motor Carrier Safety Investigator Leon Macomber conducted 

a safety inspection on your company. At that time, he found one driver without a driver’s medical certificate, which is a violation of WAC 480.15.570 (3)(a) (D).                        .
On February 13, 2006, another safety inspection was conducted, and Mr. Macomber found that your company was using the same driver without having conducted a medical exam and placing a medical certificate in his qualification file. As a result, the commission is assessing a $l00.00 penalty against Lewis for one violation of WAC 480.15.570 (3)(a)(D).

Penalties are due and payable upon receipt of this penalty notice. If for any reason you believe the violations described did not occur, you may request a hearing to contest the occurrence of the violations. If you have an explanation as to why the violations occurred, or have other facts you believe the commission should have considered, RCW 8l.04.405 provides that you make application for mitigation of this penalty. To do so,
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complete the enclosed mitigation form and return it to the Washington Utilities and Transportation Commission, Post Office Box 47250, Olympia, Washington  98504-7250, within FIFTEEN (15) days of your receipt of this penalty notice. You may, although you are not required to, present your request for mitigation at a hearing. The commission will consider your plea and notify you of its determination.

If you would like a hearing to contest either the occurrence of the violations or the amount of the penalty, please state why you believe a hearing is called for in your circumstances.

Failure to request a hearing to contest the occurrence of the violations or the amount of the penalty, return the mitigation plea, or pay the amount due within 15 days will cause the commission to refer this matter to the Office of the Attorney General for collection.  Suit may then be brought against you and after trial, judgment may be entered against you.

DATED at Olympia, Washington and effective March       2006.

                                                                   MARK H. SIDRAN, Chairman

                                                                   PATRICK J. OSHIE, Commissioner

                                                                   PHILIP B. JONES, Commissioner
