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BACKGROUND 

 
1 Revised Code of Washington (RCW) 81.80.090 provides that applications for common 

carrier permits must be accompanied by a fee as the Washington Utilities and 
Transportation Commission (Commission) may prescribe by rule. Washington 
Administrative Code (WAC) 480-14-140 requires that common carriers filing to 
reinstate permits must pay a $100 application fee to the Commission.    
 

2 WAC 480-07-110(1) provides that the Commission, on its own initiative, may grant an 
exemption from, or modify the application of, any of its rules in individual 
circumstances if the exemption or modification is consistent with the public interest, the 
purposes underlying regulation, and applicable statutes.  
 

3 On February 29, 2020, Governor Inslee issued Proclamation 20-05, which declared a 
state of emergency in all counties in the state of Washington due to the worldwide 
outbreak of COVID-19. On March 23, 2020, the Governor issued Proclamation 20-25, 
“Stay Home – Stay Healthy,” which prohibits all people in the state of Washington from 
leaving their home or place of residence except to conduct or participate in (1) essential 
activities, and/or (2) employment in providing essential business services. 

  
4 Many companies that perform services for construction companies, operate tow trucks, 

dump trucks, or perform other transportation services require common carrier permits 
for legal operation. Due to the COVID-19 outbreak, many of these common carriers 
have experienced a significant decrease in business, which further declined following 
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the Governor’s Proclamation restricting business, travel, and personal contact. 
Following the significant disruption to their businesses, many common carriers began 
struggling to afford the commercial automobile liability insurance required by WAC 
480-14-250. 

 
5 WAC 480-14-230(3)(d) requires that the Commission cancel a company’s permit when 

its insurance is cancelled or otherwise does not meet the Commission’s minimum 
insurance requirements. Many common carriers voluntarily cancelled their permits to 
avoid involuntary permit cancellation for failing to maintain adequate levels of 
insurance. 
 

6 The permits of several more common carriers that were no longer operating and could 
no longer afford vehicle liability insurance were involuntarily cancelled due to lack of 
adequate insurance. 
 

7 On May 4, 2020, Governor Inslee issued Proclamation 20-25.3 which amended the 
previous “Stay Home – Stay Healthy” orders and allowed for a phased return to normal 
business, travel and personal contact in Washington state. 
 

8 Following Proclamation 20-25.3, common carriers with cancelled permits will begin to 
apply to reinstate their permits. 
 

9 Commission staff (Staff) recommends the Commission, on its own initiative, waive the 
$100 permit reinstatement application fee for common carriers that (1) voluntarily 
cancelled their permits due to the COVID-19 outbreak and the Governor’s Proclamation 
restricting travel, or (2) can demonstrate that they were unable to afford insurance due 
to the COVID-19 outbreak and the Governor’s Proclamation restricting business, travel 
and personal contact, which lead to the involuntary cancellation of their operating 
permit. 

10 Staff therefore recommends that common carriers applying to reinstate their permits must 
meet at least one of the following conditions:   
 

(a) The applicant common carrier voluntarily cancelled its permit due to 
decreased business caused by the COVID-19 pandemic and/or the 
Governor’s Proclamations; or 
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(b) The applicant common carrier can demonstrate that it could not afford 
insurance due to decreased business caused by the COVID-19 pandemic 
and/or the Governor’s Proclamations and subsequently had their permits 
cancelled involuntarily for lack of insurance. 

 
In order for the Commission to waive the $100 permit reinstatement application fee, 
Staff further recommends that the Commission require that the common carrier apply 
for reinstatement no later than 90 days following the implementation of “Phase 4” 
throughout the entire state of Washington as outlined in Governor Inslee’s 
Proclamation 20-25.3. 

 
DISCUSSION 

 

11 We grant the exemption, on our motion, subject to the conditions that Staff recommends. 
The COVID-19 pandemic and the Governor’s Proclamations have severely limited 
business, travel, and personal contact, thus creating rapidly changing economic 
conditions for regulated common carriers. In light of these adverse, unforeseen 
circumstances, the Commission, on its own initiative, finds that it is consistent with the 
public interest to waive the application fee requirements in WAC 480-14-140 for 
common carriers who voluntarily cancelled their permits or had their permits cancelled 
involuntarily for lack of insurance due to the COVID-19 pandemic and the Governor’s 
Proclamations.   

12 We also find that the exemption is consistent with the purposes underlying regulation and 
applicable statues. WAC 480-07-110(1) provides that the Commission, on its own 
initiative, may grant an exemption from, or modify the application of, any of its rules in 
individual circumstances if the exemption or modification is consistent with the public 
interest, the purposes underlying regulation, and applicable statues. Here, granting an 
industry-wide exemption for companies that voluntarily cancelled their permits or had 
their permits cancelled involuntarily for lack of insurance due to the COVID-19 
pandemic and the Governor’s Proclamations is a more efficient use of Commission 
resources than requiring each company to submit individual requests for exemption. The 
blanket exemption also proactively addresses the economic impacts of the current public 
health crisis on the common carrier industry. Finally, granting an exemption from 
application fees will provide relief to regulated common carriers without impeding the 
Commission’s regulatory functions, including its ability to regulate in the public interest. 
We therefore find that granting the exemption is consistent with the purposes underlying 
regulation, applicable statutes, and the public interest. 
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13 Accordingly, qualifying regulated common carriers who voluntarily cancelled their 
permits or had their permits cancelled involuntarily for lack of insurance due to the 
COVID-19 pandemic and the Governor’s Proclamations are granted an exemption from 
the $100 permit reinstatement application fee subject to the conditions that Staff 
recommends in paragraph 10. 

 
FINDINGS AND CONCLUSIONS 

 
14 (1) The Commission is an agency of the State of Washington vested by statute with 

the authority to regulate the rules, regulations, and practices of motor carrier 
companies relating to acquiring common carrier permits and insurance 
requirements. 

 
15 (2) WAC 480-14-140 requires that common carriers filing to reinstate permits must 

pay a $100 application fee to the Commission. 
 

16 (3) WAC 480-07-110(1) provides that the Commission, on its own initiative, 
may grant an exemption from, or modify the application of, any of its rules 
in individual circumstances if the exemption or modification is consistent 
with the public interest, the purposes underlying regulation, and applicable 
statues. 

 
17 (4) The COVID-19 pandemic and the Governor’s Proclamations have severely 

limited business, travel, and personal contact, thus creating rapidly changing 
economic conditions for regulated common carriers.  

 
18 (5) Providing an industry-wide exemption from the requirement in WAC 480-14-

140 that common carriers must pay a reinstatement of permit application fee 
for qualifying companies who voluntarily cancelled their permits or had their 
permits cancelled involuntarily for lack of insurance due to the COVID-19 
pandemic and the Governor’s Proclamations is consistent with the public 
interest, the purposes underlying regulation, and applicable statues because 
granting the exemption will provide relief to common carriers without 
impeding the Commission’s regulatory functions. 
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19 (6) Requiring common carriers to meet conditions consistent with existing rules is 
in the public interest to prevent fraud and support’s the Commission’s 
regulatory functions. 

20 (7) This matter came before the Commission at its regularly scheduled meeting on 
June 11, 2020. 

21 (8) The Commission should grant an exemption from WAC 480-14-140 for each 
qualifying regulated common carrier who voluntarily cancelled its permit or had 
its permit cancelled involuntarily for lack of insurance due to the COVID-19 
pandemic and the Governor’s Proclamations. 

 
ORDER 

 
 THE COMMISSION ORDERS: 
 

22 (1) The Commission, on its own initiative, grants an exemption from WAC 480-14-
140 for any regulated common carrier that meets at least one of the following 
conditions: 

 
(a) The applicant common carrier voluntarily cancelled its permit due to 

decreased business caused by the COVID-19 pandemic and/or the 
Governor’s Proclamations; or 
 

(b) The applicant common carrier can demonstrate that it could not afford 
insurance due to decreased business caused by the COVID-19 pandemic 
and/or the Governor’s Proclamations and subsequently had their permit 
cancelled involuntarily for lack of insurance. 

 
The Commission further requires that, in order for the Commission to waive the 
permit reinstatement application fee, the common carrier must apply for 
reinstatement no later than 90 days following the implementation of “Phase 4” 
throughout the entire state of Washington as outlined in Governor Inslee’s 
Proclamation 20-25.3. 
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23 (2) The Commission retains jurisdiction over the subject matter and all regulated 

common carriers, to effectuate the terms of this Order. 
 

24 The Commissioners, having determined this Order to be consistent with the public 
interest, directed the Secretary to enter this Order. 

 
 DATED at Lacey, Washington, and effective June 11, 2020. 
 
  WASHINGTON UTILITIES AND TRANSPORTATION COMMISSION 
 
 
 

MARK L. JOHNSON 
Executive Director and Secretary 
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