Service Date: January 16, 2024

WASHINGTON UTILITIES AND TRANSPORTATION COMMISSION

NOTICE OF PENALTIES INCURRED AND DUE
FOR VIOLATIONS OF LAWS AND RULES

PENALTY ASSESSMENT: DG-230993
PENALTY AMOUNT: $10,000
Investigation # 8752

Bradley Meyer Phone: (509) 595-0993
17150 Leon Rd
Genesee, ID 83832

YOU MUST RESPOND WITHIN 15 DAYS OF THIS NOTICE

The Washington Utilities and Transportation Commission (Commission) believes that Bradley
Meyer (Meyer or Respondent) violated Revised Code of Washington (RCW) 19.122.055(1)(a) by
failing to notify the one-number locate service and causing damage to an underground gas facility
and RCW 19.122.090 for excavating' without a valid excavation confirmation code? within thirty-
five feet of a transmission pipeline®.

RCW 19.122.055(1)(a) states, in part, that excavators* who fail to notify a one-number locator
service and cause damage to an underground gas facility are subject to a civil penalty of not more
than $10,000 for each violation.

RCW 19.122.090 states, any excavator who excavates without a valid excavation confirmation
code when required, within thirty-five feet of a transmission pipeline is guilty of a misdemeanor.

Commission staff (Staff) conducted an investigation that included reviewing damage reports,
investigation reports, a review of the One Call Center database, and attempted communications
with Respondent. The documents reviewed identified a natural gas event that resulted from
Respondent hitting a transmission pipeline and damaging a natural gas facility while excavating
without a valid locate ticket.

'RCW 19.122.020(8) "Excavation" and "excavate" means any operation, including the installation of signs, in which
earth, rock, or other material on or below the ground is moved or otherwise displaced by any means.

2RCW 19.122.020(9) "Excavation confirmation code" means a code or ticket issued by a one-number locator service
for the site where an excavation is planned. The code must be accompanied by the date and time it was issued.

3 RCW 19.122.020(26) "Transmission pipeline" means a pipeline that transports hazardous liquid or gas within a
storage field, or transports hazardous liquid or gas from an interstate pipeline or storage facility to a distribution main
or a large volume hazardous liquid or gas user, or operates at a hoop stress of twenty percent or more of the specified
minimum yield strength.

4RCW 19.122.020(10) "Excavator" means any person who engages directly in excavation.
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The Commission reviewed the findings and recommendations made by Staff and hereby notifies
you that it is assessing a $10,000 penalty (Penalty Assessment) against you on the following
grounds:

1.

Alleged Violation RCW 19.122.055(1)(a):

On November 8, 2023, Respondent was excavating at parcel #200004415281859, milepost
27 Highway 195, in Whitman County, WA. While excavating, Respondent struck and
damaged an underground Northwest Pipeline LLC (NW Pipeline) interstate natural gas
transmission pipeline. Information obtained from NW Pipeline indicated Respondent was
excavating without a valid request to locate underground utilities.

Analysis:

The alleged violation concerns RCW 19.122.055(1)(a), which states, in part, that an
excavator must contact the one-number locate center before beginning excavation. On
November 8, 2023, Respondent was pulling a large pipe installation plow behind a tractor
in an agriculture field to install a 4” drain line on the property. The leading bottom edge of
the plow struck an underground 12-inch steel transmission line and tore a large diameter
hole in the top of the pipeline. The depth to the top of the pipeline at the location of the
damage was 41 inches, which met the minimum required depth of 30 inches. The pressure
of the blowing gas caused the plow to break away from the tractor and fly up and over the
top of the tractor.

Staff reviewed the One Call ticket center database and did not find a locate request for this
location. Staff attempted to reach Respondent by telephone on December 18 and 19, 2023,
and left messages requesting further information and an interview with Respondent, but
there has been no response. First responders to the incident reported Respondent told them
he was aware of a law requiring excavators to contact 811 but didn’t seem to think the
plow activity on private land qualified as excavating. Respondent expressed frustration and
confusion as to why there were gas lines on the property and claimed not to know that the
lines were there.

Alleged Violation RCW 19.122.090:

On November 8, 2023, Respondent was excavating at parcel #200004415281859, milepost
27 Highway 195, in Whitman County, WA. While excavating, Respondent struck and
damaged an underground NW Pipeline interstate natural gas transmission line. Information
obtained from N'W Pipeline indicated Respondent was excavating without a valid request
to locate underground utilities.

Respondent caused significant damage to the NW Pipeline transmission line and did not
have a valid code to be excavating within thirty-five feet of a transmission line. This
violation of the Dig Law is a misdemeanor, and criminal statutes are not within the
jurisdiction of the Commission. The Commission considered this jurisdictional issue and is
referring this alleged violation to the Whitman County Prosecuting Attorney office for
consideration of criminal charges.

The Commission considered all of the following factors in determining the appropriate penalty
amount for Alleged Violation 1:
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1. How serious or harmful the violation is to the public.
The shutdown of the damaged pipeline resulted in one of the largest natural gas
outages in United States history and affected approximately 37,000 customers in
Washington and Idaho. Many of the affected customers were without heat and hot
water for up to a week in 30° temperatures while repair and service restoration
efforts were underway. This incident could have been significantly more harmful to
Respondent, family members, nearby homeowners, and the public, and could have
resulted in serious injury or death. The approximate results of this damage incident
include customer losing service for over 153 hours, more than $5 million in damage
and repairs, and 10.671 MMCEF of natural gas lost.

2. Whether the violation is intentional.
The violation appears to be due to negligence rather than a lack of knowledge
regarding Washington State’s dig law, RCW 19.122 (Dig Law). However, Staff
was unable to obtain Respondent’s perspective or scope of knowledge regarding the
Dig Law due to the lack of response from Respondent following Staff inquiries.

3. Whether the company self-reported the violation.
The Respondent did immediately notify emergency responders; however,
Respondent has not been available for further information during this investigation.

The Commission has considered these factors and due to the aggravating circumstances identified
by the extent of damages caused, determined that it should penalize Respondent as follows:

Violation 1 $10,000 penalty for one violation of RCW 19.122.055(1)(a)
Violation 2 Referred to Whitman County Prosecuting Attorney

These facts, if proven at a hearing and not rebutted or explained, are sufficient to support the
Penalty Assessment.

Your penalty is due and payable now. If you believe the violation did not occur, you may deny
committing the violation and contest the penalty through evidence presented at a hearing or in
writing. Alternatively, if there is a reason for the violation that you believe should excuse you from
the penalty, you may ask for mitigation (reduction) of the penalty through evidence presented at a
hearing or in writing. The Commission will grant a request for hearing only if material issues of
law or fact require consideration of evidence and resolution in a hearing. Any request to contest the
violation or for mitigation of the penalty must include a written statement of the reasons
supporting that request. Failure to provide such a statement will result in denial of the request. See
RCW 81.04.405.All filings with the Commission must comply with the Commission’s filing rules
as outlined in Washington Administrative Code (WAC) 480-07-140, WAC 480-07-141, and WAC
480-07-160. Any filing to contest the violation, or for mitigation of the penalty, must include a
written statement of the reasons supporting that request.

If you properly file your request for mitigation or a hearing, the Commission will review the
evidence supporting your dispute of the violation or application for mitigation in an adjudicative
proceeding before an administrative law judge. The administrative law judge will consider the
evidence and will notify you of their decision.
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You must act within 15 days after receiving this Penalty Assessment to do one of the
following:

e Pay the $10,000 penalty amount due; or
e Request a hearing to contest the occurrence of the violations; or
e Request mitigation to reduce the amount of the penalty.

Please indicate your selection on the enclosed form and submit it electronically, along with any
other information required in the Commission’s above referenced filing rules, through the
Commission’s web portal at https://efiling.utc.wa.gov/Form within FIFTEEN (15) days after you
receive this Penalty Assessment. If you are unable to use the web portal, you may submit it via
email to records@utc.wa.gov. If you are unable to submit the form electronically, you may send a
paper copy to the Washington Utilities and Transportation Commission, PO Box 47250, Olympia,
Washington 98504-7250.

If you wish to make your payment online, please use this link: Make a Payment Now (wa.gov).>

If you do not act within 15 days, the Commission may refer this matter to the Office of the
Attorney General for collection.

DATED at Lacey, Washington, and effective January 16, 2024.
/s/Michael Howard

MICHAEL HOWARD
Director, Administrative Law Division

5 https://www.utc.wa.gov/documents-and-proceedings/online-payments/make-payment-now.



https://efiling.utc.wa.gov/Form
https://gcc02.safelinks.protection.outlook.com/?url=https%3A%2F%2Fwww.utc.wa.gov%2Fdocuments-and-proceedings%2Fonline-payments%2Fmake-payment-now&data=05%7C01%7Cpaige.doyle%40utc.wa.gov%7C9cb022d51a5643d6a62b08db0960304f%7C11d0e217264e400a8ba057dcc127d72d%7C0%7C0%7C638114080949081842%7CUnknown%7CTWFpbGZsb3d8eyJWIjoiMC4wLjAwMDAiLCJQIjoiV2luMzIiLCJBTiI6Ik1haWwiLCJXVCI6Mn0%3D%7C3000%7C%7C%7C&sdata=LCe1LJN4m2K2jG%2FPg4tyJshn%2B1zgimsevw8pedLstG8%3D&reserved=0
https://www.utc.wa.gov/documents-and-proceedings/online-payments/make-payment-now
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WASHINGTON UTILITIES AND TRANSPORTATION COMMISSION
PENALTY ASSESSMENT DG-230993 Investigation # 8752

PLEASE NOTE: You must complete and sign this document and send it to the Commission
within 15 days after you receive the penalty assessment. Use additional paper if needed.

I have read and understand RCW 9A.72.020 (printed below), which states that making false
statements under oath is a class B felony. I am over the age of 18, am competent to testify to the
matters set forth below, and I have personal knowledge of those matters. I hereby make, under
oath, the following statements:

1. Payment of penalty. I admit that the violation occurred:

Enclose $10,000 in payment of the penalty.

OR Attest that I have paid the penalty in full through the Commission’s payment
portal.

2. Contest the violation. I believe that the alleged violation did not occur for the reasons
I describe below (if you do not include reasons supporting your contest here, your
request will be denied):

a) I ask for a hearing to present evidence on the information I provide above to
an administrative law judge for a decision.

OR b) Iask for a Commission decision based solely on the information I provide

above.

3. Request mitigation. I admit the violation, but I believe that the penalty should be
reduced for the reasons set out below (if you do not include reasons supporting your
application here, your request will be denied):

a) I ask for a hearing to present evidence on the information I provide above to
an administrative law judge for a decision.

OR b) Iask for a Commission decision based solely on the information I provide

above.

I declare under penalty of perjury under the laws of the State of Washington that the foregoing,
including information I have presented on any attachments, is true and correct.

Dated: [Month/Day/Year], at [City, State]

Name of Respondent (Company) — please print Signature of Applicant
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RCW 9A.72.020 “Perjury in the first degree.”

(1) A person is guilty of perjury in the first degree if in any official proceeding he or she makes
a materially false statement which he or she knows to be false under an oath required or
authorized by law.

(2) Knowledge of the materiality of the statement is not an element of this crime, and the
actor's mistaken belief that his or her statement was not material is not a defense to a
prosecution under this section.

(3) Perjury in the first degree is a class B felony.
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