WASHINGTON UTILITIES AND TRANSPORTATION COMMISSION

NOTICE OF PENALTIES INCURRED AND DUE FOR VIOLATIONS OF
LAWS RULES AND REGULATIONS

PENALTY ASSESSMENT NO: TV-051758
PENALTY AMOUNT: $200.00

HOUSEHOLD GOODS CARRIER
Yakima Transfer and Storage Company
7 West Mead Avenue

Yakima, WA 98902

The Commission believes that Yakima Transfer and Storage Company (Yakima
Transfer) committed one or more violations of Washington State Laws or
Commission rules; specifically, WAC 480-15-560, which requires that all motor
vehicles must at all times have their vehicles maintained in a safe condition and
be free of defects likely to result in an accident or breakdown. As a result, the
Commission hereby notifies you that it has assessed penalties against Yakima
Transfer in the amount of $200.00. The basis for this penalty assessment is as
follows:

On July 19, 2005, Motor Carrier Safety Investigator Leon Macomber performed a
compliance review. Out of the four vehicles inspected, Investigator Macomber
placed one out of service for serious defects. When Investigator Macomber
performed a safety recheck on October 25, 2005, he placed two out of the four
vehicles inspected out of service for defective break adjustments. The vehicle
out-of-service ratio rose from 25% in July to 50% in October. As a result, the
Commission is assessing a $100.00 penalty against Yakima Transfer for one
violation of WAC 480-15-560 for each vehicle placed out of service, for a total
penalty of $200.00.

Penalties are due and payable upon receipt of this penalty notice. If for any
reason you believe the violations described did not occur, you may request a
hearing to contest the occurrence of the violations. If you have an explanation as
to why the violations occurred, or have other facts you believe the Commission
should have considered, RCW 81.04.405 provides that you may make
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Application for mitigation of this penalty. To do so, complete the enclosed
mitigation form and return it to the Washington Utilities and Transportation
Commission, Post Office Box 47250, Olympia, Washington 98504-7250, within
FIFTEEN (15) days of your receipt of this penalty notice. You may, although you
are not required to, present your request for mitigation at a hearing. The
Commission will consider your plea and notify you of its determination.

If you would like a hearing to contest either the occurrence of the violations or
the amount of the penalty, please state why you believe a hearing is called for in
your circumstances.

Failure to request a hearing to contest the occurrence of the violations or the
amount of the penalty, return the mitigation plea, or pay the amount due within
15 days will cause the Commission to refer this matter to the Office of the
Attorney General for collection. Suit may then be brought against you and after
trial, judgment may be entered against you.

DATED at Olympia, Washington and effective this /57@ of December, 2005.

G S el

MARK H. SIDRAN, Chairman

PATRICK J. OSHIE, Commissioner

PHILIP B. JONES, Cognmissioner
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I have read and understand RCW 9.72.030, which prescribes penalties for making false

affidavits (printed below), and hereby make, under oath, application for mitigation of
the penalties (as described on the attached form), for the following reasons:

NOTE: This form must be completed, signed and notarized, and received by the
Commission within 15 days of your receipt of this form.

I swear that the foregoing is a true and complete statement of the facts in this case.

Signature of Applicant

Sworn to and subscribed before me
this___ day of
20

NOTARY PUBLIC in and for the
State of Washington, residing in

RCW 9.72.030:

"Perjury-Second Degree: Every person who, whether orally or in writing, and whether
as a volunteer or in a proceeding or investigation authorized by law, shall knowingly
swear falsely concerning any matter whatsoever shall be guilty of perjury in the second
degree and shall be punished by imprisonment in the state penitentiary for not more
than five years or by imprisonment in the county jail for not more than one year."



