WASHINGTON UTILITIES AND TRANSPORTATION COMMISSION

NOTICE OF PENALTIES INCURRED AND DUE FOR VIOLATIONS
OF LAWS AND REGULATIONS

PENALTY ASSESSMENT NO: TV-0603235
PENALTY AMOUNT: $100.00

HOUSEHOLD GOODS MOVING COMPANY:
Capitol Moving and Storage, Inc.

2604 Willamette Drive NE, Suite C

Lacey, Washington 98516

~ The Commission believes that Capitol Moving and Storage, Inc. (Capitol) committed one
or more violations of Washington State Laws or Commission rules, specifically, WAC
480.15.560, which requires that all motor vehicles must at all times have their vehicles -
maintained in a safe condition and be free of defects likely to result in an accident or
breakdown. As a result, the commission hereby notifies you that it has assessed penalties
against Capitol in the amount of $100. The basis for this penalty assessment is as follows:

In November 2005, Motor Carrier Safety Investigator Leon Macomber inspected the
vehicles of Capitol. He found high vehicle defect and out-of-service ratios. Mr.
Macomber found 75% of vehicles with safety defects and 25% of vehicles with defects
severe enough to put them out-of-service.

On February 2, 2006, Mr. Macomber inspected the vehicles a second time. At that
inspection, he found an 80% defect ratio and a 20% out-of-service ratio. Five vehicles
were inspected, and one of the five was placed out-of-service. As a result, the
commission is assessing a $100 penalty against Capitol for one violation of WAC 480-15-
560 for the vehicle placed out-of-service.

Penalties are due and payable upon receipt of this penalty notice. If for any reason you
believe the violations described did not occur, you may request a hearing to contest the
occurrence of the violations. If you have an explanation as to why the violations
occurred, or have other facts you believe the commission should have considered, RCW
81.04.405 provides that you make application for mitigation of this penalty. To do so,
complete the enclosed mitigation form and return it to the Washington Utilities and
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Transportation Commission, Post Office Box 47250, Olympia, Washington 98504-7250,
within FIFTEEN (15) days of your receipt of this penalty notice. You may, although you
are not required to, present your request for mitigation at a hearing. The Commission will
consider your plea and notify you of its determination.

If you would like a hearing to contest either the occurrence of the violations or the
. amount of the penalty, please state why you believe a hearing is called for in your
circumstances.

Failure to request a hearing to contest the occurrence of the violations or the amount of
the penalty, return the mitigation plea, or pay the amount due within 15 days will cause
the Commission to refer this matter to the Office of the Attorney General for collection.
Suit may then be brought against you and after trial, judgment may be entered against
you.

DATED at Olympia, Washington and effective April‘;f2006.

K el

ARK H. SIDRAN, Chairman

o2

RICK J.OSHIE, Commissioner

PHILIP B.lJON




Mitigation form WASHINGTON UTILITIES AND
TRANSPORTATION COMMISSION

APPLICATION FOR MITIGATION OF PENALTIES - TV-060325

NOTE: This form must be completed, signed, and received by the Commission within
15 days of your receipt of this form.

I'have read and understand RCW 9A.72.020, which states that making false statements
under oath is a class B felony (printed below). I am over the age of 18, am competent to
testify to the matters set forth below and I have personal knowledge of those matters. |
hereby make, under oath, application for mitigation of the penalties (as described in the
attached Notice of Penalties), for the following reasons:

I declare under penalty of perjury under the laws of the State of Washington that the
foregoing is true and correct.

Dated: [month/day/year], at [city, state]

Signature of Applicant

RCW 9A.72.020:

“Perjury in the first degree. (1) A person is guilty of perjury in the first degree in any
official proceeding he makes a materially false statement which he knows to be false
under an oath required or authorized by law. (2) Knowledge of the materiality of the
statement is not an element of this crime, and the actor’s mistaken belief that his
statement was not material is not a defense to a prosecution under this section. (3)
Perjury in the first degree is a class B felony.”




