Service Date: December 30, 2024

#### WASHINGTON UTILITIES AND TRANSPORTATION COMMISSION

# NOTICE OF PENALTIES INCURRED AND DUE FOR VIOLATIONS OF LAWS AND RULES

PENALTY ASSESSMENT: DG-240971 PENALTY AMOUNT: \$1,000 Investigation # 9057

**EMAIL SERVICE** 

Wade Metz Michael Walsh Zach Fencl Terrene Ventures, LLC d/b/a Terrene Homes 2630 116<sup>th</sup> Ave NE Bellevue, WA 98004 Admin@terrenehomes.com Zachf@terrenehomes.com UBI: 602-986-472 Phone: (425) 822-8848

## YOU MUST RESPOND WITHIN 15 DAYS OF THIS NOTICE

The Washington Utilities and Transportation Commission (Commission) believes that Terrene Ventures, LLC d/b/a Terrene Homes (Terrene Homes or Company) violated Revised Code of Washington (RCW) 19.122.055(1)(a) by failing to notify the one-number locate service and causing damage to an underground gas facility.

RCW 19.122.055(1)(a) states, in part, that excavators who fail to notify a one-number locator service and cause damage to an underground gas facility are subject to a civil penalty of not more than \$10,000 for each violation.

Commission staff (Staff) conducted an investigation that included reviewing damage reports, investigation reports, the One-Call Center database, and communications with the Company. The documents reviewed identified a natural gas event that involved Terrene Homes damaging a natural gas facility while excavating without a valid locate ticket.

The Commission reviewed findings and recommendations made by Staff and hereby notifies you that it is assessing a \$1,000 penalty (Penalty Assessment) against you on the following grounds:

# 1. Alleged Violation:

On October 9, 2024, Terrene Homes was excavating at 11505 Southeast 85<sup>th</sup> St., Newcastle, Washington. While excavating, Terrene Homes workers struck and damaged an underground Puget Sound Energy (PSE) natural gas facility. The Damage Information Reporting Tool (DIRT) report submitted by PSE on November 19, 2024, indicated that Terrene Homes was excavating without a valid request to locate underground utilities.

# 2. Analysis:

The alleged violation concerns RCW 19.122.055(1)(a), which states, in part, that an excavator must contact the one-number locate center before beginning excavation. On October 9, 2024, Terrene Homes was excavating when it caused damage to a PSE 5/8-inch gas service line. The Gas First Response (GFR) report submitted by PSE states that the Company was excavating with a trackhoe bucket when it caused the damage. The ELM report submitted by PSE states that the damage happened because Terrene Homes did not have a locate request.

On December 19, 2024, Staff spoke with Terrene Homes who admitted causing the damage and acknowledged it did not have a locate request. The Company explained that they are very familiar with the Dig Law and the requirements around digging in the tolerance zone. The Company explained that it had been waiting for PSE who was supposed to arrive and do a cut and cap. When PSE never arrived, the Company proceeded with excavation since it saw locate marks already on the ground. The Company denied causing the damage with a trackhoe bucket and explained that the damage happened when it pulled up on a root while hand digging.

Staff reviewed the One-Call Center ticket database and did not find a valid locate ticket for Terrene Homes. Staff did find a locate ticket #24378609 for this address that was valid at the time of the damage, however it was for a different contractor. Staff reviewed information about the Company on file with the Secretary of State and found that Terrene Homes has been in business since 2010 and identifies as a business in operation for administration and business support services and real estate.

The Commission considered the following factors in determining the appropriate penalty amount for the violation:

## 1. How serious or harmful the violation is to the public.

This incident could have been significantly more harmful to Terrene Homes workers, utility technicians, nearby homeowners, and the public, and it could have resulted in severe injury and/or loss of property.

#### 2. Whether the violation is intentional.

The violation appears to be due to negligence rather than a lack of knowledge of Washington State's Dig Law. Over the past 12 months, Terrene Homes has submitted no requests to the One-Call Center for locates. The last noted locate ticket submitted by Terrene Homes was dated October 25, 2021. The Company employee who caused the damage is the Land Manager for Terrene Homes and self-described as knowledgeable about the Dig Law. This demonstrates Terrene Homes knowledge of requirements and its responsibility to contact the one-number locate service before beginning excavation.

#### 3. Whether the company self-reported the violation.

Terrene Homes did not self-report the violation. The Commission became aware of the violation when PSE filed a DIRT report.

#### 4. The likelihood of recurrence.

The likelihood of recurrence depends on the Company's actions going forward and its willingness to notify the one-number locate service every time before beginning excavation.

## 5. The Company's previous violations.

On October 9, 2015, the Commission mailed an Alleged Violation of Washington Dig Law letter to Terrene Homes. The letter included detailed information about Washington State's Underground Utility Damage Prevention Act, requirements for submitting utility locate requests before excavating, and the possibility of penalties for each violation. The Commission mailed the letter after receiving a report of damage caused by Terrene Homes on July 1, 2015, that occurred because the Company failed to submit a request to locate underground utilities before excavating.

The Commission has considered these factors and determined that it should penalize Terrene Homes as follows:

- \$1,000 penalty for one violation of RCW 19.122.055(1)(a) with an offer to suspend an \$800 portion of the penalty for one year, and then waive it, subject to the conditions that:
  - 1) Company management and field crew responsible for excavation complete Dig Safe Training provided through the National Utility Contractors Association (NUCA) within 90 days of this Penalty Assessment;
  - 2) The Company must submit documentation of that attendance to the Commission; and
  - 3) The Company must not commit any further violations of RCW 19.122 within 12 months of the date of this Penalty Assessment.

These facts, if proven at a hearing and not rebutted or explained, are sufficient to support the Penalty Assessment.

Your penalty is due and payable now. If you believe the violation did not occur, you may deny committing the violation and contest the penalty through evidence presented at a hearing or in writing. Or, if there is a reason for the violation that you believe should excuse you from the penalty, you may ask for mitigation (reduction) of the penalty through evidence presented at a hearing or in writing. The Commission will grant a request for a hearing only if material issues of law or fact require consideration of evidence and resolution in a hearing. Any request to contest the violation or for mitigation of the penalty must include a written statement of the reasons supporting that request. Failure to provide such a statement will result in denial of the request. See RCW 81.04.405.

If you properly present your request for a hearing and the Commission grants that request, the Commission will review the evidence supporting your dispute of the violation or application for mitigation in a Brief Adjudicative Proceeding before an administrative law judge. The administrative law judge will consider the evidence and will notify you of their decision.

You must act within 15 days after receiving this Penalty Assessment to do one of the following:

• Pay the \$1,000 penalty amount due; or

- Pay \$200 and notify the Commission that you accept the offer to suspend an \$800 portion of the penalty amount subject to the following conditions:
  - Company management and field crew responsible for excavation must complete NUCA Dig Safe Training (<a href="https://utc-9183.quickbase.com/db/bpkt6vndh">https://utc-9183.quickbase.com/db/bpkt6vndh</a>) within 90 days of service of this Penalty Assessment; and
  - The Company must submit documentation of that attendance to the Commission; and
  - o The Company must not incur any additional violations of RCW 19.122 within 12 months of the date of this Penalty Assessment; or
- Request a hearing to contest the occurrence of the violation; or
- Request mitigation to reduce the amount of the penalty.

Please indicate your selection on the enclosed form and submit it electronically through the Commission's web portal at <a href="https://efiling.utc.wa.gov/Form">https://efiling.utc.wa.gov/Form</a> within FIFTEEN (15) days after you receive this Penalty Assessment. If you are unable to use the web portal, you may submit it via email to records@utc.wa.gov. If you are unable to submit the form electronically, you may send a paper copy to the Washington Utilities and Transportation Commission, PO Box 47250, Olympia, Washington 98504-7250.

If you wish to make your payment online, please use this link: Make a Payment Now (wa.gov). 1

**If you do not act within 15 days,** the Commission may refer this matter to the Office of the Attorney General for collection.

DATED at Lacey, Washington, and effective December 30, 2024.

/s/ James E. Brown II JAMES E. BROWN II Acting Director, Administrative Law Division

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>1</sup> https://www.utc.wa.gov/documents-and-proceedings/online-payments/make-payment-now.

### WASHINGTON UTILITIES AND TRANSPORTATION COMMISSION

PENALTY ASSESSMENT DG-240971 Investigation # 9057

**PLEASE NOTE:** You must complete and sign this document and send it to the Commission within 15 days after you receive the Penalty Assessment. Use additional paper if needed.

I have read and understand RCW 9A.72.020 (printed below), which states that making false statements under oath is a class B felony. I am over the age of 18, competent to testify to the matters set forth below, and I have personal knowledge of those matters. I hereby make, under oath, the following statements:

[ ] 1. **Payment of penalty.** I admit that the violation occurred:

OR	portal.			
[ ] 2.				
[ ] 3.	3. Contest the violation. I believe that the alleged violation did not occur for the I describe below (if you do not include reasons supporting your contest her request will be denied):			
OR	<ul> <li>[ ] a) I ask for a hearing to present evidence on the information I provide above to an administrative law judge for a decision.</li> <li>[ ] b) I ask for a Commission decision based solely on the information I provide above.</li> </ul>			
[ ] 4.	<b>Request mitigation.</b> I admit the violation, but I believe that the penalty should be reduced for the reasons set out below ( <b>if you do not include reasons supporting your application here, your request will be denied</b> ):			
	[ ] a) I ask for a hearing to present evidence on the information I provide above to an administrative law judge for a decision.			

OR	[ ] b)	I ask for a Commission decision ba above.	sed solely on the information I provide
		enalty of perjury under the laws of thation I have presented on any attachn	e state of Washington that the foregoing nents, is true and correct.
Dated:		[Month/Day/Year], at _	[City, State]
Name of Respondent (Company) – please print			Signature of Applicant

RCW 9A.72.020 "Perjury in the first degree."

- (1) A person is guilty of perjury in the first degree if in any official proceeding he or she makes a materially false statement which he or she knows to be false under an oath required or authorized by law.
- (2) Knowledge of the materiality of the statement is not an element of this crime, and the actor's mistaken belief that his or her statement was not material is not a defense to a prosecution under this section.
- (3) Perjury in the first degree is a class B felony.