Service Date: October 28, 2024

WASHINGTON UTILITIES AND TRANSPORTATION COMMISSION

NOTICE OF PENALTIES INCURRED AND DUE FOR VIOLATIONS OF LAWS AND RULES

PENALTY ASSESSMENT: DG-240742 PENALTY AMOUNT: \$2,500 Investigation # 8952

EMAIL SERVICE

Kenneth and Carla Otter Landtek Enterprises, Inc. 6664 Woodlyn Rd Ferndale, WA 98248 office@landtekenterprises.com UBI: 602-562-557 Phone: (360) 815-1066

YOU MUST RESPOND WITHIN 15 DAYS OF THIS NOTICE

The Washington Utilities and Transportation Commission (Commission) believes that Landtek Enterprises, Inc. (Landtek Enterprises or Company) violated Revised Code of Washington (RCW) 19.122.055(1)(a) by failing to notify the one-number locate service and causing damage to an underground gas facility.

RCW 19.122.055(1)(a) states, in part, that excavators who fail to notify a one-number locator service and cause damage to an underground gas facility are subject to a civil penalty of not more than \$10,000 for each violation.

Commission staff (Staff) conducted an investigation that included reviewing damage reports, investigation reports, the One Call Center database, and communications with the Company. The documents reviewed identified a natural gas event that involved Landtek Enterprises damaging a natural gas facility while excavating without a valid locate ticket.

The Commission reviewed findings and recommendations made by Staff and hereby notifies you that it is assessing a \$2,500 penalty (Penalty Assessment) against you on the following grounds:

1. Alleged Violation:

On July 29, 2024, Landtek Enterprises was excavating at 2622 Sievers Way, Ferndale, Washington. While excavating, Landtek Enterprises workers struck and damaged an underground Cascade Natural Gas Corporation (CNGC) natural gas facility. The Damage Information Reporting Tool (DIRT) report submitted by CNGC on August 13, 2024, indicated that Landtek Enterprises was excavating without a valid request to locate underground utilities.

2. Analysis:

The alleged violation concerns RCW 19.122.055(1)(a), which states, in part, that an excavator must contact the one-number locate center before beginning excavation. CNGC

emailed Staff on September 20, 2024, and confirmed that Landtek Enterprises damaged a gas line on July 29, 2024, at 2622 Sievers Way, Ferndale, WA. CNGC provided the First Responder Report that noted 911 called to notify CNGC that a gas line was hit at 2622 Sievers Way and gas was escaping. CNGC included pictures that appear to show the damaged gas line. CNGC provided the CNG 293 Leak Investigation Record (CNG 293) on October 3, 2024. The CNG 293 noted that the contractor was digging with an excavator and broke a 3/4" gas line without a valid request to locate underground utilities.

On September 26, 2024, Landtek Enterprises responded to Staff via email and admitted to causing the damage. Landtek Enterprises stated that they were digging and nicked the service line to the house. The Company noted that there were locates completed on the lot next door, and the damaged gas line was not located even though it was connected to the area that had been located. On October 4, 2024, Staff sent an email to Landtek Enterprises requesting clarification regarding the locate. Landtek Enterprises did not respond.

Staff searched the Washington One Call ticket center database and found six locate tickets called in by Landtek Enterprises for Ferndale, WA, but the requests were made after the date of damage to the gas service line. Staff did not find a valid locate ticket for this location.

The Commission considered the following factors in determining the appropriate penalty amount for the violation:

1. How serious or harmful the violation is to the public.

This incident could have been significantly more harmful to Landtek Enterprises workers, utility technicians, nearby homeowners, and the public, and it could have resulted in severe injury and/or loss of property.

2. Whether the violation is intentional.

The violation appears to be due to negligence rather than a lack of knowledge of Washington State's Dig Law. Over the past 12 months, Landtek Enterprises has submitted 37 requests to the One Call Center for locates. This demonstrates Landtek Enterprises' knowledge of requirements and its responsibility to contact the one-number locate service before beginning excavation.

3. Whether the company self-reported the violation.

Landtek Enterprises did not self-report the violation. The Commission became aware of the violation when CNGC filed a DIRT report.

4. The likelihood of recurrence.

The likelihood of recurrence depends on the Company's actions going forward and its willingness to notify the one-number locate service every time before beginning excavation.

5. The Company's previous violations and penalties.

• Warning Letters

On March 6, 2020, and February 25, 2021, the Commission mailed Alleged Violation of Washington Dig Law letters to Landtek Enterprises. The letters included detailed information about Washington State's Underground Utility Damage Prevention Act, requirements for submitting utility locate requests before excavating, and the possibility of penalties for each violation. The Commission mailed the letters after receiving reports of damage caused by Landtek Enterprises on August 27, 2019, and June 8, 2020, respectively, that occurred because the Company failed to submit requests to locate underground utilities before excavating.

Penalty Assessments

- On February 1, 2023, the Commission issued Landtek Enterprises a Penalty Assessment of \$1,000 for one violation of RCW 19.122.055(1)(a) in Docket DG-230011.
- On May 16, 2024, the Commission issued Landtek Enterprises a Penalty Assessment of \$2,500 for one violation of RCW 19.122.055(1)(a) in Docket DG-240311.

The Commission has considered these factors and determined that it should penalize Landtek Enterprises, Inc. as follows:

• \$2,500 penalty for one violation of RCW 19.122.055(1)(a).

These facts, if proven at a hearing and not rebutted or explained, are sufficient to support the Penalty Assessment.

Your penalty is due and payable now. If you believe the violation did not occur, you may deny committing the violation and contest the penalty through evidence presented at a hearing or in writing. Or, if there is a reason for the violation that you believe should excuse you from the penalty, you may ask for mitigation (reduction) of the penalty through evidence presented at a hearing or in writing. The Commission will grant a request for a hearing only if material issues of law or fact require consideration of evidence and resolution in a hearing. Any request to contest the violation or for mitigation of the penalty must include a written statement of the reasons supporting that request. Failure to provide such a statement will result in denial of the request. See RCW 81.04.405.

If you properly present your request for a hearing and the Commission grants that request, the Commission will review the evidence supporting your dispute of the violation or application for mitigation in a Brief Adjudicative Proceeding before an administrative law judge. The administrative law judge will consider the evidence and will notify you of their decision.

<u>You must act within 15 days after receiving this Penalty Assessment</u> to do one of the following:

- Pay the \$2,500 penalty amount due; or
- Request a hearing to contest the occurrence of the violation; or

• Request mitigation to reduce the amount of the penalty.

Please indicate your selection on the enclosed form and submit it electronically through the Commission's web portal at https://efiling.utc.wa.gov/Form within FIFTEEN (15) days after you receive this Penalty Assessment. If you are unable to use the web portal, you may submit it via email to records@utc.wa.gov. If you are unable to submit the form electronically, you may send a paper copy to the Washington Utilities and Transportation Commission, PO Box 47250, Olympia, Washington 98504-7250.

If you wish to make your payment online, please use this link: Make a Payment Now (wa.gov).

If you do not act within 15 days, the Commission may refer this matter to the Office of the Attorney General for collection.

DATED at Lacey, Washington, and effective October 28, 2024.

/s/ James E. Brown II

JAMES E. BROWN II

Acting Director, Administrative Law Division

¹ https://www.utc.wa.gov/documents-and-proceedings/online-payments/make-payment-now.

WASHINGTON UTILITIES AND TRANSPORTATION COMMISSION

PENALTY ASSESSMENT DG-240742 Investigation # 8952

PLEASE NOTE: You must complete and sign this document and send it to the Commission within 15 days after you receive the Penalty Assessment. Use additional paper if needed.

I have read and understand RCW 9A.72.020 (printed below), which states that making false statements under oath is a class B felony. I am over the age of 18, competent to testify to the matters set forth below, and I have personal knowledge of those matters. I hereby make, under oath, the following statements:

[] 1.	Payment of penalty. I admit that the violation occurred: [] Enclose \$2,500 in payment of the penalty.		
OR		st that I have paid the penalty in full the	rough the Commission's payment
[] 2.	Contest the violation. I believe that the alleged violation did not occur for the reasons I describe below (if you do not include reasons supporting your contest here, your request will be denied):		
	[] a)	I ask for a hearing to present evidence	-
OR	[] b)	an administrative law judge for a deci I ask for a Commission decision base above.	
[] 3.	Request mitigation. I admit the violation, but I believe that the penalty should be reduced for the reasons set out below (if you do not include reasons supporting you application here, your request will be denied):		
	[] a)	I ask for a hearing to present evidence an administrative law judge for a deci	-
OR	[] b)	ž Č	
		enalty of perjury under the laws of the sation I have presented on any attachmen	<u> </u>
Dated: _		[Month/Day/Year], at	[City, State]
Name o	f Respond	dent (Company) – please print	Signature of Applicant

RCW 9A.72.020 "Perjury in the first degree."

- (1) A person is guilty of perjury in the first degree if in any official proceeding he or she makes a materially false statement which he or she knows to be false under an oath required or authorized by law.
- (2) Knowledge of the materiality of the statement is not an element of this crime, and the actor's mistaken belief that his or her statement was not material is not a defense to a prosecution under this section.
- (3) Perjury in the first degree is a class B felony.