Service Date: January 22, 2020

WASHINGTON UTILITIES AND TRANSPORTATION COMMISSION

NOTICE OF PENALTIES INCURRED AND DUE
FOR VIOLATIONS OF LAWS AND RULES

PENALTY ASSESSMENT: D-191005
PENALTY AMOUNT: $6,000
Investigation # 8121

UBI: 601 295 793
CenturyLink Communications LLC Phone: (509) 835-4600
904 N. Columbus St.
Spokane, WA 99202

The Washington Utilities and Transportation Commission (Commission) believes that
CenturyLink Communications LLC (CenturyLink or Company) has violated Revised Code of
Washington (RCW) 19.122.030(4)(a) by failing to provide the information about CenturyLink’s
underground utilities to an excavator within two business days of a utility locate request. RCW
19.122.070(1) states, in part, that violations of any provision of the chapter are subject to a civil
penalty of not more than $1,000 for an initial violation and not more than $5,000 for each
subsequent violation within a three-year period.

The Commission reviewed findings and recommendations made by the Washington State Dig Law
Safety Committee (Safety Committee) and hereby notifies you that it is assessing a penalty of
$6,000 against you on the following grounds:

On December 3, 2019, the Safety Committee heard the complaints for case 19-091
against CenturyLink regarding alleged violations of the Washington state dig law,
RCW 19.122, that occurred on October 16, 2019, and October 31, 2019. The
complainant in this case was Specialty Services NW (Specialty Services). The
Safety Committee determined that the Company committed the following
violations:

e Two violations of RCW 19.122.030(4)(a) for failing provide information
regarding the location of CenturyLink’s underground utilities within two
business days of the excavator’s utility locate request.

The Safety Committee recommends that the Commission assess the following
$6,000 penalty against CenturyLink:

e $1,000 penalty for one violation of RCW 19.122.030(4)(a) that occurred on
October 16, 2019; and

e $5,000 penalty for one violation of RCW 19.122.030(4)(a) that occurred on
October 31, 2019.
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Commission regulatory staff (Staff) reviewed the Safety Committee’s
recommendation and agrees with its conclusions. Staff found that CenturyLink
violated RCW 19.122.030(4)(a) on two occasions. Staff based this decision on the
following information provided by the Safety Committee:

First Violation

On October 11, 2019, Specialty Services submitted underground utility locate
request #19451204 for 3928 W. Olympic, Spokane, Washington. Approximately
38 minutes after submitting the locate request, Specialty Services received an email
from USIC, CenturyLink's contract locator, stating that the dig area was clear of
CenturyLink utilities. On October 16, 2019, two full business days after the request,
Specialty Services arrived to observe no CenturyLink markings on the ground
despite a large phone pedestal within the outlined excavation area. Specialty
Services called for another utility locate (#19459586) and received another email
from USIC stating the area was clear of CenturyLink utilities. Specialty Services
then contacted CenturyLink’s locator, who returned to the site and marked the
utilities inside of the excavation area. Photos show the result of the original request,
which included no CenturyLink utility markings, and the marks made within the
excavation area following the third time Specialty Services contacted CenturyLink
on October 16, 2019. CenturyL.ink failed to mark its utilities within two business
days of the original request as required by RCW 19.122.030(4)(a).

Second Violation

On October 26, 2019, Specialty Services submitted underground utility locate
request #19473452 for 5718 S. Laurelcrest Ct., Spokane, Washington. Upon
arriving at the site on November 1, 2019, four business days after the request, no
CenturyLink marks were present near a phone pedestal within the proposed
excavation area. Specialty Services contacted CenturyLink, who stated in an email
that its locator had issues with its “screening department,” and sent a locator out
who found and marked additional CenturyLink utilities within the excavation area.
Photos were submitted that depict the excavation area before and after the locator’s
second attempt to locate underground utilities, which indicate that during the
locator’s initial visit to the site, some CenturyLink utilities within the excavation
area were not marked. CenturyL.ink failed to mark all of its known and locatable
facilities within the marked excavation area within two business days as required by
RCW 19.122.030(4)(a).

Staff recommends the Commission accept the Safety Committee’s recommendation
and assess a $6,000 penalty against the Company for two violations of RCW
19.122.030(4)(a) for failing to provide required information about its underground
utilities in response to a utility locate request within two business days, as follows:

e $1,000 penalty for the violation of RCW 19.122.030(4)(a) that occurred on October
16, 2019; and
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e $5,000 penalty for the violation of RCW 19.122.030(4)(a) that occurred on October
31, 20109.

The Commission agrees with Staff’s recommendation and assesses a penalty of $6,000.

These facts, if not contested or if proved at a hearing and not rebutted or explained, are
sufficient to support the penalty assessment.

Your penalty is due and payable now. If you believe that either or both of the violations did not
occur, you may deny committing the violation(s) and contest the penalty through evidence
presented at a hearing or in writing. Alternatively, if there is a reason for either or both of the
violations that you believe should excuse you from the penalty, you may ask for mitigation
(reduction) of the penalty through evidence presented at a hearing or in writing. The Commission
will grant a request for hearing only if material issues of law or fact require consideration of
evidence and resolution in a hearing. Any request to contest the violations or for mitigation of the
penalty must include a written statement of the reasons supporting that request. Failure to provide
such a statement will result in denial of the request. See RCW 81.04.405.

If you properly present your request for a hearing and the Commission grants that request, the
Commission will review the evidence supporting your dispute of the violations or application for
mitigation in a Brief Adjudicative Proceeding before an administrative law judge. The
administrative law judge will consider the evidence and will notify you of their decision.

You must act within 15 days after receiving this notice to do one of the following:

e Pay the $6,000 amount due;
e Request a hearing to contest the violation(s); or
e Request mitigation to reduce the amount of the penalty.

Please indicate your selection on the enclosed form and send it to the Washington Utilities and
Transportation Commission, Post Office Box 47250, Olympia, Washington 98504-7250, within
FIFTEEN (15) days after you receive this notice.

If you do not act within 15 days, the Commission may refer this matter to the Office of the
Attorney General for collection. The Commission may then sue you to collect the penalty.

DATED at Lacey, Washington, and effective January 22, 2020.

/s/ Rayne Pearson
RAYNE PEARSON
Director, Administrative Law Division
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PLEASE NOTE: You must complete and sign this document, and send it to the Commission within 15
days after you receive the penalty assessment. Use additional paper if needed.

I have read and understand RCW 9A.72.020 (printed below), which states that making false statements
under oath is a class B felony. | am over the age of 18, am competent to testify to the matters set forth
below and | have personal knowledge of those matters. | hereby make, under oath, the following
statements.

[ 11 Payment of penalty. | admit that the violations occurred and enclose $6,000 in payment of
the penalty.

[ 1 2. Contestthe violation. I believe that the alleged violation(s) did not occur for the reasons |
describe below:

[ ] @ Ilaskfora hearing to present evidence on the information | provide above to an
administrative law judge for a decision.
OR [ ] b) IlaskforaCommission decision based solely on the information | provide above.

[ 1 3. Request mitigation. | admit the violations, but I believe that the penalty should be reduced
for the reasons set out below:

[ ] a Iaskfora hearing to present evidence on the information I provide above to an
administrative law judge for a decision.
OR [ ] b) Iask fora Commission decision based solely on the information | provide above.

I declare under penalty of perjury under the laws of the State of Washington that the foregoing,
including information | have presented on any attachments, is true and correct.

Dated: [Month/Day/Year], at [City, State]
Name of Respondent (Company) — please print Signature of Applicant
RCW 9A.72.020:

“Perjury in the first degree. (1) A person is guilty of perjury in the first degree if in any official
proceeding he makes a materially false statement which he knows to be false under an oath required or
authorized by law. (2) Knowledge of the materiality of the statement is not an element of this crime,
and the actor’s mistaken belief that his statement was not material is not a defense to a prosecution
under this section. (3) Perjury in the first degree is a class B felony.”



