WASHINGTON UTILITIES AND TRANSPORTATION COMMISSION

NOTICE OF PENALTIES INCURRED AND DUE
FOR VIOLATIONS OF LAWS AND RULES

PENALTY ASSESSMENT: TV-170081
PENALTY AMOUNT: $500

ABC Movers Seattle LLC
12040 28" Avenue NE, Apt. B2
Seattle, WA 98125

The Washington Utilities and Transportation Commission (Commission) believes that you have
committed violations of Washington Administrative Code (WAC) 480-15-570 Driver Safety
Requirements, which adopts Title 49 CFR Parts 391 and 395.

Revised Code of Washington (RCW) 81.04.405 allows penalties of one hundred dollars for each
violation. In the case of an ongoing violation, every day's continuance is considered a separate
and distinct violation.

In January 2017, Commission Motor Carrier Investigator Sandi Yeomans conducted a
compliance review of ABC Movers Seattle LLC (ABC Movers) and documented the following
violations:

e Four violations of CFR Part 391.45(a) — Using a driver not medically examined and
certified. ABC Movers allowed its employees to drive without having been medically
examined and certified on four occasions during the six months prior to the compliance
review. Roman Chuykin drove on December 29, 39 and 31, 2016. Nikitas Nemykin
drove on December 27, 2016. Neither driver possessed a valid medical examination
certificate at the times they drove.

e One violation of CFR 395.8(a) — Failing to require driver to make a record of duty
status. ABC Movers does not require its drivers to make records of duty status. Company
drivers made nine moves with no records of duty status.

The Commission considered the following factors in determining the appropriate penalties for
these violations:

1. How serious or harmful the violation is to the public. The violations noted are serious
and potentially harmful to the public. Companies that use drivers not medically examined
and certified and that fail to require drivers to report their hours of service put the
traveling public at risk. An undetected medical condition or fatigued driver present
serious safety concerns.
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2.

10.

11;

Whether the violation is intentional. Considerations include:

e Whether the company ignored Commission staff’s (Staff) previous technical
assistance; and

e  Whether there is clear evidence through documentation or other means that shows
the company knew of and failed to correct the violation.

In the company’s June 2014 application for household goods moving authority, ABC
Movers owners Nikita Nemykin and Roman Chuykin acknowledged their company’s
responsibility to understand and comply with applicable motor carrier safety rules. In
November 2014, Mr. Nemykin and Mr. Chuykin attended household goods movers’
compliance training provided by Commission staff. The company knew, or should have
known about these requirements.

Whether the company self-reported the violation. The company did not self-report
these violations. '

Whether the company was cooperative and responsive. ABC Movers was very
cooperative with the investigation, made immediate corrections and was receptive to
technical assistance.

Whether the company promptly corrected the violations and remedied the impacts.
The company has taken immediate steps to correct these violations.

The number of violations. For a company this size, the number of critical violations
noted is unremarkable. :

The number of customers affected. The company traveled 42,626 miles and reported
$393,305 in gross revenue for 2016. A significant number of customers as well as
members of the traveling public were likely affected by these safety violations.

The likelihood of recurrence. The Commission does not know if the company is likely
to repeat these violations, however the company appears to be taking steps to correct the
violations and prevent future occurrences.

The company’s past performance regarding compliance, violations, and penalties.
This is the company’s first compliance review. The company has no history of previous
violations or penalties.

The company’s existing compliance program. MVP Moving has no formal compliance
program. :

The size of the company. MVP Moving is a small company, with two drivers and two
commercial vehicles. In 2016 the company reported $393,305 in gross revenue and
42,626 miles traveled.
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These are first-time violations, but the Commission’s Enforcement Policy provides that some
Commission requirements are so fundamental to safe operations that the Commission will issue
mandatory penalties for each occurrence of a first-time violation.! The Commission generally
will assess penalties per type of violation, rather than per occurrence, for other first-time
violations of critical regulations that do not meet the criteria for mandatory penalties. The
Commission will assess penalties for any repeat violations of critical regulations found in future
compliance investigations, including for each occurrence of a repeat violation.

The Commission has considered these factors and determined that it should penalize MVP
Moving $500 for violations of WAC 480-15-570 Driver Safety Requirements, which adopts
Title 49 CFR Parts 391 and 395, calculated as follows:

e Four violations of CFR Part 391.45(a) — Using a driver not medically examined and
certified. The Commission assesses a penalty of $100 for each of these critical
violations, for a total of $400.

e One violation of CFR 395.8(a) — Failing to require driver to make a record of duty status.
The Commission assesses a penalty of $100 for one critical violation of this type.

This information, if proved at a hearing and not rebutted or explained, is sufficient to support the
penalty assessment.

Your penalty is due and payable now. If you believe any or all of the violations did not occur,
you may deny committing the violation(s) and contest the penalty assessment through evidence
presented at a hearing or in writing. The Commission will grant a request for hearing only if
material issues of law or fact concerning the violation(s) require consideration of evidence and
resolution in a hearing. Any contest of the penalty assessment must include a written statement
of the reasons supporting that contest. Failure to provide such a statement will result in denial of
the contest.

If there is a reason for any or all of the violations that you believe should excuse you from the
penalty, you may ask for mitigation (reduction) of this penalty through evidence presented at a
hearing or in writing. The Commission will grant a request for hearing only if material issues of
law or fact require consideration of evidence and resolution in a hearing. Any request for
mitigation must include a written statement of the reasons supporting that request. Failure to
provide such a statement will result in denial of the request. See RCW 81.04.405.

If you properly present your request for a hearing and the Commission grants that request, the
Commission will review the evidence supporting your dispute of the violation(s) or application
for mitigation in a Brief Adjudicative Proceeding before an administrative law judge. The
administrative law judge will consider the evidence and will notify you of his or her decision.

' Docket A-120061 — Enforcement Policy of the Washington Utilities & Transportation Commission —
Section V.
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You must act within 15 days after receiving this notice to do one of the following:
e Pay the amount due.
e Contest the occurrence of the violations.
e Request mitigation to contest the amount of the penalty.

Please indicate your selection on the enclosed form and send it to the Washington Utilities and
Transportation Commission, Post Office Box 47250, Olympia, Washington 98504-7250, within
FIFTEEN (15) days after you receive this notice.

If you do not act within 15 days, the Commission may take additional enforcement action,
including but not necessarily limited to suspending or revoking your certificate to provide
regulated service, assessing additional penalties, or referring this matter to the Office of the
Attorney General for collection.

DATED at Olympia, Washington, and effective Fcb%albll 2017.

e

Administrative Law Judge
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WASHINGTON UTILITIES AND TRANSPORTATION COMMISSION
PENALTY ASSESSMENT TV-170081

PLEASE NOTE: You must complete and sign this document, and send it to the Commission

within 15 days after you receive the penalty assessment. Use additional paper if needed.

I have read and understand RCW 9A.72.020 (printed below), which states that making false

statements under oath is a class B felony. I am over the age of 18, am competent to testify to the

matters set forth below and I have personal knowledge of those matters. I hereby make, under

oath, the following statements.

[ 1 1. Payment of penalty. I admit that the violation occurred and enclose $
in payment of the penalty.

[ ] 2. Contestthe violation. I belicve that the alleged violation did not occur for the reasons I
describe below:

[ ] a) Task for a hearing to present evidence on the information I provide above to
an administrative law judge for a decision
OR [ ] b) Task for a Commission decision based solely on the information I provide
above.
[ 1 3. Application for mitigation. I admit the violation, but I believe that the penalty should
be reduced for the reasons set out below:

[ ] a) Iask for a hearing to present evidence on the information I provide above to
an administrative law judge for a decision
OR [ ] b) TIask for a Commission decision based solely on the information I provide
above.

I declare under penalty of perjury under the laws of the State of Washington that the foregoing,
including information I have presented on any attachments, is true and correct.

Dated: [month/day/year], at [city, state]
Name of Respondent (company) — please print Signature of Applicant
RCW 9A.72.020:

“Perjury in the first degree. (1) A person is guilty of perjury in the first degree if in any official
proceeding he makes a materially false statement which he knows to be false under an oath
required or authorized by law. (2) Knowledge of the materiality of the statement is not an
element of this crime, and the actor’s mistaken belief that his statement was not material is not a
defense to a prosecution under this section. (3) Perjury in the first degree is a class B felony.”



