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Avista Corporation                UBI:  328 000 223 

1411 E. Mission Ave, MSC 6              Phone: (509) 495-8620     
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The Washington Utilities and Transportation Commission (Commission) believes that you have 

violated Revised Code of Washington (RCW) 19.122.030(3)(b) by failing to provide an excavator 

with available information regarding the location of Avista’s identified but unlocatable 

underground facility. RCW 19.122.070(1) states, in part, that violations of any provision of the 

chapter are subject to a civil penalty of not more than $1,000 for an initial violation and not more 

than $5,000 for each subsequent violation within a three-year period. 

 

The Commission reviewed findings and recommendations made by the Washington State Dig Law 

Safety Committee (Safety Committee) and hereby notifies you that it is assessing a penalty against 

you in the amount of $1,000 on the following grounds: 

On July 18, 2018, the Safety Committee heard the complaints for case 18-064 

against Avista Corporation (Avista) regarding a potential violation of the 

Washington state Dig Law, RCW 19.122, that occurred on June 11, 2018. The 

complainant in this case was Hattenburg Excavating, Inc. (Hattenburg). The Safety 

Committee determined that Avista committed the following violation: 

 One violation of RCW 19.122.030(3)(b) for failing to provide an excavator 

with available information as to the location of Avista’s identified but 

unlocatable underground facility. 

 

The Safety Committee recommended that the following $1,000 penalty be assessed 

against Avista: 

 $1,000 penalty for one violation of RCW 19.122.030(3)(b). 

 The opportunity to suspend $1,000 of the penalty if Avista commits no 

additional violations of RCW 19.122.030(3)(b) within 12 months of the date 

the Commission issues a penalty assessment. 

 

Commission regulatory staff (Staff) reviewed the Safety Committee’s recommendation and 

agrees with its conclusion and recommended penalty, but declines to offer an opportunity 
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to suspend $1,000 of the penalty on the condition that Avista commits no additional 

violations of RCW 19.122.030(3)(b) within 12 months. Staff based this decision on the 

following information provided by the Safety Committee, Avista, Hattenburg, and a review 

of the one-call ticket database:  

 

On June 4, 2018, dig ticket #18233160 was generated when a subcontractor of Avista 

submitted a request to have underground utilities located at 39929, 39941, and 39938 North 

Shore Dr., Loon Lake, Washington. The request was made for a facility relocation project 

being done for Avista. The facilities were being relocated so they would not interfere with 

a construction project being done by Hattenburg at 39938 North Shore Dr. Hattenburg 

submitted an additional request to have underground utilities located at 39938 North Shore 

Dr. on June 6, 2018, which was assigned dig ticket #18238188. 

 

A locator arrived at the location on June 6, 2018, to locate the underground utilities. The 

locator was unable to locate Avista’s gas pipeline in the area, and so notified Avista. Avista 

replied that it would not be able to shut off the service until June 11. On June 7, 2018, 

while on-site to mark electric facilities, another attempt was made by Avista’s locator to 

locate the gas facility in connection withthe June 4 ticket. This attempt at locating the 

facility was also unsuccessful, and approximately 200 feet of the gas facility remained 

unlocated. 

 

On June 8, 2018, a locator arrived on site to mark the facilities for Hattenburg’s June 6 dig 

ticket, and again could not locate a portion of the gas facility. Hattenburg was notified via 

voicemail and email that there was an un-locatable gas facility, and that at an unknown 

time in the future a lead tech would go to the site to try to locate it, and that Avista would 

be on-site on June 11 to relocate the gas services to the three addresses listed on the June 4 

ticket, which included the address on Hattenburg’s June 6 dig ticket. On June 8, the lead 

tech searched Avista records for additional information about the gas facility that had not 

been located. Records were found, but they did not include any dimensional information to 

assist in determining the location of the pipeline, and were not shared with Hattenburg. 

 

The lead tech locator arrived on site on June 11, 2018, and notified Hattenburg that the 

services and the main lines in front of each of the properties to which Avista’s services 

connect were  not locatable, but the tech nevertheless marked areas where he received a 

signal with his locating equipment. That same day, the locator and Avista contacted 

another locating company that came to the site on June 12, 2018, and was able to locate 

and mark the gas facilities using ground-penetrating radar equipment.  

 

Based on the results of Staff’s investigation, the Commission finds that Avista violated 

RCW 19.122.030(3)(b) one time by failing to provide information to Hattenburg regarding 

the location of its identified but unlocatable facilities. Avista’s locators did not partially 

mark or provide records regarding the gas pipeline until three business days after 

Hattenburg’s request to have underground utilities located. Avista was made aware the 

facility was difficult to locate on the same day Hattenburg requested the facility be located, 

but failed to employ additional locating techniques or provide information regarding the 

facility to Hattenburg until three business days after Hattenburg’s request, and failed to 

complete the location until four days after the request. The Commission assesses a $1,000 
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penalty for the violation. These facts, if not contested or if proved at a hearing and not 

rebutted or explained, are sufficient to support the penalty assessment. 

 

Your penalty is due and payable now. If you believe the violation did not occur, you may deny 

committing the violation and contest the penalty through evidence presented at a hearing or in 

writing. Or, if there is a reason for the violation that you believe should excuse you from the 

penalty, you may ask for mitigation (reduction) of the penalty through evidence presented at a 

hearing or in writing. The Commission will grant a request for hearing only if material issues of 

law or fact require consideration of evidence and resolution in a hearing. Any request to contest 

the violation or for mitigation of the penalty must include a written statement of the reasons 

supporting that request. Failure to provide such a statement will result in denial of the request. See 

RCW 81.04.405. 

 

If you properly present your request for a hearing and the Commission grants that request, the 

Commission will review the evidence supporting your dispute of the violation or application for 

mitigation in a Brief Adjudicative Proceeding before an administrative law judge. The 

administrative law judge will consider the evidence and will notify you of his or her decision. 

 

You must act within 15 days after receiving this notice to do one of the following: 

 

 Pay the $1,000 amount due; or 

 Request a hearing to contest the occurrence of the violation; or 

 Request mitigation to reduce the amount of the penalty. 

 

Please indicate your selection on the enclosed form and send it to the Washington Utilities and 

Transportation Commission, Post Office Box 47250, Olympia, Washington 98504-7250, within 

FIFTEEN (15) days after you receive this notice. 

 

If you do not act within 15 days, the Commission may refer this matter to the Office of the 

Attorney General for collection. The Commission may then sue you to collect the penalty.  

 

DATED at Olympia, Washington, and effective December 20, 2018. 

 

 

 

/s/ Rayne Pearson 

       RAYNE PEARSON 

Director, Administrative Law Division



 

WASHINGTON UTILITIES AND TRANSPORTATION COMMISSION 
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PLEASE NOTE: You must complete and sign this document, and send it to the Commission within 15 

days after you receive the penalty assessment. Use additional paper if needed. 

 

I have read and understand RCW 9A.72.020 (printed below), which states that making false statements 

under oath is a class B felony. I am over the age of 18, am competent to testify to the matters set forth 

below and I have personal knowledge of those matters. I hereby make, under oath, the following 

statements. 

 

[   ]  1. Payment of penalty. I admit that the violation occurred and enclose $1,000 in payment of the 

penalty. 

 

 

[   ]  2. Contest the violation. I believe that the alleged violation did not occur for the reasons I 

describe below: 

 

 

 

[   ]  a) I ask for a hearing to present evidence on the information I provide above to an 

administrative law judge for a decision. 

     OR [   ]  b) I ask for a Commission decision based solely on the information I provide above. 

 

 

[   ]  3. Request mitigation. I admit the violation, but I believe that the penalty should be reduced for 

the reasons set out below:  

 

 

 

[   ]  a) I ask for a hearing to present evidence on the information I provide above to an 

administrative law judge for a decision. 

     OR [   ]  b) I ask for a Commission decision based solely on the information I provide above. 

 

 

 

I declare under penalty of perjury under the laws of the State of Washington that the foregoing, 

including information I have presented on any attachments, is true and correct. 

 

Dated: __________________ [Month/Day/Year], at ______________________ [City, State] 

 

 

 _____________________________________  ___________________________ 

Name of Respondent (company) – please print  Signature of Applicant 

 

 

 

RCW 9A.72.020: 

“Perjury in the first degree. (1) A person is guilty of perjury in the first degree if in any official 

proceeding he makes a materially false statement which he knows to be false under an oath required or 

authorized by law. (2) Knowledge of the materiality of the statement is not an element of this crime, 

and the actor’s mistaken belief that his statement was not material is not a defense to a prosecution 

under this section. (3) Perjury in the first degree is a class B felony.”   


