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WASHINGTON UTILITIES AND TRANSPORTATION COMMISSION

NOTICE OF PENALTIES INCURRED AND DUE
FOR VIOLATIONS OF LAWS AND RULES

PENALTY ASSESSMENT: TG-161281
PENALTY AMOUNT: $12,600
Carroll-Naslund Disposal Service Inc.
900 Port Way
Clarkston, WA 99403

[bookmark: OLE_LINK1][bookmark: OLE_LINK2]The Washington Utilities and Transportation Commission (Commission) believes that you have committed violations of Washington Administrative Code (WAC) 480-70-201 Vehicle and Driver Safety Requirements, which requires solid waste haulers to comply with Title 49 CFR Part 390 – Federal Motor Carrier Safety Regulations; General, Part 391 – Qualifications of Drivers and Part 396 – Inspection, Repair and Maintenance.  
Revised Code of Washington (RCW) 8l.04.405 allows penalties of one hundred dollars for each violation of Title 49 CFR Part 391. In the case of an ongoing violation, every day's continuance is considered a separate and distinct violation. 
In October 2016, Commission Motor Carrier Investigator Sandi Yeomans conducted a compliance review of Carroll-Naslund Disposal Service Inc. (Carroll-Naslund Disposal) and documented the following violations of acute and critical regulations:

· [bookmark: _Hlk469558280]One-hundred twenty-four violations of CFR 390.35 – Fraudulently acquiring or falsifying a commercial driver’s license. Carroll-Naslund Disposal allowed its driver Jerry Fuller to drive with a fraudulent commercial driver’s license on 124 occasions during the six months prior to the compliance review. Mr. Fuller drove on four days in April; 21 days in May; 21 days in June; 19 days in July; 19 days in August; 22 days in September; and 18 days in October, 2016.April 26, 27, 28 and 29; May 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 16, 17, 18, 19, 20, 23, 24, 25, 26, 27 and 31; June 1, 2, 3, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 13, 14, 15, 16, 17, 20, 21, 22, 23, 24, 27, 28 and 29; July 1, 4, 5, 6, 7, 12, 13, 14, 15, 18, 19, 20, 21, 22, 25, 26, 27, 28 and 29; August 1, 2, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 15, 16, 17, 18, 19, 22, 23, 24, 25, 26, 30 and 31; September 1, 2, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16, 19, 20, 21, 22, 23, 26, 27, 28, 29, and 30; and October 4, 5, 6, 7, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 17, 18, 19, 20, 21, 24, 25, 26 and 27, 2016.
· One violation of CFR 391.51(b)(7) – Failing to maintain medical examiner’s certificate in driver’s qualification file. The company failed to maintain medical certificates in the driver files of Brett Jurries, Michael Cone, and Jerry Fuller.
· One violation of CFR 396.3(b) – Failing to maintain minimum records of inspection and vehicle maintenance. The company failed to keep minimum service and inspection records for its eight commercial vehicles. 
The Commission considered the following factors in determining the appropriate penalties for these violations:
1. How serious or harmful the violation is to the public. The violations noted are serious and potentially harmful to the public. Companies that use a driver without a valid commercial driver license or not medically examined and certified, or that fail to keep vehicle maintenance and inspection records put the traveling public at risk. An unqualified driver, a driver with an undetected medical condition, or a vehicle with an undetected safety defect all present serious safety concerns.
1. Whether the violation is intentional. Considerations include: 
0. Whether the company ignored Commission staff’s previous technical assistance; and 
0. Whether there is clear evidence through documentation or other means that shows the company knew of and failed to correct the violation. 
[bookmark: _Hlk463005815]This company has been in operation since 1952, and currently operates eight commercial vehicles with four drivers. The company’s most recent documented technical assistance was in 2007 when staff performed the most recent compliance review. The company knew, or should have known about these requirements.

1. Whether the company self-reported the violation. The company did not self-report these violations.
1. [bookmark: _Hlk468363543]Whether the company was cooperative and responsive. The staff at Carroll-Naslund Disposal was helpful throughout the investigation. The office manager is eager to make corrections and gain compliance. The company was responsive to the technical assistance provided. 
1. Whether the company promptly corrected the violations and remedied the impacts. The company was cooperative and responsive, and stated it intends to correct these violations.
1. The number of violations. For a company this size, the number of critical violations noted is significant.
1. [bookmark: _Hlk468364040]The number of customers affected. The company traveled 54,680 miles and reported $1,237,250 in gross revenue for 2015. A significant number of members of the travelling public were likely put at risk.
1. The likelihood of recurrence. The Commission does not know if the company is likely to repeat these violations.
1. The company’s past performance regarding compliance, violations, and penalties. The company has been in operation since 1952. There is no documentation of similar violations or penalties in past reviews. 
1. The company’s existing compliance program. Carroll-Naslund Disposal has no formal compliance program.  
1. The size of the company. Carroll-Naslund Disposal is a small operation, with eight vehicles and four drivers. The company traveled 54,680 miles and reported $1,237,256 in gross revenue for 2015.
These are first-time violations, but the Commission’s Enforcement Policy provides that some Commission requirements are so fundamental to safe operations that the Commission will issue mandatory penalties for each occurrence of a first-time violation.[footnoteRef:1] The Commission generally will assess penalties per type of violation, rather than per occurrence, for other first-time violations of critical regulations that do not meet the criteria for mandatory penalties. The Commission will assess penalties for any repeat violations of critical regulations found in future compliance investigations, including for each occurrence of a repeat violation. [1:  Docket A-120061 – Enforcement Policy of the Washington Utilities & Transportation Commission – Section V.] 

The Commission has considered these factors and determined that it should penalize Carroll-Naslund Disposal $12,600 for violations of WAC 480-70-201 Vehicle and Driver Safety Requirements, which adopts CFR Part 390, Part 391, and Part 396, calculated as follows: 
· One-hundred twenty-four violations of CFR 390.35 – Fraudulently acquiring or falsifying a commercial driver’s license. The Commission assesses a penalty of $100 for each of these critical violations, for a total of $12,400.
· One violation of CFR 391.51(b)(7) – Failing to maintain medical examiner’s certificate in driver’s qualification file. The Commission assesses a penalty of $100 for one critical violation of this type.
· One violation of CFR 396.3(b) – Failing to maintain minimum records of inspection and vehicle maintenance. The Commission assesses a penalty of $100 for one critical violation of this type.
This information, if proved at a hearing and not rebutted or explained, is sufficient to support the penalty assessment.
Your penalty is due and payable now. If you believe any or all of the violations did not occur, you may deny committing the violation(s) and contest the penalty assessment through evidence presented at a hearing or in writing. The Commission will grant a request for hearing only if material issues of law or fact concerning the violation(s) require consideration of evidence and resolution in a hearing. Any contest of the penalty assessment must include a written statement of the reasons supporting that contest. Failure to provide such a statement will result in denial of the contest.
If there is a reason for any or all of the violations that you believe should excuse you from the penalty, you may ask for mitigation (reduction) of this penalty through evidence presented at a hearing or in writing. The Commission will grant a request for hearing only if material issues of law or fact require consideration of evidence and resolution in a hearing. Any request for mitigation must include a written statement of the reasons supporting that request. Failure to provide such a statement will result in denial of the request. See RCW 81.04.405.
If you properly present your request for a hearing and the Commission grants that request, the Commission will review the evidence supporting your dispute of the violation(s) or application for mitigation in a Brief Adjudicative Proceeding before an administrative law judge. The administrative law judge will consider the evidence and will notify you of his or her decision.
You must act within 15 days after receiving this notice to do one of the following:
· Pay the amount due.
· Contest the occurrence of the violations.
· Request mitigation to contest the amount of the penalty.
Please indicate your selection on the enclosed form and send it to the Washington Utilities and Transportation Commission, Post Office Box 47250, Olympia, Washington 98504-7250, within FIFTEEN (15) days after you receive this notice.
If you do not act within 15 days, the Commission may take additional enforcement action, including but not necessarily limited to suspending or revoking your certificate to provide regulated service, assessing additional penalties, or referring this matter to the Office of the Attorney General for collection.  
[bookmark: _GoBack]DATED at Olympia, Washington, and effective December 1521, 2016.
GREGORY J. KOPTA
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Administrative Law Judge
WASHINGTON UTILITIES AND TRANSPORTATION COMMISSION
PENALTY ASSESSMENT TG-161281.

PLEASE NOTE: You must complete and sign this document, and send it to the Commission within 15 days after you receive the penalty assessment. Use additional paper if needed.
I have read and understand RCW 9A.72.020 (printed below), which states that making false statements under oath is a class B felony. I am over the age of 18, am competent to testify to the matters set forth below and I have personal knowledge of those matters. I hereby make, under oath, the following statements.
[   ]  1.	Payment of penalty. I admit that the violation occurred and enclose $_____________ in payment of the penalty.
[   ]  2.	Contest the violation. I believe that the alleged violation did not occur for the reasons I describe below:



 [   ]  a)	I ask for a hearing to present evidence on the information I provide above to an administrative law judge for a decision
     OR	[   ]  b)	I ask for a Commission decision based solely on the information I provide above.
[   ]  3.	Application for mitigation. I admit the violation, but I believe that the penalty should be reduced for the reasons set out below: 



 [   ]  a)	I ask for a hearing to present evidence on the information I provide above to an administrative law judge for a decision
     OR	[   ]  b)	I ask for a Commission decision based solely on the information I provide above.

I declare under penalty of perjury under the laws of the State of Washington that the foregoing, including information I have presented on any attachments, is true and correct.
Dated: __________________ [month/day/year], at ________________________ [city, state]
 _____________________________________		___________________________
Name of Respondent (company) – please print		Signature of Applicant

RCW 9A.72.020:

“Perjury in the first degree. (1) A person is guilty of perjury in the first degree if in any official proceeding he makes a materially false statement which he knows to be false under an oath required or authorized by law. (2) Knowledge of the materiality of the statement is not an element of this crime, and the actor’s mistaken belief that his statement was not material is not a defense to a prosecution under this section. (3) Perjury in the first degree is a class B felony.”  
