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STEP-BY-STEP INSTRUCTIONS

—.. Step1: Request photo 1.D. and Sccial Security number from applicant.

Applicant provides both necessary documents:
Photo iD (Must include birth date)

-
"

L)
A5

&
hid

A
‘—.0

Proceed to Step 2
Applicant does not provide necessary documents — STOP PROCESS.
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STEP-BY-STEP INSTRUCTIONS

-~ Step 2:

Determine which background check you need to order.

% Option 1
< Option 2
% Option 3

5 Star Check
instant Check
Upgrade of Instant Check to § Star Check as outlined below

< Option 1 - the 5 Star Check includes: $26.50 basic cost — 1 to 3 days average
turnaround time

255

» Social Security Verification
* National Criminal Record File (NCRF) searches the following

[ ]
»
L 4

L

Fugitive files and government watch lists

State and county criminal record repositories

ChoicePoint proprietary criminaf records

Prison, Parole and release files from state depariment of
corrections

Administrative Office of Courts o,

Sex and Violent Offender Registries: an additiona@ﬁo will apply
in the following states: AZ, CA, HI, MD, MS, MO, MT-N¥/, OK, O
PA, Ri, SD, VT, VA, WI. These states Sex Offender files are
not available in the N index.

Cther state agencies

» County Criminal Check of Felonies and Related Misdemeanors — 2
counties of residence (present and previous).

» The § Star check is valid for a three year period

» An additional $3.00 will apply for fax requests

-,

< Option 2 — Instant Check Includes: $10.50 basic cost — Clear results are

available within 15 to 30 minutes. Convictions found may take longer if a court
search is needed for missing disposition information.  Hits in California must
have the county of record searched prior to releasing records due to state law.

= Social Security Verification
* National Criminal Record File (NCRF)
» Instant check is valid for 10 days only
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STEP-BY-STEP INSTRUCTIONS

<+ Option 3 — Upgrade of Instant Check to 5 Star Check: $16.00 basic cost

o Note: If the agent decides to retain the services of the laborer for longer than
the 10 days provided in the Instant Check (e.g., offering the laborer full or
part-time employment), the Agent may upgrade the Instant Check screening
to a 5 Star, which is valid for 3 years. However, this would need to be
conducted within the 10-day period.

» Social Security verification (completed)

» National Criminal Record File (NCRF) (completed)

= Sex and Violent Offender Registries: An additional $8.00 will apply in the
following states: AZ. CA, HI, MD, MS, MO, MT, NV, OK, OR, PA, RI, SD,
VT, VA, WA, WI. These states Sex Offender files are not available in the
NCRF index.

= County Criminal Check of Felonies and Related Misdemeanors — 2
counties of residence (present and previous}
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STEP-BY-STEP INSTRUCTIONS

Step 3: Have applicant complete and sign the following forms:

A. Agent's written employment application with appropriate criminal background
questions and statements. (See Human Resource Packet Page 7).
B. Consumer Disclosure and Authorization Form — Exhibit D

C. Begkgrourid Veriflcation\Disdloslire Rorm. (This form is required for California
ressdents only.) — Exhibit E

Applicant Consen{ Forms

The Fair Credit Reporting Act (FCRA) mandates that all applicants sign a Consumer
Disclosure and Authorization Form PRIOR toc background check being reguested.
These documents, by law, must stay on file with the Agent and may be required by
ChoicePoint when conducting certain criminal searches.

If your agency's background policy exceeds UniGroup’s Qualification Standards
Matrix, you must also present the applicant with a Summary of Rights if adverse
| action is taken. Adverse action procedures are outlined in Step 8 on Page 14.

Additional notice and disclosure requirements may be required under applicable

state laws. State requirements and forms will need to be discussed with agent's
counsel,

Failure tfo follow the procedures and provide the information and documentation
required by these check lists, could constitute violation of state and federal laws. The
Agent obtaining the background information is responsible for fully complying with all
of these provisions. Federal law mandates that you receive and review a copy of
‘Notice To Users Of Consumer Reports: Obligations Of Users Under The FCRA”.
Because of its broad and all inclusive intent there may be some specifics in the
notice which may not be directly applicable to your business activities. See Exhibit F
— Schedule 1.

“* Applicant completes autheorization and consent forms — Proceed to Step 4.
*» Applicant does not sign authorization and consent forms — STOP PROCESS.

If at anytime questions arise, customer support is available through ChoicePoint's Customer

Service number or through the van line’s Labor Compliance Support Hotline. These numbers
are found on Pages 17 and 18.
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STEP-BY-STEP INSTRUCTIONS

Step 4:

Determine which format you wish to use to submit/receive your ChoicePoint
information

“ Via Internet from ChoicePoint's web site (www.cpscreen.com)
% By Fax (additional charge of $3.00 per application)

CP Screen Order/Delivery Method

Order/Delivery Method by CPScreen.com - ChoicePoint's CP Screen is a
browser-based application with the ability to order and receive background reports
electronically through the Internet. A user guide is available to download on
ChoicePoint’s home page. However, a Quick Reference Guide has been developed
for your convenience, see Exhibit G. Online training will be provided by ChoicePoint
and is mandatory regardless of input method.

Fax In/Fax Back Order Method — A ChoicePoint Fax cover sheet has been created
to accommodate the fax-in fax-back ordering method, see Exhibit A. Agents should
complete the following information on the ChoicePoint fax cover sheet:

Reguester's name

Agent’'s unigue account number.

Agent phone number and fax number

Applicant Information

Check the appropriate Option based on your screening request

The ChoicePoint Fax Cover Sheet and Signed Authorization should be faxed to:

(866) 232 - 1231
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STEP-BY-STEP INSTRUCTIONS

—_ Step 5: Enter required information

< ChoicePoint screen method
o Complete the required fields (shown in red)
o Push "submit this order” button
% Fax method
o Complete the required fields
+ [nformation cn ChoicePoint fax form, see Exhibit A.
e« Fax to (866) 232 - 1231
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STEP-BY-STEP INSTRUCTIONS

Step 6: Receive report results

4 Reports are returned either “eligible” or “ineligible”. All reports are adjudicated
according to the Qualification Standard Matrix, see Exhibit C. The 5 Star requires 1-
3 days, the Instant Check, approximately 30 minutes.

* Eligible - Reports meet requirements as defined by the Qualification Standard
Matrix. If reports return eligible, go to Step 7.

* |neligible — Reports DO _NOT meet requirements as defined by the Qualification
Standard Matrix. If reports return ineligible, go to Step 8.
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19.182.040,43.43.834, 162-12-
140

making background inquiry.

Inguiries must accompanied by
disclaimer that conviction record will
not necessarily bar employment.
Employer must notify subject of record
within 30 days of the record and that it

is available o examine.

 State; ” Jitations to Authigrit
Utah™ - Utah Code Ann. §§77-18-10 Ane
- through 77-18-12 felony convictions ~ not arest
records.
i Requests for conviction records
L should be related to job.
Vermoit Vit Stat. Ann. Tit. 20 §§20561, State criminal information center shall | Juvenile court records are not open
o 2055, 2056¢, 2056d, 2063, tit. 33 | release all criminal records when fo public inspection.
chapfer 95. authorized by the applicant, ona
release form, after an offer for
" o : employment is made.
Virginia Va. Code §56-1, 9.1-128,19.2- Authorization of applicant is required | Cannot require applicants to
389, 19.2-392.2 thru 3924 - prior to requesting criminal history disclose information concerning
background arrests or criminal charges that
Washington | Rev. Code Wash. §§43.43.815, Must notify subject of inquiry priorto | Inquiries conceming convictions

and imprisonment must relate
reasonably to job duties.
Arrests/convictions must have
occurred within 10 years. If
expected that subject’'s annual
salary is less than $20,000, inquiry

can ou_x g0 mmmm 7 years.

W.Va, Code Ann. §15-2-24, 61-
11-25

Use of arrest and conviction records is
prehibited unless employer first
obtains applicant’s consent.

Expunged records may not be
reported. Inquiries into arrest
records are prohibited. Inquiries
into prior convictions are
permissible if reasonably related to
job gqualifications,

14
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EXHIBIT C

Qualification Standards Matrix

An applicant shall not be eligible for gualification if they have been convicted of cne of the
following Felonies; hereafter referenced as Type | Felonies:
a. afelony which resulted in taking of a life including but not limited to capital murder,
first degree murder, second degree murder, homicide and manslaughter.
b. a felony which resulted in serious physical injury including, but not limited to assault
or battery causing serious physical injury.
c. afelony involving a sexual offense, including but not limited to rape, sexual assault,
sodomy, deviate sexual assault, and child molestation.
d. afelony involving organized criminal activity including but not limited to extortion,
racketeering and drug distribution.
e. afelony invalving the use of weapons including but not limited to armed criminal
action, burglary and robbery.
f. afelony involving a hate crime.
g. afelony involving kidnapping.
h. afelony involving terrorist activity..

An applicant shall not be eligible for qualification if hefshe has pled guilty or has been convicted
of a felony within thirty-six (36) months of the date of the application and the applicant may not
have two (2) or more felony convictions on his/her entire record.

An applicant shall not be eligible for qualification if he/she has pled guilty or heen convicted of a
misdemeanor (excluding drlvsng&wwgzmuw?w
W&z@wmmmm and excluding alimony, maintenance, or child
1sdemeanw¢hmm:w_@4).mon§heeﬁhﬁmum—§§m and the

apphcan’s may not have three (3) or more misdemeanor convictions within the last ten (10) years
(to the extent records are available by law).

If an applicant has a felony conviction (other than a Type 1 Felony) within the last ten (10) years
(o the extent records are available by law), then hefshe may not have more than one
misdemeanor in the last ten (10) years (to the exitent records are available by law).

An applicant shall not be eligible for qualification if he/she has been incarcerated for non-traffic
misdemeanor (exciuding alimony, maintenance, or child support misdemeanors) or felony
conviction within twelve (12) months of the date of the application.

A guilty finding entered by a court shall be deemed under these standards to be a conviction.

An application shall not be eligible for qualification if he/she is on court probation/parole for any
criminal misdemeanor ar felony or if the application has criminal misdemeanor (excluding
driving/traffic-related violations that do not involve possession, use or driving under the influence
of alcohol or drugs and exciuding alimony, maintenance, or child support misdemeanors) or
felony charges pending.
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