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WASHINGTON UTILITIES AND TRANSPORTATION COMMISSION

NOTICE OF PENALTIES INCURRED AND DUE
FOR VIOLATIONS OF LAWS AND RULES

PENALTY ASSESSMENT: TV-120268
PENALTY AMOUNT: $2,300


ERIC STEWART d/b/a IRONMAN MOVING SERVICES
4215A – BRITTON ROAD
BELLINGHAM, WA 98226

The Washington Utilities and Transportation Commission (Commission) believes that you have committed violations of Revised Code of Washington (RCW) 81.04 and Washington Administrative Code (WAC) 480-15, which govern how household goods moving companies may operate. The Commission also believes you have committed a number of violations of Tariff 15-C, which identifies the rates and charges a household goods moving company may charge its customers, the items a company must include on its estimates, and how a company must complete its bills of lading.  

RCW 81.04.405 allows penalties of $100 for every such violation. Under this statute, each and every violation is considered a separate and distinct offense and, in the case of a continuing violation, each day the violation continues is considered a separate and distinct violation.

As a part of a follow-up investigation, Commission staff reviewed business records for 39 moves performed between April and July 2011, and identified violations of RCW 81.04,WAC 480-15 and Tariff 15-C. As a result, the Commission hereby notifies you that it has assessed penalties against you in the amount $2,300 for the following 23 violations:

· Failure to timely respond to the Commission’s data request.
      1 VIOLATION: RCW 81.04.380
· Failure to properly format and complete estimates.
      6 VIOLATIONS: WAC 480-15-630
· Failure to properly format and complete bills of lading.  
      7 VIOLATIONS: WAC 480-15-710
· Use of an unauthorized trade name.
      1 VIOLATION: WAC 480-15-390
· Failure to adhere to advertising requirements.
      5 VIOLATIONS: WAC 480-15-610
· Failure to follow the terms, conditions, rates, and all other requirements imposed by Tariff 15-C.
      3 VIOLATIONS: WAC 480-15-490

This information, if proved at a hearing and not rebutted or explained, is sufficient to support the penalty assessment.

Your penalty is due and payable now. If you believe the violations did not occur, you may request a hearing to contest the penalty assessment. If there is a reason for the violations that you think should excuse you from the penalty, you may ask for mitigation (reduction) of this penalty.  See RCW 81.04.405.

You have the right to present your request for review or mitigation at a hearing, but you are not required to do so. If you do, the Commission will review the evidence supporting your request in an informal hearing, called a Brief Adjudicative Proceeding, before an administrative law judge. The administrative law judge will consider your plea and notify you of his or her decision.

You must act within 15 days after receiving this notice to do one of the following:

· Pay the amount due.
· Request a hearing to contest the occurrence of the violations.
· Request mitigation to contest the amount of the penalty.

Please indicate your selection on the enclosed form and send it to the Washington Utilities and Transportation Commission, Post Office Box 47250, Olympia, Washington 98504-7250, within FIFTEEN (15) days after you receive this notice.

If you do not act within 15 days, the Commission may refer this matter to the Office of the Attorney General for collection. The Commission may then sue you to collect the penalty. 

DATED at Olympia, Washington, and effective July 26, 2012.



						GREGORY J. KOPTA
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Director, Administrative Law Division
WASHINGTON UTILITIES AND TRANSPORTATION COMMISSION
PENALTY ASSESSMENT TV-120268

PLEASE NOTE: You must complete and sign this document, and send it to the Commission within 15 days after you receive the penalty assessment. Use additional paper if needed.

I have read and understand RCW 9A.72.020 (printed below), which states that making false statements under oath is a class B felony. I am over the age of 18, am competent to testify to the matters set forth below and I have personal knowledge of those matters. I hereby make, under oath, the following statements.

[   ]  1.	Payment of penalty. I admit that the violations occurred. I have:

   [   ] Enclosed $2,300 in payment of the penalty 

   [   ] Submitted my payment of $2,300 online at www.utc.wa.gov. My confirmation number is ___________________.

[   ]  2.	Request for a hearing. I believe that the alleged violation did not occur, based on the following information, and request a hearing, which is a process that allows an affected person to present argument to an administrative law judge for a decision by an administrative law judge:




[   ]  3.	Application for mitigation. I admit the violation, but I believe that the penalty should be reduced for the reason(s) set out below. 




[   ]  a)	I ask for a hearing for a decision by an administrative law judge based on the 	information presented above
     OR	[   ]  b)	I waive a hearing and ask for an administrative decision on the information I present directly above.

I declare under penalty of perjury under the laws of the State of Washington that the foregoing, including information I have presented on any attachments, is true and correct.

Dated: __________________ [month/day/year], at ________________________ [city, state]

 _____________________________________		___________________________
Name of Respondent (company) – please print		Signature of Applicant

-----------------------------------
RCW 9A.72.020:
“Perjury in the first degree. (1) A person is guilty of perjury in the first degree if in any official proceeding he makes a materially false statement which he knows to be false under an oath required or authorized by law. (2) Knowledge of the materiality of the statement is not an element of this crime, and the actor’s mistaken belief that his statement was not material is not a defense to a prosecution under this section. (3) Perjury in the first degree is a class B felony.” 
